Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 8255 (Men's shirt) - Type:Mens - Shirts    printable version
Viewed 338 times
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
Reviewed by:Peter in NYC
photo
About Peter in NYCstarstarstarstar
USA
Member since: 6/9/09
Reviews written: 67
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 120 people
patterns reviewed: 61
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/9/10 11:35 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
26 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
kkkkaty said...
sweet!
2/9/10 11:43 AM
mssewcrazy said...
I posted on your blog. I love your shirt. This sheet thing is so much fun. I was always hesitant spending a lot to sew up pjs or a lounging around caftan but don't mind sacrificing an oddball sheet for the cause. Now those nice 70's printed sheets that show up in thrifts when grandmas linen closet gets donated are looking stylish once again.
2/9/10 12:54 PM
Twinset said...
Grrrrooooovy, baby! Love it with the white pants!
2/9/10 12:56 PM
puddypaws said...
Great review as usual but I wanna see you in those groovy pants next. LOL
2/9/10 1:33 PM
BettyMike said...
Peter, I love your shirt. I have been looking for a pattern very much like this for my husband. Thanks for you wonderful reviews!
2/9/10 1:38 PM
Aixoise said...
This shirt looks great on you. You're built for this style (to the envy of many) and the flower pattern is so 70's - love it. Great review - enjoyed shooting the sheet with you.
2/9/10 2:26 PM
busymomof3 said...
You sheet shirt is a perfect fit!
2/9/10 2:48 PM
Opals Passions said...
Nice outfit..
2/9/10 2:57 PM
RLL said...
Well, my first thought at seeing the photo in the gallery was.....guess he is getting ready for spring, now if it would just get here. This is another fine looking shirt and yes, you are ready for spring, or at least a tropical vacation.
2/9/10 3:24 PM
colorkitten said...
Stellar! And just in time for the blizzard, too! I really do love the (ahem) side front sections. I hope you make this up in more version!
2/9/10 3:54 PM
FreyaStark said...
It's lovely. Well done.
2/9/10 5:24 PM
moonchild61 said...
Great sheet...er...shirt!
2/9/10 7:13 PM
Nancy Rhodes said...
Those are PRINCE seams ....
2/9/10 8:59 PM
Kay Romo said...
I love all your puns!
2/9/10 9:04 PM
Peter in NYC said...
Kay, at first I read that as you love my buns! That would have been my preference but glad you enjoy the puns, too. Prince seams...I like that. Thanks for all the kind comments everybody!
2/9/10 9:52 PM
TracyB said...
Looks so good on you! Peter, the best sewing adventure writer there is, publishes another hit.
2/9/10 10:39 PM
Kayseri said...
Very fun shirt. The close fitting 70's style looks great on you. Maybe you should try the hip huggers too :)
2/10/10 4:15 AM
Woolygal said...
Peter, no doubt about it, you are fun to have on board.
2/10/10 7:48 AM
Sewliz said...
Total groovieness, love your shirt! I'm getting a flashback of a time of western wear influence and wonder if that's what inspired the prince seams in this pattern? Look at the pants in the pattern illustration, those "western pockets" I think they were called. And try the one piece collar and stand thing sometime, you might be pleasantly surprised if the draft is good.
2/10/10 8:46 AM
colorkitten said...
Ooh, I think sewliz has got it -- I was trying to image that as a two-tone shirt and I kept thinking it looked western for some reason! I wonder how PRINCE seams would look on a dress shirt?
2/10/10 10:39 AM
Nancy K said...
Cool shirt. Very groovy
2/10/10 11:23 AM
petro said...
Great choice of sheet!
2/10/10 1:41 PM
OP Gal said...
A groovy 70's shirt from a thrown away sheet. Who knew? Great job.
2/10/10 11:19 PM
nitty the kitty said...
I love the fabric. Being from Texas, I think you could put pearl snaps on it. I LOVE your blog too! I look forward to it everyday.
2/11/10 1:16 AM
LizzM26 said...
Definetely. you need to wear this at San Juan if you want to wear it now. You get me sonspired to start sewing my spring and summer wardrobe. You are amazing!
2/20/10 9:04 AM
coda said...
Looks fabulous! Love the idea of upcycling the sheet. Wish I had someone to sew it for.
3/22/10 1:58 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Simplicity 4095
photo
Review by merrypatte... on 5/27/09
Read Review

Vogue 8953 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Vogue 8953 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3964 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3964 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 6035 MISSES' SHIRTS
photo
Review by relliotts on 11/8/11
Read Review

Grainline Studio Lakeside Pajamas
Grainline Studio Lakeside Pajamas

Details
Price: $10.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Dixie DIY Ballet Dress
Dixie DIY Ballet Dress

Details
Price: $4.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Paradiso Designs Tiny Handbag Pattern
Paradiso Designs Tiny Handbag Pattern

Details
Price: $11.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Islander Sewing Systems The Ultimate Kinsale Cloak Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems The Ultimate Kinsale Cloak Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us