Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 3625 (Men's caftan) - Type:Mens - Shirts    printable version
Viewed 345 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 8 people   
Reviewed by:Peter in NYC
photo
About Peter in NYCstarstarstarstar
USA
Member since: 6/9/09
Reviews written: 67
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 120 people
patterns reviewed: 61
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/6/10 7:02 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Auntie Allyn said...
Nicely done, especially love the bias placket treatment! I agree that it'll be the perfect beach shirt!
2/6/10 7:45 AM
QuiltSewSewSue said...
A good take on a caftan - the bias placket gives it some interest.
2/6/10 7:46 AM
jilly cooper said...
Peter, I have a friend who has this style in RTW, batik fabric and looks fantastic. Yours looks well made and love your topstitching too.
2/6/10 7:58 AM
optimistic said...
I really like this; great job!
2/6/10 9:05 AM
frame said...
Whoa, that is nifty, keen and cool. Nothing like planning a vacation around your wardrobe! :)
2/6/10 9:11 AM
colorkitten said...
Forgot to mention it in my comment on the blog but yeah, I love the bias placket too!
2/6/10 9:16 AM
moonchild61 said...
I like this shirt and I like the blue one also. For your first shirt, it looks great! If you'd like to see my first shirt, you'll have to go dig it up a landfill.
2/6/10 12:50 PM
Michele Lommasson said...
Your caftan looks quite nice. I enjoyed reading your blog entry. It sounds like you have a severe case of serger macho. I've had it myself; it entails having to do every thing, absolutely everything, on the serger, even if the sewing machine or sewing by hand will work better. You'll get over it: we all do--eventually. Have fun.
2/6/10 1:33 PM
FreyaStark said...
I'm sorry you're disappointed in the result after all that effort, and I understand why you don't love it, although it's difficult to pinpoint just what could have been improved. Maybe it's not the best marriage of fabric and style. Anyway it's a fine effort - the placket is especially well done - so don't be discouraged! The next one will be even better.
2/6/10 4:38 PM
Peter in NYC said...
Freya, I think you hit the nail on the head: the fabric isn't really caftan-y. It would have been better perhaps as a slightly transparent kilt!
2/6/10 4:46 PM
sewsewboy said...
Like the shirt. Cut it a couple inches longer and perhaps narrow the sleeves. Looks really vacationy. good work as always.
2/6/10 6:09 PM
Heatherrique said...
I really like this cool caftan on you, Peter! This pattern's a keeper!
2/6/10 8:43 PM
JanieBee said...
I am very impressed with your skills. You are tremendously creative, organized, and productive. We all love reading your reviews! Keep up the excellent work!
2/6/10 9:22 PM
nancy2001 said...
I think your caftans will be perfect for lounging around the house or the beach.
2/7/10 10:35 AM
Harriet Rogers said...
Peter: I like very much both your versions. Also think it's time to move yourself out of the advanced beginner category to at least intermediate: the plaid matching is awesome. Thanks for so complete a review: looking forward to seeing more of your work.
2/7/10 11:43 AM
ladybegood said...
Great work. The bias placket does a lot to add interes. I can see that the style still might be too plain for you, but I bet you'll love this a lot more when the summer humidity hits!
2/7/10 12:06 PM
Sewliz said...
I think the plaid top looks great, nice sewing on the placket too! The fabric you used is lovely for a caftan but the proportions seem off, I think the top is too short for you. These caftan tops were to the crotch line back in the day, as drawn on the model in the pattern illustration. Speaking of back in the day, some super tight bell bottom jeans would look great with this top. :-)
2/7/10 1:23 PM
Sewliz said...

2/7/10 1:35 PM
Peter in NYC said...
Liz, I see your point. But I AM only 5'7". I fear a longer top would make me look like a gnome, or a lawn ornament, or both.
2/7/10 2:31 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $34.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Kwik Sew 2662
photo
Review by Sue_WA on 7/23/05
Read Review

Simplicity 1465 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Simplicity 1465 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3876 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3876 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 5903 OOP
photo
Review by Zoomitron on 2/6/12
Read Review

Lily Bird Studio Juliette's Dress Digital Pattern
Lily Bird Studio Juliette's Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $9.90
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Salme Sundress Digital Pattern
Salme Sundress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Casserole Carrier Pattern
SewBaby Casserole Carrier Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus Patterns Yoked Blouse
Petite Plus Patterns Yoked Blouse

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us