Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Marfy: 1625 - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 581 times
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 13 people   
Reviewed by:yorkshire lass
photo
About yorkshire lassstarstar
UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 3/23/06
Reviews written: 82
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 49 people
patterns reviewed: 80
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/10/10 2:51 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
RuthieSews said...
A labour of love, and a fantastic end result! Well done, it was all worth it.
4/10/10 3:31 PM
Re Becca said...
When you are still wearing this 10 years from now, you will be very happy that you took all the time to fit and handstitch this. The last hand tailored jacket the I made was in 1996 and I still wear it and it still holds its shape, those buttons aren't going anywhere... I love the belt, but since it is 1 piece it really makes you fit first! I like your choice of pockets as well.
4/10/10 4:57 PM
Christas said...
All I can say is wow! Amazing review and jacket!
4/10/10 6:02 PM
drsue said...
Very impressive job. It looks fabulous!
4/10/10 6:57 PM
Barbara V said...
Your jacket is gorgeous. Wonderful fabric, wonderful workmanship and wonderful review. What an accomplishment!
4/10/10 8:22 PM
Ripple Dandelion said...
So beautiful! All the little details come together so nicely, and the shape is lovely. Thanks for a very good review (not that I'm likely to sew this particular pattern, but I enjoyed hearing about your process!).
4/10/10 8:40 PM
ryansmumAria said...
Divine!
4/10/10 8:46 PM
fattyboomboom said...
Congratulations on your stunning jacket! I admire your hard work and tenacity. Thanks for all the details. I learned so much from this review.
4/10/10 9:00 PM
Melody said...
It is absolutely beautiful. Thanks for sharing this project.
4/10/10 9:18 PM
Fictionfan said...
Beautifully done! This will be a staple in your wardrobe for years to come. This jacket is in my queue, so I'll probably get to it in a few years. I like the classic styling and the Marfy fit, too. It would be great to see your next version with the trim, which is what drew me to this pattern, also. Thank you so much for the detailed review!
4/10/10 10:39 PM
sewinfrance said...
Your jacket is beautiful, thank-you for such a detailled review. One day I'll attempt such a jacket, I just need to find a tutor.
4/11/10 4:47 AM
Jane S said...
Wow, what a great review and beautiful jacket as a result.
4/11/10 8:18 AM
JanaL said...
I've got this pattern in my stash...and your lovely jacket makes me want to take it out and make it right now! So nice...you will enjoy wearing this for years to come.
4/11/10 10:11 AM
MichelleE said...
Absolutely gorgeous work and such detail! You should be very proud of yourself.
4/11/10 6:15 PM
kerrynw said...
WOW Fantastic jacket, fantastic review!
4/12/10 2:39 AM
Squeezylemon said...
What a fantastic jacket Jenni! This is real couture. I don't think I'll ever manage to make one quite as detailed, but will save your review for tips just in case!
4/12/10 7:30 AM
Patricia Lewis said...
This is a wonderful inside look to Marfy patterns, which intimidate me, due to my lack of experience. Thanks for the prolific review; it helped me understand the process. Beautiful and I envy your talent and your jacket!
4/13/10 8:02 AM
nancy2001 said...
Absolutely gorgeous jacket -- perfect in every way!
4/15/10 8:30 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Vogue Patterns 1056
photo
Review by 3kids1036 on 8/7/08
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Harper Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Harper Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simple Things Little Kickers Digital Pattern (001)
Simple Things Little Kickers Digital Pattern (001)

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

No Pattern Used No Pattern Used Rag Jacket
photo
Review by Gail S on 11/15/04
Read Review

SewBaby Travel High Chair Pattern
SewBaby Travel High Chair Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Beginner Sewing Lab 104 - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford
Beginner Sewing Lab 104  - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Details
Price: $14.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8817 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
Vogue 8817 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6781 Pattern
New Look 6781 Pattern

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us