SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Drafted from RTW> 1000 (Foldover Maternity Panties)

Viewed 325 times 
Reviewed by:m1khaela
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About m1khaelastarstar
NY USA
Member since: 8/19/05
Reviews written: 66
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 31 people
patterns reviewed: 46
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/7/10 5:11 PM
Last Updated:2/15/10 0:51 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 8 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
sewing for fun said...
Another GREAT review! Nice to know there are some moms-to-be that still are able to fit sewing into modern busy schedules. I agree that cutting up RTW (I use a rotary cutter) yields the least distortion and is super fast. I have also used a needlepoint tracer (about $20) to create patterns from RTW without cutting apart. I use some foam core poster board underneath, then a layer of freezer paper, then the item to be created. Lay item flat (in sections, if need be), then secure and trace the seam/foldlines. The freezer paper becomes a perforated dotted pattern. True up the lines, add SA and TA-DA!, you have a pattern!
2/7/10 5:40 PM
DaisyEsq said...
These look great, better than the RTW!
2/7/10 6:36 PM
ssssdeb said...
You are adorable!
2/8/10 0:27 AM
SandiMacD said...
Thanks for posting the pictures- now I understand how they were made w/o elastic. I have developed an allergy and although not pregnant, I will be able to use this concept to make some very comfortable panties! Thanks!
2/8/10 0:33 AM
colorkitten said...
Great job!! And they're super-cute, to boot!
2/8/10 9:56 AM
michababy said...
These are so cute and you look like they are comfortable. A good test is always the smile on the said wearer's face! Happy baby and until then - happy undies!
2/8/10 9:07 PM
Jane S said...
Fantastic review and you're inspiring me to cut up some undies and get busy. Cute, comfortable and perfect fitting, what more could a girl want.
2/9/10 2:05 PM
DeanneW said...
Great Panties. good that you were able to make a pattern from RTW
2/10/10 4:03 AM
sewing for fun said...
LOVE your final version. The colors are fun and sexy and the fit is great!
2/15/10 1:29 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

You Sew Girl 150mm Poppet Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 150mm Poppet Purse Pattern

Buy Now
Runaround Bag

Runaround Bag

Buy Now