SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Jalie> 2908 (Women's Stretch Jeans)

163 more reviews
Viewed 2107 times 
Reviewed by:Deepika
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Deepikastarstarstarstar
MA United States
Member since: 11/28/01
Reviews written: 368
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 303 people
patterns reviewed: 266
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2009
Posted on:2/10/10 12:32 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 34 people   
See other patterns in this category: Pants    
Available for sale on PR: $12.75 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $12.75 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
48 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
ceejayem said...
Wow. I haven't cranked up the courage to do any jeans yet, but you achieved and excellent fit - very persuasive. Thanks for an excellent review with many useful links for those who follow.
6/21/12 11:08 PM
Sue Parrott said...
Wow, those are awesome jeans! I am going to try this pattern! I love the finished result!
6/3/11 10:58 AM
Pyrose said...
Wow, you look amazing in these! And the sewing is truly incredible. I'm still too intimidated to try sewing jeans, but if I do get up the nerve I may just have to try a Jalie pattern.
4/21/10 11:25 AM
sewcello said...
I just finished making two pairs of jeans. They can be time consuming. Because I am a size 22, getting the backside to look good is difficult. I ended up putting darts in the yoke before I put the waistband on. I let the back pocket cover up a lot of the dart. I used a sharp awl to punch the hole in the waistband to put the jeans button on from Dritz. It is difficult, but I like how it stays on. The pattern I used was PMBoutique from Wild Ginger. Question. What do you do with the yellow top thread when you want to bring it to the back of the garment? I've been threading it through a needle and then poking it through the back and tieing if off. But this can't be how rtw does it. They don't have the time. Thanks for listening. PLUS, your jeans look great. Especially nice fit through your backside. Susan, Buffalo, New York
2/23/10 8:43 AM
Warbler said...
Fanastic work! Very nice fit too! Curious as to what sewing machine you used for those tight denim felled seams? I think I am ordering the pattern just based on this review!
2/19/10 9:17 PM
iluv2sew61 said...
I love those jeans! I have this pattern and I'm determined to make them this year.
2/15/10 4:31 PM
Deepika said...
gilbertgs absolutely. I will update this review to include my other pairs.
2/12/10 9:06 AM
milwaukee_kelly said...
Impressive! Woo hoo!
2/11/10 9:05 PM
gilbertgs said...
Thanks, Deepika. Could you let us know how the stretchier fabric works out? You may get to those before I get to my next pair. :)
2/11/10 3:03 PM
Annette Wright said...
They look terrific. I still need to place an order for rivets and buttons, and I tried to find your fabric at Joanns but they only had the 8oz, but I'm excited to try it. These are definitely fun and well fitting jeans.
2/11/10 12:25 PM
Deepika said...
Catbird LOL! you'll be sorry you asked. I can be really wordy when it comes to emotions :) gilbertgs I am pretty sure my denim was 2% so I think it'll work out just fine. 4% seems a little too stretchy to me also, but I bought some fabric from FFC yesterday which is 3-4" so we'll see. Hope this helps.
2/11/10 10:40 AM
cindyann said...
Thanks for the link for the zipper instruction. Like you, I found the Jalie application left too little coverage and the Sandra B. method left the zipper much too far off center. Maybe this will be the winner.
2/11/10 10:33 AM
gilbertgs said...
Deepika, These are absolutely inspiring. I'm trying to finish up making my first pair from another pattern and working from several sets of instructions from other patterns, none of which are comprehensive or correct. I just got my Jalie in last week and SO wish I'd waited. All the information you gave is very valuable, but I do have one question...you mentioned that you used 10.5 oz stretch from Joanne's. What percent of lycra/stretch do they have? The pattern calls for 4% and the denim I have from Joanne's is the same you have, but it's only 2%. Doing jeans with 4% sounds VERY stretchy. Guidance? Thank you! :)
2/11/10 9:33 AM
Catbird said...
Well, look at YOU in your sleek and chic new jeans! These are fantastic and this review is a treasure trove. Go ahead and put your emotions in next time. We can handle it! :-)) Great job!
2/11/10 9:32 AM
Rhoda K said...
Great looking jeans. Your fit is top notch!
2/11/10 8:41 AM
yummymummy38 said...
You look absolutely fantastic in your jeans! I've always said I'd never make jeans, hell I haven't even wore them for 8 years, but if I could look like you I'll just have to order this pattern;)
2/11/10 8:35 AM
Karen8320 said...
Deepika, you are so inspirational! These jeans look fantastic and just make me want to get stuck into making some myself. Your review is fabulous and I can't believe how little time it took you to make them. I'm really, really impressed! Great stuff!
2/11/10 0:50 AM
TGWGWS said...
Those jeans are so cute! Great job! One thing I don't like is the inside leg seam, I don't like to see the thread color on this seam.
2/10/10 10:49 PM
Markie1 said...
These jeans are spectacular! Your topstitching is PERFECT! And you look so good in them! I can't say enough good things! !!!!!! ;-)
2/10/10 10:02 PM
Deepika said...
Melissa I am soooo glad I made them. I've already bought fabrics for like 4 more pairs. I think I am officially insane.
2/10/10 8:24 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
Those are such fantastic jeans Deepika - see aren't you glad you made them?!?! :-)
2/10/10 8:14 PM
drsue said...
Very impressive! You look fabulous.
2/10/10 7:15 PM
FreyaStark said...
They look great - well done. I've never made pants with such a precise fit.
2/10/10 6:21 PM
Elona said...
Oh, Deepika, these are just stunning. Lauren and Hilfiger and all those guys should just eat their hearts out with envy!
2/10/10 5:49 PM
SewRusty said...
Great looking jeans, but more importantly, THANK YOU for the links to the video and the ebay seller! :-)
2/10/10 5:47 PM
anstee said...
Such a great fit with excellent stitching.
2/10/10 5:47 PM
donna mel said...
i love them! great inspiration for the rest of us. could brian do a rivet 'how to' video?
2/10/10 5:22 PM
SandraB said...
These look great on you Deepika. I can't wait to try making mine. Ready-Made jeans rarely fit me well, so I really enjoy the satisfaction of making my own which fit well.
2/10/10 4:40 PM
carolynw said...
Deepika I am absolutely certain that you could not find a better fit anywhere - even if you paid $$$$.
2/10/10 4:34 PM
ButtonFaith said...
wow, those are the most amazing jeans...I canNOT believe you made them! Simply an incredible job and fantastic review!
2/10/10 4:33 PM
Deepika said...
redhotpepper off to read your review. JTink I know these look just right don't they? They sort of hit me at a little uncomfortable spot on my belly so when I sit down it seems a little tight and I find myself pulling them down. So just half an inch lower will do the trick.RadarRadiance don't wait, just make them. I don't know why I waited so long. And Leslie my dear, I've said this before but I am appointing you my official pattern picker! Jennifer I can't wait to see yours.
2/10/10 4:01 PM
JEF said...
Awesome looking jeans! My denim is on the cutting table right now .... :)
2/10/10 3:55 PM
Leslie in Austin said...
Look at you, you hottie! I know it's rude to say I told you so, but....
2/10/10 3:45 PM
RadarRadiance said...
Love reading the rev iews on these, I also bought the pattern but have not attempted yet! Looks GREAT!!!! and authentic!
2/10/10 3:35 PM
RLL said...
Perfection!
2/10/10 3:27 PM
Heatherrique said...
Those look even nicer than RTW jeans that cost in the hundreds and fit you very nicely! Congratulations on creating a FIERCE pair of jeans!
2/10/10 2:55 PM
JTink said...
These jeans are great. I've never worked with at Jalie pattern. I just finished my 7th pair off the Connie Crawford pattern. I also like the denim with a little stretch. I'm wondering how on earth you would wear them any lower. They look great to me.
2/10/10 2:31 PM
AnneMarie60 said...
Your jeans look fantastic! I like the added flare. I know you're so proud of your excellent work on these!
2/10/10 2:11 PM
redhotpepper said...
Very nice! I just reviewed mine too and I found the same thing with the heavy topstitching thread in the bobbin. Just not as good as with the regular bobbin thread.
2/10/10 1:34 PM
sewing for fun said...
Thanks so much for the detailed review with excellent photos!
2/10/10 1:24 PM
no7262 said...
I am so glad that I have this pattern! Great job! Nora :)
2/10/10 1:09 PM
salsera7 said...
Great Job Deepika, and they fit so well!
2/10/10 1:05 PM
Karen6790 said...
Wow. Just wow. If this was your first pair, I don't want to see what you come up with when you keep going! Thanks for all the detail shots. I really need to make these.
2/10/10 1:00 PM
Aixoise said...
Wow! Great fit, impeccable (amazing) topstitching, professional finishing touches. I like the added flare, too. My pattern arrived last week (thanks, PR!) and just moved up in the queue.
2/10/10 12:51 PM
Twinset said...
Deepika, no I didn't alter the rise; I just shaved 1/4'' from the waistband, as you did. I think they might appear lower than yours 'cause I'm wearing a wide belt on the pictures. I agree with you that Jalie jeans are more medium rise than really low rise, it's a good thing that you're mentioning it.
2/10/10 12:51 PM
Deepika said...
littlejazzbird They totally are and your jeans are my favorite. When I looked at your photos it seemed they are much lower. Did you alter for that? sewingcybermom I will edit my review to include details on rivets and topstitching thread.
2/10/10 12:45 PM
sewingcybermom said...
your jeans came out just wonderful.. Where did you get your rivets? And, what type of thread did you use for top stitching. I have a Juki TL98Q and have never used heavy thread on it. Do I have to use the same weight bobbin? Lovely job, I can't wait to make mine!
2/10/10 12:44 PM
Twinset said...
Your jeans fit you very nicely! And great topstitching too! Aren't Jalie jeans simply the best??
2/10/10 12:39 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Class Details

Online Class
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Class Details

Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Pareau Style Wrap Dress

Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Pareau Style Wrap Dress

More Info
Shapes Three Fold Vest Pattern

Shapes Three Fold Vest Pattern

More Info