SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Marfy> 1625 

Viewed 584 times 
Reviewed by:yorkshire lass
photo

 
 
About yorkshire lassstarstar
UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 3/23/06
Reviews written: 86
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 50 people
patterns reviewed: 84
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/10/10 2:51 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 13 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
RuthieSews said...
A labour of love, and a fantastic end result! Well done, it was all worth it.
4/10/10 3:31 PM
Re Becca said...
When you are still wearing this 10 years from now, you will be very happy that you took all the time to fit and handstitch this. The last hand tailored jacket the I made was in 1996 and I still wear it and it still holds its shape, those buttons aren't going anywhere... I love the belt, but since it is 1 piece it really makes you fit first! I like your choice of pockets as well.
4/10/10 4:57 PM
Christas said...
All I can say is wow! Amazing review and jacket!
4/10/10 6:02 PM
drsue said...
Very impressive job. It looks fabulous!
4/10/10 6:57 PM
Barbara V said...
Your jacket is gorgeous. Wonderful fabric, wonderful workmanship and wonderful review. What an accomplishment!
4/10/10 8:22 PM
Ripple Dandelion said...
So beautiful! All the little details come together so nicely, and the shape is lovely. Thanks for a very good review (not that I'm likely to sew this particular pattern, but I enjoyed hearing about your process!).
4/10/10 8:40 PM
ryansmumAria said...
Divine!
4/10/10 8:46 PM
fattyboomboom said...
Congratulations on your stunning jacket! I admire your hard work and tenacity. Thanks for all the details. I learned so much from this review.
4/10/10 9:00 PM
Melody said...
It is absolutely beautiful. Thanks for sharing this project.
4/10/10 9:18 PM
Fictionfan said...
Beautifully done! This will be a staple in your wardrobe for years to come. This jacket is in my queue, so I'll probably get to it in a few years. I like the classic styling and the Marfy fit, too. It would be great to see your next version with the trim, which is what drew me to this pattern, also. Thank you so much for the detailed review!
4/10/10 10:39 PM
sewinfrance said...
Your jacket is beautiful, thank-you for such a detailled review. One day I'll attempt such a jacket, I just need to find a tutor.
4/11/10 4:47 AM
Jane S said...
Wow, what a great review and beautiful jacket as a result.
4/11/10 8:18 AM
JanaL said...
I've got this pattern in my stash...and your lovely jacket makes me want to take it out and make it right now! So nice...you will enjoy wearing this for years to come.
4/11/10 10:11 AM
MichelleE said...
Absolutely gorgeous work and such detail! You should be very proud of yourself.
4/11/10 6:15 PM
kerrynw said...
WOW Fantastic jacket, fantastic review!
4/12/10 2:39 AM
Squeezylemon said...
What a fantastic jacket Jenni! This is real couture. I don't think I'll ever manage to make one quite as detailed, but will save your review for tips just in case!
4/12/10 7:30 AM
Patricia Lewis said...
This is a wonderful inside look to Marfy patterns, which intimidate me, due to my lack of experience. Thanks for the prolific review; it helped me understand the process. Beautiful and I envy your talent and your jacket!
4/13/10 8:02 AM
nancy2001 said...
Absolutely gorgeous jacket -- perfect in every way!
4/15/10 8:30 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Understanding Interfacings
Understanding Interfacings

Register

Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Jamie Christina Pretty Ditty Apron Pattern (JC303PD)

Jamie Christina Pretty Ditty Apron Pattern (JC303PD)

Buy Now
Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Traditional Muumuu

Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Traditional Muumuu

Buy Now