Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 5752 thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 607 times 34 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 5 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
Reviewed by:CissieW
photo
Friend of PR
About CissieWstarstarstarstar
NC USA
Member since: 1/21/07
Reviews written: 153
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 83 people
patterns reviewed: 150
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/8/10 0:06 AM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
ssssdeb said...
Your dress looks really nice! I like PMC disappearing chalk for dark fabrics. It doesn't leave any residue like tailors chalk. You can find it at Clotilde and cheaper at sewtrue.com - hope this helps!
2/8/10 0:18 AM
pammieh said...
Very flattering on you - wonderful result!
2/8/10 0:20 AM
dragon10 said...
I've had my eye on this pattern for awhile so your review is really helpful. The dress looks good on you. It will be interesting to hear from you if you make it in a lighter knit fabric.
2/8/10 0:59 AM
Mary W said...
I sometimes mark dark knits with a tiny bar of soap from a hotel.
2/8/10 8:25 AM
arianamaniacs said...
I think it turned out really nice. I love that style of top. Re: disappearing chalk -- I use a special "crayon" type pencil (white). It doesn't disappear - in fact there is a brush on the other side of the pencil for brushing the color out. Works really well for me
2/8/10 10:30 AM
persevering said...
Looks very nice on you!
2/8/10 10:35 AM
sewbehind said...
Lovely dress and I don't agree that it makes you look like a Kleenex box! As for marking on dark colours, you might try an old faithful like soap, or I like marking my dark quilts with Aquarelle pencils (white or yellow) made for watercolour. (I used to buy them at Dick Blick's) Not so sure of the spelling. It's been years since we've lived in the USA.
2/8/10 11:21 AM
becca a said...
Lovely dress! It is very flattering. You're right that a thinner fabric will give you less bulk--in fact, it will probably give you the slim line you want at the waistline. Seeing yours, I think I have to order this pattern.
2/9/10 7:36 AM
gatorgirl4325 said...
I think this dress looks lovely on you and it does define your waistline :) ITY jersey will give you less bulk, but by no means should you put this version in your closet and not wear it! This dress gives you a very pleasing shape.
2/9/10 2:19 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

No Pattern Used Sewing machine cover
photo
Review by Nessa09 on 4/12/10
Read Review

Lazy Days Skirt (FREE!)
Lazy Days Skirt (FREE!)

Details
Price: $0
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver S Book Report Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )
Oliver   S Book Report Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3601
photo
Review by mhoutz on 8/4/13
Read Review

9 inch Bent Handle Scissors
9 inch Bent Handle Scissors

Details
Price: $24.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Tamari Apron Pattern
Sewing Workshop Tamari Apron Pattern

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8630 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12 )
Vogue 8630 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $22.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6811 Pattern ( Size )
McCalls 6811 Pattern ( Size  )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us