SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5752 

34 more reviews
Viewed 610 times 
Reviewed by:CissieW
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About CissieWstarstarstarstar
NC USA
Member since: 1/21/07
Reviews written: 176
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 100 people
patterns reviewed: 173
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/8/10 0:06 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 5 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
ssssdeb said...
Your dress looks really nice! I like PMC disappearing chalk for dark fabrics. It doesn't leave any residue like tailors chalk. You can find it at Clotilde and cheaper at sewtrue.com - hope this helps!
2/8/10 0:18 AM
pammieh said...
Very flattering on you - wonderful result!
2/8/10 0:20 AM
dragon10 said...
I've had my eye on this pattern for awhile so your review is really helpful. The dress looks good on you. It will be interesting to hear from you if you make it in a lighter knit fabric.
2/8/10 0:59 AM
Mary W said...
I sometimes mark dark knits with a tiny bar of soap from a hotel.
2/8/10 8:25 AM
arianamaniacs said...
I think it turned out really nice. I love that style of top. Re: disappearing chalk -- I use a special "crayon" type pencil (white). It doesn't disappear - in fact there is a brush on the other side of the pencil for brushing the color out. Works really well for me
2/8/10 10:30 AM
persevering said...
Looks very nice on you!
2/8/10 10:35 AM
sewbehind said...
Lovely dress and I don't agree that it makes you look like a Kleenex box! As for marking on dark colours, you might try an old faithful like soap, or I like marking my dark quilts with Aquarelle pencils (white or yellow) made for watercolour. (I used to buy them at Dick Blick's) Not so sure of the spelling. It's been years since we've lived in the USA.
2/8/10 11:21 AM
becca a said...
Lovely dress! It is very flattering. You're right that a thinner fabric will give you less bulk--in fact, it will probably give you the slim line you want at the waistline. Seeing yours, I think I have to order this pattern.
2/9/10 7:36 AM
gatorgirl4325 said...
I think this dress looks lovely on you and it does define your waistline :) ITY jersey will give you less bulk, but by no means should you put this version in your closet and not wear it! This dress gives you a very pleasing shape.
2/9/10 2:19 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

McCall's 5435

photo
by: aleah42

Review
Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Long & Short Caftans

Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Long & Short Caftans

Buy Now
SewBaby Casserole Carrier Pattern

SewBaby Casserole Carrier Pattern

Buy Now