SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fabulous Fit
Fabulous Fit

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5538 

15 more reviews
Viewed 238 times 
Reviewed by:MapleCandy3
photo

 
 
About MapleCandy3star
Member since: 11/13/07
Reviews: 22 (patterns: 21)
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 10 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/2/10 4:35 PM
Last Updated:2/2/10 4:39 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people   
See other patterns in this category: Mens - Jackets    Coat/Jacket    
Available for sale on PR: $15.95 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $15.95 Pattern Details

Merchants on PR

O! Jolly! Shop


Sweater Knit Fabrics
Web site

Amulet Swim Fabrics


Poly/PBT swimwear fabric
Web site

Vesta Patterns


vestapatterns.com
Web site

<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
MapleCandy3 said... (2/10/10 11:43 AM) Reply
Well between the comments here and my roommates I am feeling better about this sweater! I am keeping the pattern and will try it again next year with a smaller size on the top! Thank you for the advice on the zipper - I appreciate it!!
Lucy in Virginia said... (2/3/10 1:56 PM) Reply
Tips for next time (or if you still want to play with this one): To shorten a zipper: 1) Cut your zipper off at the bottom of the zipper tape by however many inches you need lopped off less 1 inch; 2) 1 inch up from where you cut, do a bartack (like what's at the side of a buttonhole) or very close stitched zigzag over the bottom of the zipper. Now it should be the right length and it won't come undone. Some of the better fabric stores will shorten your zippers for you, too. In looking at your picture, I think your sleeves look OK or only slightly long, but it looks too big in the shoulders. Do you have narrow shoulders? You may want to trace several sizes of this pattern, grading down a couple of sizes at the shoulders to get the right fit. The pattern envelope picture (not always accurate) only shows a slight drop of the shoulder seam off the actual shoulder. Tissue fit the sleeve to your arm to see if its the right length, fold away excess at the fold line and recut the sleeves. I wouldn't give up on this pattern yet. I hope you get it the way you want it as it looks very nice. Thanks for the review.
Laurasews said... (2/2/10 10:03 PM) Reply
I think this looks better than ready-to-wear in many ways. But, I think you over-estimate your size and you could size down quite a bit in the shoulder and bust area, m. You would probably be much happier with the fit. This is the great thing about sewing!!!!
no7262 said... (2/2/10 10:01 PM) Reply
Nice job! It looks very cozy! Nora :)
mars418 said... (2/2/10 6:58 PM) Reply
Nice job--to keep the zipper from coming off you can sew a zipper 'stop'. I use my machine and sew over the teeth repeatedly on one side of the zipper--this will keep the zipper from going any further. Send me a private message if this doesn't make sense!
ClaireEmily said... (2/2/10 6:45 PM) Reply
Well I'm sure it will keep you warm! I really don't think it looks bad at all. Maybe now you know how it fits you can adjust the arms to how you prefer for next winter =) Keep up the great sewing!
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Class Details

Online Class
Leather 101
Leather 101

Class Details

Islander Sewing Systems Three Pattern Collection Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Three Pattern Collection Pattern

Pattern Details
Islander Sewing Systems Irish Coat Pattern Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Irish Coat Pattern Pattern

Pattern Details