SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 3624 (Jacket & Vest)

2 more reviews
Viewed 387 times 
Reviewed by:Margaret
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Margaretstarstarstarstar
BC Canada
Member since: 11/4/02
Reviews written: 298
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 50 people
patterns reviewed: 277
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/6/10 9:48 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
See other patterns in this category: Vests    Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Margaret said...
Phillis -- I think this pattern would be very easy to size up as it's just a rectangle. IIRC the CB is cut on the fold, so if all you need is extra width across the back, you could probably even just cut it with the CB placed a little bit away from the fabric fold.
9/17/12 9:22 AM
Phillis2 said...
Thanks for your details in this review. I've been looking at this pattern and wanting to make it 'cause the look is quite different. I'm a large woman and would have to grid the pattern a little larger to fit correctly across my back. I believe the arm hole openings woud be okay since my arms are average. After reading your remarks, I think I'll give this jacket a try -- especially since I'm able to catch this pattern on sale at $5.00.
9/16/12 2:04 PM
Margaret said...
krothwolff, I think to get it to look like the illustration, you'd have to pull up the drawstrings just so, scrunch the collar area down in back, and arrange the collar carefully. There's no way it could stay that way for long when worn in real life... at least not on me. :) Renren, I should add the steaming will work only for some knits and I still would avoid pushing the fabric too far -- I wouldn't machine-baste or staystitch, for example, since every trip through the machine stretches it a little more. Thanks, everyone, for the kind comments!
2/8/10 12:15 PM
Sewingmi said...
Nice! I think yours looks better than the envelope. I enjoyed your very helpful review.
2/7/10 1:05 PM
Peter in NYC said...
Very cool and avant-garde looking jacket. Great job!
2/7/10 9:17 AM
Renren said...
I just love it when you say things like this: "The fabric is all cotton and does stretch when sewn, particularly if sewn close to a cut edge, but it can be steamed back to shape. " I don't know things like that and when you describe it this way I understand what could go wrong and the solution. I am grateful for your concise, to-the-point, clear, and informative reviews.
2/7/10 9:12 AM
Karen31 said...
Thank you so much for reviewing this, I have the vest version already cut waiting to be sewn but keep putting things in front of it. I like the collar of the jacket better on the model but on the illustration it looks like there's way too much fabric, doesn't appear that way on yours.
2/6/10 11:59 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Understanding Interfacings
Understanding Interfacings

Register

New Look 6095

photo
by: Jstarr4250

Review
BurdaStyle Magazine 09-2012-112

photo
by: French.Sea...

Review
Sew Liberated Simple Skinny Jeans Pattern

Sew Liberated Simple Skinny Jeans Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Chicago Jacket

Sewing Workshop Chicago Jacket

Buy Now