SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5752 

34 more reviews
Viewed 610 times 
Reviewed by:CissieW
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About CissieWstarstarstarstar
NC USA
Member since: 1/21/07
Reviews written: 178
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 103 people
patterns reviewed: 175
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/8/10 0:06 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 5 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
gatorgirl4325 said...
I think this dress looks lovely on you and it does define your waistline :) ITY jersey will give you less bulk, but by no means should you put this version in your closet and not wear it! This dress gives you a very pleasing shape.
2/9/10 2:19 PM
becca a said...
Lovely dress! It is very flattering. You're right that a thinner fabric will give you less bulk--in fact, it will probably give you the slim line you want at the waistline. Seeing yours, I think I have to order this pattern.
2/9/10 7:36 AM
sewbehind said...
Lovely dress and I don't agree that it makes you look like a Kleenex box! As for marking on dark colours, you might try an old faithful like soap, or I like marking my dark quilts with Aquarelle pencils (white or yellow) made for watercolour. (I used to buy them at Dick Blick's) Not so sure of the spelling. It's been years since we've lived in the USA.
2/8/10 11:21 AM
persevering said...
Looks very nice on you!
2/8/10 10:35 AM
arianamaniacs said...
I think it turned out really nice. I love that style of top. Re: disappearing chalk -- I use a special "crayon" type pencil (white). It doesn't disappear - in fact there is a brush on the other side of the pencil for brushing the color out. Works really well for me
2/8/10 10:30 AM
Mary W said...
I sometimes mark dark knits with a tiny bar of soap from a hotel.
2/8/10 8:25 AM
dragon10 said...
I've had my eye on this pattern for awhile so your review is really helpful. The dress looks good on you. It will be interesting to hear from you if you make it in a lighter knit fabric.
2/8/10 0:59 AM
pammieh said...
Very flattering on you - wonderful result!
2/8/10 0:20 AM
ssssdeb said...
Your dress looks really nice! I like PMC disappearing chalk for dark fabrics. It doesn't leave any residue like tailors chalk. You can find it at Clotilde and cheaper at sewtrue.com - hope this helps!
2/8/10 0:18 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Petite Plus 604 Pattern

Petite Plus 604 Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Inventor Shirt Pattern

Sewing Workshop Inventor Shirt Pattern

Buy Now