Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 8597 (MISSES' TOP) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 918 times 40 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 16 people   
Reviewed by:Barbara V
photo
Friend of PR
About Barbara Vstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 87
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 180 people
patterns reviewed: 87
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/4/10 11:06 AM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
28 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Knitters Delight said...
I have made this twice already. Your version makes me want to dig it out again!
2/4/10 11:49 AM
Ann Smith said...
Great adaptation to make the perfect drape. I love how it is just low enough to highlight your necklace. Wonderful fabric. Why didn't I buy some of that?
2/4/10 11:53 AM
eugenia123 said...
Lovely top. The fabric is beautiful, I love the colours. That neckline drape looks perfect.
2/4/10 12:12 PM
homejewel said...
I've also sewn this top and seen the mixed reviews, but yours stands out as one of my favorites. It is beautiful and the fabric choice is perfect!
2/4/10 12:29 PM
Christas said...
You manage to find the prettiest fabrics, and then pick the most perfect pattern to showcase the fabric and your style! You truly are very talented. This top isn't an exception; it's just beautiful!
2/4/10 12:46 PM
sewing for fun said...
Beautiful top! The print is very nice, and the top is a great fit - very elegant!
2/4/10 2:04 PM
DorothyK said...
I like the easy fit of this pattern. The fabric is beautiful and perfect for the pattern.
2/4/10 2:06 PM
Amanda S. said...
Very nice, Barbara. Beautiful colors on you and great fit!
2/4/10 2:29 PM
Leora said...
Which view did you make here? All the reviews are so interesting, differing. Your top is just gorgeous on you!
2/4/10 3:11 PM
Barbara V said...
Leora, this is view A/B....sorry...I didn't specify. Thank you!
2/4/10 3:50 PM
FreyaStark said...
A smart and distinctive top.
2/4/10 4:07 PM
RLL said...
Great fabric! Perfect for the style of the top and perfect for you.
2/4/10 4:22 PM
Enid E said...
What a nice style on you! The color is good too, I am sure you will get a lot of wear from this top as the print has some nice hues to it. Now, I can't wait to read your skirt review!
2/4/10 6:12 PM
AnneMarie60 said...
Beautiful top. Your fabric choice is the perfect weight to create a lovely cascading cowl.
2/4/10 7:23 PM
Ceidhle said...
That top looks lovely on you. Nice choice of colors. I think I'll buy that pattern if I don't already have it.
2/4/10 8:40 PM
sfshaza said...
Beautiful top and interesting fabric! You very cleverly avoided the "target over the bust" problem that can occur with those large interesting prints. Nice! :)
2/4/10 8:48 PM
sew2little said...
Barbara, this is just beautiful!
2/4/10 10:40 PM
persevering said...
This top is another example of the beautiful sense of panache you consistently demonstrate. Thanks for your informative review.
2/5/10 0:10 AM
no7262 said...
Looks great! I love the fabrics that you pick! I.m going to have to go shopping with you! Nora :)
2/5/10 6:36 AM
marjenann said...
Wow! My kind of garment, it is stunning!
2/5/10 8:21 AM
CarolynGM said...
Did you make the view with the separately attached cowl? Whichever one you made, it is beautiful.
2/5/10 9:24 AM
carolynw said...
Love this top on you - have this pattern so amy try soon. Fabric is fabulous
2/5/10 10:15 AM
AuntieShel said...
Beautiful top, you look great in it!!! I'll have to give this a try.
2/5/10 12:45 PM
valerie sews said...
gorgeous! This patterns already on my must buy list.
2/5/10 7:11 PM
magoe6217 said...
Elegant as always. You have impeccable taste. I always look forward to your reviews.
2/6/10 1:38 PM
Rag Bag said...
The cowl drapes beautifully in the fabric and I really like the print as well. May I ask where you purchased the fabric?
2/18/10 11:11 AM
Barbara V said...
Hi Rag Bag, I think the fabric is no longer available. It was purchased from Voguefabricstore.com and was one of the featured fabrics from the Oct/Nov 2008 issue of Vogue Patterns magazine. Perhaps it is still out there somewhere.
2/19/10 9:55 AM
Leslie Bonner said...
Fabric, A+, Fit A+, Overall, A++.
6/29/12 7:51 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Vogue Patterns 8751 Misses' Pants
photo
Review by sewmytime on 9/22/11
Read Review

MariaDenmark Audrey Dress Digital Pattern ( Sized For C-Cup Bust )
MariaDenmark Audrey Dress Digital Pattern ( Sized For C-Cup Bust )

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Bubble Dress Digital Pattern( Size 2T-5 )
Oliver + S Bubble Dress Digital Pattern( Size 2T-5 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Loes Hinse Designs 1003
photo
Review by Nancywin on 9/23/12
Read Review

Favorite Things A Wallet Purse Pattern
Favorite Things A Wallet Purse Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things Uptown Coat Pattern
Favorite Things Uptown Coat Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 4009 Pattern
Kwik Sew 4009 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 4406 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )
Butterick 4406 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us