SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
PR Weekend Los Angeles

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 3503 (Misses Day or Evening Knit)

101 more reviews
Viewed 480 times 
Reviewed by:ladybegood
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About ladybegoodstarstar
Member since: 5/19/03
Reviews written: 34
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 36 people
patterns reviewed: 30
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2009
Posted on:2/5/10 2:46 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 4 people   
See other patterns in this category: Formalwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Historical Patterns
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
ElizabethDee said... (2/7/10 10:25 PM) Reply
Your photo stood out (to me, at least) in the review gallery because your dress has such pretty, clean and understated look. In other words, I think it looks lovely on you. I'd never have guessed it was your first knit, nor that you weren't fully happy with it. Not that I'm an expert, but I have liked KwikSew patterns for their very complete directions for how to sew knits.
fryman said... (2/6/10 1:26 PM) Reply
You're correct - most patterns tell you what to do but not how to do it. Some of the independent pattern companies do, which is helpful. My suggestion about knits is to purchase a softback book which focuses solely on knits. This type of book is readily available and not pricey. Your dress, I think, is great. I hope you make another.
donna mel said... (2/6/10 8:17 AM) Reply
i too am a pear, and love this style for emphasizing the top, while de-emphasizing the bottom. a lighter weight fabric will help. cotton tends to cling - a slip will help. also, a patterned fabric might not show the shadows of cling so much. go for it!
TallBean said... (2/5/10 9:11 PM) Reply
I like this dress on you a lot! Accessories might make you like it better...funky jewelry, cool scarf...tights. I think I bought this pattern and wound up returning it...I like it so much on you that I might buy it again!
mary in FL said... (2/5/10 8:45 PM) Reply
You're dress turned out so well, I'm going to add the notation "make me" next to this pattern number on my pattern list.
Amy-may said... (2/5/10 5:41 PM) Reply
I don't think it's a bad style for a pear. The bodice fits nicely and the midriff flatters the bustline and emphasizes a small ribcage...then the skirt glosses over the bigger stuff! You can use a center back seam to "dart" out the gathers. In a drapey knit, this style should be a TNT. I think it's more flattering than you think, looks good!
halleyscomet said... (2/5/10 4:55 PM) Reply
Fantastic fit! I love the style too. Great job!
persevering said... (2/5/10 3:36 PM) Reply
To me your dress looks nicer than the same version on the pattern envelope. I've never stitched a knit yet, so I appreciate your helpful review because what you mentioned, would be my intended purpose too. Thanks for your encouraging review.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Class Details

Online Class
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Class Details

Sew Chic Cloche Hat Pattern (ln101)

Sew Chic Cloche Hat Pattern (ln101)

Pattern Details
Sew Chic Valentine Slip Pattern (ln1207)

Sew Chic Valentine Slip Pattern (ln1207)

Pattern Details