SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 3624 (Jacket & Vest)

2 more reviews
Viewed 383 times 
Reviewed by:Margaret
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Margaretstarstarstarstar
BC Canada
Member since: 11/4/02
Reviews written: 294
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 48 people
patterns reviewed: 274
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/6/10 9:48 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
See other patterns in this category: Vests    Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Karen31 said...
Thank you so much for reviewing this, I have the vest version already cut waiting to be sewn but keep putting things in front of it. I like the collar of the jacket better on the model but on the illustration it looks like there's way too much fabric, doesn't appear that way on yours.
2/6/10 11:59 PM
Renren said...
I just love it when you say things like this: "The fabric is all cotton and does stretch when sewn, particularly if sewn close to a cut edge, but it can be steamed back to shape. " I don't know things like that and when you describe it this way I understand what could go wrong and the solution. I am grateful for your concise, to-the-point, clear, and informative reviews.
2/7/10 9:12 AM
Peter in NYC said...
Very cool and avant-garde looking jacket. Great job!
2/7/10 9:17 AM
Sewingmi said...
Nice! I think yours looks better than the envelope. I enjoyed your very helpful review.
2/7/10 1:05 PM
Margaret said...
krothwolff, I think to get it to look like the illustration, you'd have to pull up the drawstrings just so, scrunch the collar area down in back, and arrange the collar carefully. There's no way it could stay that way for long when worn in real life... at least not on me. :) Renren, I should add the steaming will work only for some knits and I still would avoid pushing the fabric too far -- I wouldn't machine-baste or staystitch, for example, since every trip through the machine stretches it a little more. Thanks, everyone, for the kind comments!
2/8/10 12:15 PM
Phillis2 said...
Thanks for your details in this review. I've been looking at this pattern and wanting to make it 'cause the look is quite different. I'm a large woman and would have to grid the pattern a little larger to fit correctly across my back. I believe the arm hole openings woud be okay since my arms are average. After reading your remarks, I think I'll give this jacket a try -- especially since I'm able to catch this pattern on sale at $5.00.
9/16/12 2:04 PM
Margaret said...
Phillis -- I think this pattern would be very easy to size up as it's just a rectangle. IIRC the CB is cut on the fold, so if all you need is extra width across the back, you could probably even just cut it with the CB placed a little bit away from the fabric fold.
9/17/12 9:22 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

New Look 6309

photo
by: Verosews

Review
New Look 6150

photo
by: sunnysewer

Review
Jamie Christina Mission Maxi Pattern (JC312MM)

Jamie Christina Mission Maxi Pattern (JC312MM)

Buy Now
Islander Sewing Systems Double Green Shopping Bag Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Double Green Shopping Bag Pattern

Buy Now