Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
LaFred: 105 (Daphne Pant) thumbsup - Type:Pants    printable version
Viewed 1681 times 4 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
Reviewed by:LizGo
photo
About LizGostar
SK CANADA
Member since: 4/5/02
Reviews written: 3
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 3
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/11/02 2:25 AM
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
said...
HMMMMM, maybe it's time to dig this one out of the untouched pile...Thanks for the review.
5/11/02 2:35 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Thanks for a well-written review. I am waistline challenged and am always curious about slim-fitting patterns.
5/11/02 12:37 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
LizGo, I agree with you - I love this pattern too! Sew-Jane, I am waistline and hipline challenged, and these pants have a great cut. Try it! The most difficult step is the invisible zipper, but it is well worth the extra effort.
5/11/02 6:23 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
This pattern and Textile Studio's Sohos are my favorite pant pattern. I agree about using fabric with a touch of lycra, they just seem more comfy. Fred's directions for installing an invisible zipper is well worth the price of the pattern.
5/11/02 6:41 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
My comment is really a question. Do you think I could move the zipper to the side of the pants instead of the back? I was thinking I could just sew the back seam and then put the invisible zipper at the side instead. Would it work?
7/9/02 1:46 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
I've made these pants too, with just my usual adjustment of shortening the crotch depth by one inch. Susan, a zipper in the side seam would be just fine. The only risk would be uncomfortable/unsightly bulk. I made these pants with a fairly substantial tweed, and it would have been too bulky for a side seam zipper. In any fabric, you'd have to apply it carefully and watch for puckers at the bottom. I deal with the puckers at the bottom by lightly interfacing the seam allowance the length of the zipper plus about 1-1/2 inches below the bottom of the zipper.
7/17/02 8:05 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
DonnaR said...
Thanks for the comment of good for beginners. I will put it on my wish list.
12/26/02 4:46 PM
KarmenG said...
I just cut a test muslin for these pants. Your reviews helped me a lot. The crotch depth measured fine for me; usually I add length. More to come after I stitch up this muslin
1/3/03 1:45 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Ottobre Design Magazine 06-2008-31
photo
Review by Christas on 1/31/09
Read Review

McCalls 6916 Pattern ( Size 2-3-4-5 )
McCalls 6916 Pattern ( Size 2-3-4-5 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3781 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3781 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 9411
photo
Review by Teenie on 7/2/04
Read Review

Lily Bird Studio Amanda's Dress Digital Pattern
Lily Bird Studio Amanda's Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $9.90
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simple Things Bibs and Booties Digital Pattern
Simple Things Bibs and Booties Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Shapes Three Fold Vest Pattern
Shapes Three Fold Vest Pattern

Details
Price: $16.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

JSM-Pant 1
JSM-Pant 1

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us