Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Kwik Sew: 3624 (Jacket & Vest) - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 375 times 2 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
Reviewed by:Margaret
photo
Friend of PR
About Margaretstarstarstarstar
NA GERMANY
Member since: 11/4/02
Reviews written: 290
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 46 people
patterns reviewed: 270
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/6/10 9:48 PM


See other patterns in this category: Vests    Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Karen31 said...
Thank you so much for reviewing this, I have the vest version already cut waiting to be sewn but keep putting things in front of it. I like the collar of the jacket better on the model but on the illustration it looks like there's way too much fabric, doesn't appear that way on yours.
2/6/10 11:59 PM
Renren said...
I just love it when you say things like this: "The fabric is all cotton and does stretch when sewn, particularly if sewn close to a cut edge, but it can be steamed back to shape. " I don't know things like that and when you describe it this way I understand what could go wrong and the solution. I am grateful for your concise, to-the-point, clear, and informative reviews.
2/7/10 9:12 AM
Peter in NYC said...
Very cool and avant-garde looking jacket. Great job!
2/7/10 9:17 AM
Sewingmi said...
Nice! I think yours looks better than the envelope. I enjoyed your very helpful review.
2/7/10 1:05 PM
Margaret said...
krothwolff, I think to get it to look like the illustration, you'd have to pull up the drawstrings just so, scrunch the collar area down in back, and arrange the collar carefully. There's no way it could stay that way for long when worn in real life... at least not on me. :) Renren, I should add the steaming will work only for some knits and I still would avoid pushing the fabric too far -- I wouldn't machine-baste or staystitch, for example, since every trip through the machine stretches it a little more. Thanks, everyone, for the kind comments!
2/8/10 12:15 PM
Phillis2 said...
Thanks for your details in this review. I've been looking at this pattern and wanting to make it 'cause the look is quite different. I'm a large woman and would have to grid the pattern a little larger to fit correctly across my back. I believe the arm hole openings woud be okay since my arms are average. After reading your remarks, I think I'll give this jacket a try -- especially since I'm able to catch this pattern on sale at $5.00.
9/16/12 2:04 PM
Margaret said...
Phillis -- I think this pattern would be very easy to size up as it's just a rectangle. IIRC the CB is cut on the fold, so if all you need is extra width across the back, you could probably even just cut it with the CB placed a little bit away from the fabric fold.
9/17/12 9:22 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Burda 3197 Shirt
photo
Review by chesneykat on 4/18/12
Read Review

Kwik Sew 3903 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3903 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6692 Pattern ( Size 2-3-4-5 )
McCalls 6692 Pattern ( Size 2-3-4-5 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Self Drafted Pattern 93540-1000
photo
Review by AlexaNJ on 7/18/12
Read Review

Salme Playsuit Digital Pattern
Salme Playsuit Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Pinwheel tunic + slip dress Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4T )
Oliver + S Pinwheel tunic + slip dress Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4T )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Bluegingerdoll Mae Blouse Patterns
Bluegingerdoll Mae Blouse Patterns

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Chic Cloche Hat Pattern (ln101)
Sew Chic Cloche Hat Pattern (ln101)

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us