Online Sewing Class: Clone Your Favorite Garment
SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 7876 (Wrap Top w/ Drape Collar)

20 more reviews
Viewed 1138 times 
Reviewed by:nicegirl
photo

 
 
About nicegirlstarstarstarstar
DC USA
Member since: 5/10/06
Reviews: 325 (patterns: 325)
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 328 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/9/10 4:19 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Gendun said... (3/27/12 11:42 PM) Reply
Nice choice of fabric for you. I'm no seamstress, and I only recently took up sewing because people tell me I'm so good at fitting.. laughs. The sewing part - well, we shall see. (laughs) Anyway, looking at that pattern on you my gut says try a larger size and fit from there. Have you ever made a sloper or tried one of these? It might be hugely informative for you. http://mccallpattern.mccall.com/m2718-products-726.php?page_id=528
Terri A said... (2/27/10 3:27 AM) Reply
Thanks for the review. It sounds like a poorly drafted pattern to me. I love the fabric though.
masterseamstress said... (2/23/10 12:30 PM) Reply
No one can assist you with your fitting problems you mention: "I would be very happy to have any ideas on what is going on with the fit here and what changes need to be made to the armscye/sleeve to get a comfortable fit", because you don't offer your body measurements. Perhaps you need to move up to a larger size in the bust area. Your back and shoulder area look much broader than mine, and I cut a 6 only in the bust area. Everywhere else in the upper body I cut a 8. I looked at your review also for V8597, and I'm confused that most of the reviews on here are positive for that pattern; your's seems to be the only one with so much distain. Also, when you say you are making them for pj's do you mean lounge wear.
becca a said... (2/10/10 7:34 PM) Reply
The color is stunning on you. Sorry you are disappointed with the fit.
kerrynw said... (2/10/10 0:49 AM) Reply
Sorry about the fit but the colour does suit you.
Mufffet said... (2/9/10 8:38 PM) Reply
Gorgeous fabric and the picture is really nice! But if it doesn't fit - that's a pain. As a short person myself, and one who was once proportioned rather as you are, these sorts of patterns just don't do it for me either. I do have broad shoulders though, but I find that sometimes a longer upper body is needed or a whole lot of alterations. Is there a Burda in much the same style? I bet that would fit better and be more flattering. Burdas are just so well drafted and you use them so much.
Berniejh said... (2/9/10 6:36 PM) Reply
I'm not sure the shape of the garment is right for your body shape. This shaped garment (cross over, low v neck) suits an inverted triangle - broad shoulders and slim hips, it makes your already slim shoulders look non-existant. The fabric is lovely but maybe you need to pass this one up for another style.
Leu said... (2/9/10 5:24 PM) Reply
Thanks for the review. Very helpful information. Sorry about the pjs.
no7262 said... (2/9/10 5:21 PM) Reply
I am sorry that you such trouble with the fit. I think that it is worth getting the right fit because it looks great on you! I'm going to have to add this to my list......Nora :)
FreyaStark said... (2/9/10 5:17 PM) Reply
I'm sorry it is so disappointing. The fabric is gorgeous.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
All About Buttons and Buttonholes
All About Buttons and Buttonholes

Class Details

Online Class
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Class Details

Burda 9671

photo
by: kellyhogab...

Review
Self Drafted Pattern Project Runway homage

photo
by: divabuddha

Review
Fit For Art Tabula Rasa Jacket Pattern

Fit For Art Tabula Rasa Jacket Pattern

Pattern Details
Bluegingerdoll The Winifred Dress Paper Pattern

Bluegingerdoll The Winifred Dress Paper Pattern

Pattern Details