SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8129 (Easy Options Skirt)

9 more reviews
Viewed 450 times 
Reviewed by:Barbara V
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Barbara Vstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 92
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 195 people
patterns reviewed: 92
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/5/10 6:30 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 5 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Barbara V said...
Thank you everyone! Catbird, I did not get a huge amount of shrinkage as the original piece was a slightly thicker jersey than some that I have purchased and I didn't want it to turn out too heavy. I therefore did a shorter cycle in my front load washer which is not even as effective in felting as a top load machine. It did also go through the dryer. So while without a great deal of shrinkage, it still changed the surface and texture to my liking.
2/6/10 3:27 PM
sfshaza said...
Nice, Barbara! This is very much like a recent Anthropologie skirt. I'm surprised Vogue has discontinued it already.
2/6/10 1:11 PM
eugenia123 said...
Beautiful skirt - I love that wonderful flounce.
2/6/10 12:26 PM
Harriet Rogers said...
Barbara: this is really a stunning skirt: I'm sure the revisions you made contributed to its success. Looks great with your new top, too.
2/6/10 10:58 AM
DorothyK said...
Barbara, this skirt is stunning. I love hearing about the changes you made and why you made them. Not only does it work, but I'm sure it's very comfortable in the felted wool jersey. I think I'll try to track down this pattern.
2/6/10 9:54 AM
CissieW said...
Terrific skirt! And very flattering too.
2/6/10 9:17 AM
Catbird said...
I'm so impressed with this! It looks beautifully made and SO flattering and distinctive. Did you get a lot of shrinkage when you felted your fabric? This looks wonderful on you.
2/6/10 8:30 AM
Jolet said...
What a lovely skirt! I like the result tremendously!
2/6/10 7:50 AM
Auntie Allyn said...
Gorgeous . . . I may have to track down this pattern!!
2/6/10 7:48 AM
FreyaStark said...
A very smart and distinctive skirt.
2/6/10 1:17 AM
Christas said...
Oh, so cute! I want one! What a great idea to make this out of a jersey knit. Your changes made this skirt just perfect!
2/5/10 10:09 PM
Ann Smith said...
Great revisions to make the pattern work perfectly for you and your fabric. I love this skirt on you. I want one too.
2/5/10 9:06 PM
Enid E said...
What a stylish skirt...I like the idea of the elastic insert. I think the changes you made, were ideal for the fabric and enhanced the appeal of this skirt to me. Again, you model your apparel beautifully!
2/5/10 7:39 PM
nellc said...
Very stylish skirt, the flounce is a lovely detail.
2/5/10 7:00 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Understanding Wool Fabrics
Understanding Wool Fabrics

Class Details

Online Class
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Class Details

McCall's 5433

photo
by: mhoutz

Review
Victory Anouk Paper Pattern

Victory Anouk Paper Pattern

More Info
Sewing Workshop Haiku Two Pattern

Sewing Workshop Haiku Two Pattern

More Info