SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 8255 (Men's shirt)

Viewed 344 times 
Reviewed by:Peter in NYC
photo

 
 
About Peter in NYCstarstarstarstar
USA
Member since: 6/9/09
Reviews written: 67
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 119 people
patterns reviewed: 61
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/9/10 11:35 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
26 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
coda said...
Looks fabulous! Love the idea of upcycling the sheet. Wish I had someone to sew it for.
3/22/10 1:58 AM
LizzM26 said...
Definetely. you need to wear this at San Juan if you want to wear it now. You get me sonspired to start sewing my spring and summer wardrobe. You are amazing!
2/20/10 9:04 AM
nitty the kitty said...
I love the fabric. Being from Texas, I think you could put pearl snaps on it. I LOVE your blog too! I look forward to it everyday.
2/11/10 1:16 AM
OP Gal said...
A groovy 70's shirt from a thrown away sheet. Who knew? Great job.
2/10/10 11:19 PM
petro said...
Great choice of sheet!
2/10/10 1:41 PM
Nancy K said...
Cool shirt. Very groovy
2/10/10 11:23 AM
colorkitten said...
Ooh, I think sewliz has got it -- I was trying to image that as a two-tone shirt and I kept thinking it looked western for some reason! I wonder how PRINCE seams would look on a dress shirt?
2/10/10 10:39 AM
Sewliz said...
Total groovieness, love your shirt! I'm getting a flashback of a time of western wear influence and wonder if that's what inspired the prince seams in this pattern? Look at the pants in the pattern illustration, those "western pockets" I think they were called. And try the one piece collar and stand thing sometime, you might be pleasantly surprised if the draft is good.
2/10/10 8:46 AM
Woolygal said...
Peter, no doubt about it, you are fun to have on board.
2/10/10 7:48 AM
Kayseri said...
Very fun shirt. The close fitting 70's style looks great on you. Maybe you should try the hip huggers too :)
2/10/10 4:15 AM
TracyB said...
Looks so good on you! Peter, the best sewing adventure writer there is, publishes another hit.
2/9/10 10:39 PM
Peter in NYC said...
Kay, at first I read that as you love my buns! That would have been my preference but glad you enjoy the puns, too. Prince seams...I like that. Thanks for all the kind comments everybody!
2/9/10 9:52 PM
Kay Romo said...
I love all your puns!
2/9/10 9:04 PM
Nancy Rhodes said...
Those are PRINCE seams ....
2/9/10 8:59 PM
moonchild61 said...
Great sheet...er...shirt!
2/9/10 7:13 PM
FreyaStark said...
It's lovely. Well done.
2/9/10 5:24 PM
colorkitten said...
Stellar! And just in time for the blizzard, too! I really do love the (ahem) side front sections. I hope you make this up in more version!
2/9/10 3:54 PM
RLL said...
Well, my first thought at seeing the photo in the gallery was.....guess he is getting ready for spring, now if it would just get here. This is another fine looking shirt and yes, you are ready for spring, or at least a tropical vacation.
2/9/10 3:24 PM
Opals Passions said...
Nice outfit..
2/9/10 2:57 PM
busymomof3 said...
You sheet shirt is a perfect fit!
2/9/10 2:48 PM
Aixoise said...
This shirt looks great on you. You're built for this style (to the envy of many) and the flower pattern is so 70's - love it. Great review - enjoyed shooting the sheet with you.
2/9/10 2:26 PM
BettyMike said...
Peter, I love your shirt. I have been looking for a pattern very much like this for my husband. Thanks for you wonderful reviews!
2/9/10 1:38 PM
puddypaws said...
Great review as usual but I wanna see you in those groovy pants next. LOL
2/9/10 1:33 PM
Twinset said...
Grrrrooooovy, baby! Love it with the white pants!
2/9/10 12:56 PM
mssewcrazy said...
I posted on your blog. I love your shirt. This sheet thing is so much fun. I was always hesitant spending a lot to sew up pjs or a lounging around caftan but don't mind sacrificing an oddball sheet for the cause. Now those nice 70's printed sheets that show up in thrifts when grandmas linen closet gets donated are looking stylish once again.
2/9/10 12:54 PM
kkkkaty said...
sweet!
2/9/10 11:43 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Class Details

Online Class
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Class Details

McCall's 5974

photo
by: sarah121ha...

Review
Sewing Workshop Quincy Top and Pants

Sewing Workshop Quincy Top and Pants

More Info
Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Long & Short Caftans

Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Long & Short Caftans

More Info