SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
PR Weekend Los Angeles

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5538 

15 more reviews
Viewed 235 times 
Reviewed by:MapleCandy3
photo

 
 
About MapleCandy3star
Member since: 11/13/07
Reviews written: 22
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 10 people
patterns reviewed: 21
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/2/10 4:35 PM
Last Updated:2/2/10 4:39 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people   
See other patterns in this category: Mens - Jackets    Coat/Jacket    
Available for sale on PR: $15.95 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $15.95 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
MapleCandy3 said... (2/10/10 11:43 AM) Reply
Well between the comments here and my roommates I am feeling better about this sweater! I am keeping the pattern and will try it again next year with a smaller size on the top! Thank you for the advice on the zipper - I appreciate it!!
Lucy in Virginia said... (2/3/10 1:56 PM) Reply
Tips for next time (or if you still want to play with this one): To shorten a zipper: 1) Cut your zipper off at the bottom of the zipper tape by however many inches you need lopped off less 1 inch; 2) 1 inch up from where you cut, do a bartack (like what's at the side of a buttonhole) or very close stitched zigzag over the bottom of the zipper. Now it should be the right length and it won't come undone. Some of the better fabric stores will shorten your zippers for you, too. In looking at your picture, I think your sleeves look OK or only slightly long, but it looks too big in the shoulders. Do you have narrow shoulders? You may want to trace several sizes of this pattern, grading down a couple of sizes at the shoulders to get the right fit. The pattern envelope picture (not always accurate) only shows a slight drop of the shoulder seam off the actual shoulder. Tissue fit the sleeve to your arm to see if its the right length, fold away excess at the fold line and recut the sleeves. I wouldn't give up on this pattern yet. I hope you get it the way you want it as it looks very nice. Thanks for the review.
Laurasews said... (2/2/10 10:03 PM) Reply
I think this looks better than ready-to-wear in many ways. But, I think you over-estimate your size and you could size down quite a bit in the shoulder and bust area, m. You would probably be much happier with the fit. This is the great thing about sewing!!!!
no7262 said... (2/2/10 10:01 PM) Reply
Nice job! It looks very cozy! Nora :)
mars418 said... (2/2/10 6:58 PM) Reply
Nice job--to keep the zipper from coming off you can sew a zipper 'stop'. I use my machine and sew over the teeth repeatedly on one side of the zipper--this will keep the zipper from going any further. Send me a private message if this doesn't make sense!
ClaireEmily said... (2/2/10 6:45 PM) Reply
Well I'm sure it will keep you warm! I really don't think it looks bad at all. Maybe now you know how it fits you can adjust the arms to how you prefer for next winter =) Keep up the great sewing!
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Class Details

Online Class
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Class Details

Simplicity 1370

photo
by: chuichoy

Review
Sewing Workshop Quincy Top and Pants

Sewing Workshop Quincy Top and Pants

Pattern Details
Sew Liberated Mei Tai Baby Carrier

Sew Liberated Mei Tai Baby Carrier

Pattern Details