Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 3503 (Misses Day or Evening Knit) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 473 times 101 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 4 people   
Reviewed by:ladybegood
photo
Friend of PR
About ladybegoodstarstar
Member since: 5/19/03
Reviews written: 29
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 30 people
patterns reviewed: 25
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2009
Posted on:2/5/10 2:46 PM


See other patterns in this category: Formalwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
persevering said...
To me your dress looks nicer than the same version on the pattern envelope. I've never stitched a knit yet, so I appreciate your helpful review because what you mentioned, would be my intended purpose too. Thanks for your encouraging review.
2/5/10 3:36 PM
halleyscomet said...
Fantastic fit! I love the style too. Great job!
2/5/10 4:55 PM
Amy-may said...
I don't think it's a bad style for a pear. The bodice fits nicely and the midriff flatters the bustline and emphasizes a small ribcage...then the skirt glosses over the bigger stuff! You can use a center back seam to "dart" out the gathers. In a drapey knit, this style should be a TNT. I think it's more flattering than you think, looks good!
2/5/10 5:41 PM
mary in FL said...
You're dress turned out so well, I'm going to add the notation "make me" next to this pattern number on my pattern list.
2/5/10 8:45 PM
TallBean said...
I like this dress on you a lot! Accessories might make you like it better...funky jewelry, cool scarf...tights. I think I bought this pattern and wound up returning it...I like it so much on you that I might buy it again!
2/5/10 9:11 PM
donna mel said...
i too am a pear, and love this style for emphasizing the top, while de-emphasizing the bottom. a lighter weight fabric will help. cotton tends to cling - a slip will help. also, a patterned fabric might not show the shadows of cling so much. go for it!
2/6/10 8:17 AM
fryman said...
You're correct - most patterns tell you what to do but not how to do it. Some of the independent pattern companies do, which is helpful. My suggestion about knits is to purchase a softback book which focuses solely on knits. This type of book is readily available and not pricey. Your dress, I think, is great. I hope you make another.
2/6/10 1:26 PM
ElizabethDee said...
Your photo stood out (to me, at least) in the review gallery because your dress has such pretty, clean and understated look. In other words, I think it looks lovely on you. I'd never have guessed it was your first knit, nor that you weren't fully happy with it. Not that I'm an expert, but I have liked KwikSew patterns for their very complete directions for how to sew knits.
2/7/10 10:25 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Truly Victorian TV-420
photo
Review by Nikki S. on 11/2/10
Read Review

Miranda Day Bag
Miranda Day Bag

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Paradiso Designs Tiny Handbag Pattern
Paradiso Designs Tiny Handbag Pattern

Details
Price: $11.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simple Things The Flight Cap Digital Pattern (004)
Simple Things The Flight Cap Digital Pattern (004)

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Marissa Dress Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Marissa Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jalie 2921
photo
Review by brissie71 on 7/19/12
Read Review

Vogue 8346 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16 )
Vogue 8346 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $27.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5841 Pattern ( Size ONESIZE )
Butterick 5841 Pattern ( Size ONESIZE )

Details
Price: $2.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us