SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 8255 (Men's shirt)

Viewed 344 times 
Reviewed by:Peter in NYC
photo

 
 
About Peter in NYCstarstarstarstar
USA
Member since: 6/9/09
Reviews written: 67
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 119 people
patterns reviewed: 61
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/9/10 11:35 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
26 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
coda said...
Looks fabulous! Love the idea of upcycling the sheet. Wish I had someone to sew it for.
3/22/10 1:58 AM
LizzM26 said...
Definetely. you need to wear this at San Juan if you want to wear it now. You get me sonspired to start sewing my spring and summer wardrobe. You are amazing!
2/20/10 9:04 AM
nitty the kitty said...
I love the fabric. Being from Texas, I think you could put pearl snaps on it. I LOVE your blog too! I look forward to it everyday.
2/11/10 1:16 AM
OP Gal said...
A groovy 70's shirt from a thrown away sheet. Who knew? Great job.
2/10/10 11:19 PM
petro said...
Great choice of sheet!
2/10/10 1:41 PM
Nancy K said...
Cool shirt. Very groovy
2/10/10 11:23 AM
colorkitten said...
Ooh, I think sewliz has got it -- I was trying to image that as a two-tone shirt and I kept thinking it looked western for some reason! I wonder how PRINCE seams would look on a dress shirt?
2/10/10 10:39 AM
Sewliz said...
Total groovieness, love your shirt! I'm getting a flashback of a time of western wear influence and wonder if that's what inspired the prince seams in this pattern? Look at the pants in the pattern illustration, those "western pockets" I think they were called. And try the one piece collar and stand thing sometime, you might be pleasantly surprised if the draft is good.
2/10/10 8:46 AM
Woolygal said...
Peter, no doubt about it, you are fun to have on board.
2/10/10 7:48 AM
Kayseri said...
Very fun shirt. The close fitting 70's style looks great on you. Maybe you should try the hip huggers too :)
2/10/10 4:15 AM
TracyB said...
Looks so good on you! Peter, the best sewing adventure writer there is, publishes another hit.
2/9/10 10:39 PM
Peter in NYC said...
Kay, at first I read that as you love my buns! That would have been my preference but glad you enjoy the puns, too. Prince seams...I like that. Thanks for all the kind comments everybody!
2/9/10 9:52 PM
Kay Romo said...
I love all your puns!
2/9/10 9:04 PM
Nancy Rhodes said...
Those are PRINCE seams ....
2/9/10 8:59 PM
moonchild61 said...
Great sheet...er...shirt!
2/9/10 7:13 PM
FreyaStark said...
It's lovely. Well done.
2/9/10 5:24 PM
colorkitten said...
Stellar! And just in time for the blizzard, too! I really do love the (ahem) side front sections. I hope you make this up in more version!
2/9/10 3:54 PM
RLL said...
Well, my first thought at seeing the photo in the gallery was.....guess he is getting ready for spring, now if it would just get here. This is another fine looking shirt and yes, you are ready for spring, or at least a tropical vacation.
2/9/10 3:24 PM
Opals Passions said...
Nice outfit..
2/9/10 2:57 PM
busymomof3 said...
You sheet shirt is a perfect fit!
2/9/10 2:48 PM
Aixoise said...
This shirt looks great on you. You're built for this style (to the envy of many) and the flower pattern is so 70's - love it. Great review - enjoyed shooting the sheet with you.
2/9/10 2:26 PM
BettyMike said...
Peter, I love your shirt. I have been looking for a pattern very much like this for my husband. Thanks for you wonderful reviews!
2/9/10 1:38 PM
puddypaws said...
Great review as usual but I wanna see you in those groovy pants next. LOL
2/9/10 1:33 PM
Twinset said...
Grrrrooooovy, baby! Love it with the white pants!
2/9/10 12:56 PM
mssewcrazy said...
I posted on your blog. I love your shirt. This sheet thing is so much fun. I was always hesitant spending a lot to sew up pjs or a lounging around caftan but don't mind sacrificing an oddball sheet for the cause. Now those nice 70's printed sheets that show up in thrifts when grandmas linen closet gets donated are looking stylish once again.
2/9/10 12:54 PM
kkkkaty said...
sweet!
2/9/10 11:43 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
More Knits
More Knits

Class Details

Online Class
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Class Details

Butterick 5679

photo
by: cmarie12

Review
Butterick 5608

photo
by: velosewer

Review
Bluegingerdoll The Peggy Skirt Pattern

Bluegingerdoll The Peggy Skirt Pattern

More Info
Sew Liberated Flora Tunic and Twirly Skirt

Sew Liberated Flora Tunic and Twirly Skirt

More Info