SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8129 (Easy Options Skirt)

9 more reviews
Viewed 449 times 
Reviewed by:Barbara V
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Barbara Vstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 92
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 195 people
patterns reviewed: 92
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/5/10 6:30 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 5 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Barbara V said...
Thank you everyone! Catbird, I did not get a huge amount of shrinkage as the original piece was a slightly thicker jersey than some that I have purchased and I didn't want it to turn out too heavy. I therefore did a shorter cycle in my front load washer which is not even as effective in felting as a top load machine. It did also go through the dryer. So while without a great deal of shrinkage, it still changed the surface and texture to my liking.
2/6/10 3:27 PM
sfshaza said...
Nice, Barbara! This is very much like a recent Anthropologie skirt. I'm surprised Vogue has discontinued it already.
2/6/10 1:11 PM
eugenia123 said...
Beautiful skirt - I love that wonderful flounce.
2/6/10 12:26 PM
Harriet Rogers said...
Barbara: this is really a stunning skirt: I'm sure the revisions you made contributed to its success. Looks great with your new top, too.
2/6/10 10:58 AM
DorothyK said...
Barbara, this skirt is stunning. I love hearing about the changes you made and why you made them. Not only does it work, but I'm sure it's very comfortable in the felted wool jersey. I think I'll try to track down this pattern.
2/6/10 9:54 AM
CissieW said...
Terrific skirt! And very flattering too.
2/6/10 9:17 AM
Catbird said...
I'm so impressed with this! It looks beautifully made and SO flattering and distinctive. Did you get a lot of shrinkage when you felted your fabric? This looks wonderful on you.
2/6/10 8:30 AM
Jolet said...
What a lovely skirt! I like the result tremendously!
2/6/10 7:50 AM
Auntie Allyn said...
Gorgeous . . . I may have to track down this pattern!!
2/6/10 7:48 AM
FreyaStark said...
A very smart and distinctive skirt.
2/6/10 1:17 AM
Christas said...
Oh, so cute! I want one! What a great idea to make this out of a jersey knit. Your changes made this skirt just perfect!
2/5/10 10:09 PM
Ann Smith said...
Great revisions to make the pattern work perfectly for you and your fabric. I love this skirt on you. I want one too.
2/5/10 9:06 PM
Enid E said...
What a stylish skirt...I like the idea of the elastic insert. I think the changes you made, were ideal for the fabric and enhanced the appeal of this skirt to me. Again, you model your apparel beautifully!
2/5/10 7:39 PM
nellc said...
Very stylish skirt, the flounce is a lovely detail.
2/5/10 7:00 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Class Details

Online Class
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Class Details

Simplicity 1776

photo
by: sherri930

Review
Sew Chic Phantom Jacket and Pant Pattern (ln1106)

Sew Chic Phantom Jacket and Pant Pattern (ln1106)

More Info
Sewing Workshop Village Bag Pattern

Sewing Workshop Village Bag Pattern

More Info