SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8597 (MISSES' TOP)

41 more reviews
Viewed 920 times 
Reviewed by:Barbara V
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Barbara Vstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 91
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 182 people
patterns reviewed: 91
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/4/10 11:06 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 16 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
28 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Knitters Delight said...
I have made this twice already. Your version makes me want to dig it out again!
2/4/10 11:49 AM
Ann Smith said...
Great adaptation to make the perfect drape. I love how it is just low enough to highlight your necklace. Wonderful fabric. Why didn't I buy some of that?
2/4/10 11:53 AM
eugenia123 said...
Lovely top. The fabric is beautiful, I love the colours. That neckline drape looks perfect.
2/4/10 12:12 PM
homejewel said...
I've also sewn this top and seen the mixed reviews, but yours stands out as one of my favorites. It is beautiful and the fabric choice is perfect!
2/4/10 12:29 PM
Christas said...
You manage to find the prettiest fabrics, and then pick the most perfect pattern to showcase the fabric and your style! You truly are very talented. This top isn't an exception; it's just beautiful!
2/4/10 12:46 PM
sewing for fun said...
Beautiful top! The print is very nice, and the top is a great fit - very elegant!
2/4/10 2:04 PM
DorothyK said...
I like the easy fit of this pattern. The fabric is beautiful and perfect for the pattern.
2/4/10 2:06 PM
Amanda S. said...
Very nice, Barbara. Beautiful colors on you and great fit!
2/4/10 2:29 PM
Leora said...
Which view did you make here? All the reviews are so interesting, differing. Your top is just gorgeous on you!
2/4/10 3:11 PM
Barbara V said...
Leora, this is view A/B....sorry...I didn't specify. Thank you!
2/4/10 3:50 PM
FreyaStark said...
A smart and distinctive top.
2/4/10 4:07 PM
RLL said...
Great fabric! Perfect for the style of the top and perfect for you.
2/4/10 4:22 PM
Enid E said...
What a nice style on you! The color is good too, I am sure you will get a lot of wear from this top as the print has some nice hues to it. Now, I can't wait to read your skirt review!
2/4/10 6:12 PM
AnneMarie60 said...
Beautiful top. Your fabric choice is the perfect weight to create a lovely cascading cowl.
2/4/10 7:23 PM
Ceidhle said...
That top looks lovely on you. Nice choice of colors. I think I'll buy that pattern if I don't already have it.
2/4/10 8:40 PM
sfshaza said...
Beautiful top and interesting fabric! You very cleverly avoided the "target over the bust" problem that can occur with those large interesting prints. Nice! :)
2/4/10 8:48 PM
sew2little said...
Barbara, this is just beautiful!
2/4/10 10:40 PM
persevering said...
This top is another example of the beautiful sense of panache you consistently demonstrate. Thanks for your informative review.
2/5/10 0:10 AM
no7262 said...
Looks great! I love the fabrics that you pick! I.m going to have to go shopping with you! Nora :)
2/5/10 6:36 AM
marjenann said...
Wow! My kind of garment, it is stunning!
2/5/10 8:21 AM
CarolynGM said...
Did you make the view with the separately attached cowl? Whichever one you made, it is beautiful.
2/5/10 9:24 AM
carolynw said...
Love this top on you - have this pattern so amy try soon. Fabric is fabulous
2/5/10 10:15 AM
AuntieShel said...
Beautiful top, you look great in it!!! I'll have to give this a try.
2/5/10 12:45 PM
valerie sews said...
gorgeous! This patterns already on my must buy list.
2/5/10 7:11 PM
magoe6217 said...
Elegant as always. You have impeccable taste. I always look forward to your reviews.
2/6/10 1:38 PM
Rag Bag said...
The cowl drapes beautifully in the fabric and I really like the print as well. May I ask where you purchased the fabric?
2/18/10 11:11 AM
Barbara V said...
Hi Rag Bag, I think the fabric is no longer available. It was purchased from Voguefabricstore.com and was one of the featured fabrics from the Oct/Nov 2008 issue of Vogue Patterns magazine. Perhaps it is still out there somewhere.
2/19/10 9:55 AM
Leslie Bonner said...
Fabric, A+, Fit A+, Overall, A++.
6/29/12 7:51 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Kwik Sew 2948

photo
by: pdiddly

Review
Sewing Workshop Balboa Shirt & Topper

Sewing Workshop Balboa Shirt & Topper

Buy Now
Fit For Art Trouser Details for Eureka Pants

Fit For Art Trouser Details for Eureka Pants

Buy Now