SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Other> 1400: Blessed Designs (Sweet Blossom Lingerie)

2 more reviews
Viewed 838 times 
Reviewed by:m1khaela
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About m1khaelastarstar
NY USA
Member since: 8/19/05
Reviews written: 66
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 31 people
patterns reviewed: 46
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/6/10 6:15 PM
Last Updated:2/15/10 0:35 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 18 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
23 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
echolalia said...
Fabulous review of your process. Thanks for taking the time to post it - I am sure that it will be very useful to others with the same comfort issues (20 years in the past for me!).
2/6/10 6:22 PM
mary in FL said...
I really like this as a sleep bra - even if they are calling it a nursing bra, it looks comfortable and uplifting, two important design elements. Having not had any babies since 1987, this site was out of my radar scope, so thanks for sharing it. I like what you did to improve the support.
2/6/10 6:43 PM
mary in FL said...
I really like this as a sleep bra - even if they are calling it a nursing bra, it looks comfortable and uplifting, two important design elements. Having not had any babies since 1987, this site was out of my radar scope, so thanks for sharing it. I like what you did to improve the suppot.
2/6/10 6:44 PM
sewing for fun said...
Thanks for the detailed review. Great idea with the side supports. I tried this pattern and found there was an awful lot of fabric underbust in the G cup, For a stretch bra like this, I really like to use a 2" plush elastic under bust (similar to Bravado bras). I did a clone of a Bravado S ++ size with an FBA - it worked pretty well - has a princess-style seam. Your idea to take out the underbust fullness with a dart will likely work well if you want to avoid a seam higher up on the cup. Great job and VERY cute in the stripe!
2/6/10 8:27 PM
crazygrad said...
Very cute! And sexy! But... they changed the size names to flowers????
2/6/10 8:34 PM
m1khaela said...
Thanks everyone! sewing for fun, that's very helpful to know--I'll look at those Bravado bras. And yes, crazygrad, all the different sizes are flowers!
2/6/10 8:43 PM
Bobinator said...
Thank you for this review and the alterations to the pattern that you made. I loved the look of the pattern for my daughter and am glad to see someone else making it. I plan on getting this and making it to send to her in England. You did a fabulous job!
2/6/10 9:27 PM
colorkitten said...
That's a great looking pattern - and you did a terrific job, I can really see (and imagine) the difference in the support after your fixes. And you should definitely check out the Bravado bras, I loved them. great prints (well, at the time), comfortable and supportive - if you decide not to make all your bras they're a great choice.
2/7/10 10:14 AM
Raye Ann said...
thanks for the detailed and thorough review- the pictures really helped! if I decide to try and make my own, i will definitely try out this pattern. great job!
2/7/10 4:57 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
WOW, that is a fabulous bra! There is nothing worse than an uncomfortable bra too. And your sweet baby belly is beautiful! :-)
2/7/10 5:56 PM
jent said...
You are certainly right about the horrible selection of good nursing/sleep bras. This is great - I would also recommend Lingerie Secrets Crossover Sports Bra. Your bra is very cute :)
2/7/10 6:25 PM
jilly cooper said...
you are so creative. I breastfed 6 children and it gets easier, like no leaking at night after the 3 child (for me anyway), but comfort at night is a must for any nursing mummy.
2/7/10 7:43 PM
pammieh said...
Great review - and Congratulations!
2/7/10 9:27 PM
reinhardt said...
Your sleeping bra looks so cute and comfortable! I never heard of such a thing like a "sleeping bra" before, but I can imagine how useful it is.
2/8/10 4:17 AM
Jacqui315 said...
You did a wonderful job on the bra! I hadn't seen those patterns before. The nursing hoodie pattern makes me almost want to have another child.
2/8/10 12:48 PM
whirrclunk said...
This bra, and the matching panties, look fantastic! And actually supportive and useful (as oppose to RTW which either looks good or functions well but rarely both, or, as you found in your RTW white bra, neither). Your internal supports work so well! And the stripey fabric is great. Thank you for the great review, and for bringing this pattern to my attention. I've been after a comfy sleep bra for ages, but haven't found one that is comfortable and easy to make. I will try this one!
2/10/10 6:22 AM
AspiringAmeliorant said...
Thanks so much for the review! The supports are such a great idea!
2/22/10 10:59 AM
li'l miss muffett said...
Excellent! You did such a fabulous job fitting your bra. Looks really cute too!
2/22/10 11:20 AM
stargzerlily said...
Bless your heart, a *5 review and lovely work!
7/8/10 6:09 PM
MagnoliaHoney said...
I have been wanting to buy this pattern for a while but have been hesitant because I am a H cup, and was worried about the support issue! Thank you so much for all the extra details of making it more supportive. You should contact them and tell them to add your new additions for us larger cup girls.
12/19/10 2:44 AM
m1khaela said...
MagnoliaHoney I am now a J cup in RTW bras... and I'm STILL wearing this bra as a sleep/nursing bra!
12/20/10 10:19 AM
adonna2000 said...
This is just what I'm looking for. I want to make a supportive nightgown that I can use before, durring, and after pregnancy.
4/5/13 1:16 AM
aschemidt said...
Well-written review and fantastically helpful pictures. Thank you so much for sharing your project!
8/22/14 4:39 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 08-2012-113

photo
by: dillyo

Review
SewBaby The Sleeve Saver Bib Pattern

SewBaby The Sleeve Saver Bib Pattern

Buy Now
Favorite Things Sweet Es-Cape Pattern

Favorite Things Sweet Es-Cape Pattern

Buy Now