Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 2474 (Misses Sportswear) thumbsup - Type:Suits / Separates    printable version
Viewed 576 times 9 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
Reviewed by:callmeRuth
photo
About callmeRuthstarstar
OK USA
Member since: 5/4/06
Reviews written: 122
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 27 people
patterns reviewed: 122
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/10/10 1:31 AM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Coat/Jacket    Pants    
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $16.95     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
mssewcrazy said...
That is a really nice cardi. I must buy this pattern at the next sale-great that it comes in such a wide size range. Thanks for showing it.
2/10/10 8:25 AM
Renren said...
In addition to the troubleshooting you did with the skipped stitches problem, the only other factor I found in a google search was to remove any sizing because this can cause skipped stitches. I guess that would be done by prewashing (preshrinking) the fabric. Other than that and what you've done, I don't have another idea. Lovely cardigan though and I do believe with J's 5 Simplicity/$5 sale coming up, I might need this pattern! Lovely!
2/10/10 9:48 AM
ImListening said...
Thanks for introducing me to a nice cardigan pattern. It looks great on you. What do you mean you are "hesitant to use it again until I can figure out how to prevent poor stitches." I couldn't see poor stitches in your photo. You might notice them, but no one else will. And, your standards are probably higher than those of the general public who will be seeing you. It's so pretty.
2/10/10 10:55 AM
ImListening said...
Thanks for introducing me to a nice cardigan pattern. It looks great on you. What do you mean when you say you are "hesitant to use it again until I can figure out how to prevent poor stitches." I couldn't see poor stitches in your photo. You might notice them, but no one else will. And, your standards are probably higher than those of the general public who will be seeing you. It's so pretty.
2/10/10 10:57 AM
Christas said...
Very cute cardigan!
2/10/10 5:07 PM
jillnjosh said...
Hi Ruth! It looks great. I'm pretty sure it's the RPL Ponte doubleknit. It's comparable to Sophia knits in weight and hand. Not to be confused with the old fashioned polyester ponte used for cheerleading uniforms, lol. Did you adjust your stitch length when you were trying to get rid of the skipping stitches? Also, like Renren said, did you wash it before sewing? I have some that I meant to sew up a couple of months ago, but haven't gotten around to. - Jill, mom to Josh
2/11/10 6:06 AM
callmeRuth said...
Jill, that helps a lot.... I always think of ponte as the fabric of stiff cheerleading uniforms, lol. Also, I don't remember if I prewashed the fabric. I 'usually' always do, but sometimes forget....
2/13/10 11:57 AM
montanagrandma said...
as for skipped stitches...sometimes using tissue paper over and under fabric will help with that it easily tears away when finished
2/15/10 9:36 AM
4u2cme said...
I really like the color of your cardi. I have this pattern in my stash. I also like to wear a simple cardi at work. It is often cool in my office. I will rotate this pattern to my To Sew List.
9/22/10 9:17 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

brerrabbit.com Funky Friends Factory
photo
Review by Westy85 on 5/16/12
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Sailor shorts Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Sailor shorts Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver & S Forest Path Cape Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )
Oliver & S Forest Path Cape Digital Pattern  ( Size 6m-4 )

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 5968 Women's Dress
photo
Review by Peter in N... on 11/25/09
Read Review

My Favorite Duffle Bag
My Favorite Duffle Bag

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things The Classic Shirt Pattern
Favorite Things The Classic Shirt Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1392 Pattern ( Size ONE )
Simplicity 1392 Pattern ( Size ONE )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1358 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
Vogue 1358 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us