Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 8129 (Easy Options Skirt) thumbsup - Type:Skirts    printable version
Viewed 445 times 9 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 5 people   
Reviewed by:Barbara V
photo
Friend of PR
About Barbara Vstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 87
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 180 people
patterns reviewed: 87
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/5/10 6:30 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
nellc said...
Very stylish skirt, the flounce is a lovely detail.
2/5/10 7:00 PM
Enid E said...
What a stylish skirt...I like the idea of the elastic insert. I think the changes you made, were ideal for the fabric and enhanced the appeal of this skirt to me. Again, you model your apparel beautifully!
2/5/10 7:39 PM
Ann Smith said...
Great revisions to make the pattern work perfectly for you and your fabric. I love this skirt on you. I want one too.
2/5/10 9:06 PM
Christas said...
Oh, so cute! I want one! What a great idea to make this out of a jersey knit. Your changes made this skirt just perfect!
2/5/10 10:09 PM
FreyaStark said...
A very smart and distinctive skirt.
2/6/10 1:17 AM
Auntie Allyn said...
Gorgeous . . . I may have to track down this pattern!!
2/6/10 7:48 AM
Jolet said...
What a lovely skirt! I like the result tremendously!
2/6/10 7:50 AM
Catbird said...
I'm so impressed with this! It looks beautifully made and SO flattering and distinctive. Did you get a lot of shrinkage when you felted your fabric? This looks wonderful on you.
2/6/10 8:30 AM
CissieW said...
Terrific skirt! And very flattering too.
2/6/10 9:17 AM
DorothyK said...
Barbara, this skirt is stunning. I love hearing about the changes you made and why you made them. Not only does it work, but I'm sure it's very comfortable in the felted wool jersey. I think I'll try to track down this pattern.
2/6/10 9:54 AM
Harriet Rogers said...
Barbara: this is really a stunning skirt: I'm sure the revisions you made contributed to its success. Looks great with your new top, too.
2/6/10 10:58 AM
eugenia123 said...
Beautiful skirt - I love that wonderful flounce.
2/6/10 12:26 PM
sfshaza said...
Nice, Barbara! This is very much like a recent Anthropologie skirt. I'm surprised Vogue has discontinued it already.
2/6/10 1:11 PM
Barbara V said...
Thank you everyone! Catbird, I did not get a huge amount of shrinkage as the original piece was a slightly thicker jersey than some that I have purchased and I didn't want it to turn out too heavy. I therefore did a shorter cycle in my front load washer which is not even as effective in felting as a top load machine. It did also go through the dryer. So while without a great deal of shrinkage, it still changed the surface and texture to my liking.
2/6/10 3:27 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

McCall's 2101
photo
Review by cecelia on 5/30/06
Read Review

Vogue 1399 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Vogue 1399 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $32.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 3370 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )
McCalls 3370 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 6221 (Vintage)
photo
Review by XandraReyn... on 7/29/07
Read Review

Lily Bird Studio Ben & Mia Pants Digital Pattern
Lily Bird Studio Ben & Mia Pants Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.90
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Hopscotch Top, Tunic, and Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Hopscotch Top, Tunic, and Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus 151 Pattern
Petite Plus 151 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Candice
Candice

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us