SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 2474 (Misses Sportswear)

12 more reviews
Viewed 615 times 
Reviewed by:callmeRuth
photo

 
 
About callmeRuthstarstar
Member since: 5/4/06
Reviews: 126 (patterns: 126)
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 26 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/10/10 1:31 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
4u2cme said... (9/22/10 9:17 AM) Reply
I really like the color of your cardi. I have this pattern in my stash. I also like to wear a simple cardi at work. It is often cool in my office. I will rotate this pattern to my To Sew List.
montanagrandma said... (2/15/10 9:36 AM) Reply
as for skipped stitches...sometimes using tissue paper over and under fabric will help with that it easily tears away when finished
callmeRuth said... (2/13/10 11:57 AM) Reply
Jill, that helps a lot.... I always think of ponte as the fabric of stiff cheerleading uniforms, lol. Also, I don't remember if I prewashed the fabric. I 'usually' always do, but sometimes forget....
jillnjosh said... (2/11/10 6:06 AM) Reply
Hi Ruth! It looks great. I'm pretty sure it's the RPL Ponte doubleknit. It's comparable to Sophia knits in weight and hand. Not to be confused with the old fashioned polyester ponte used for cheerleading uniforms, lol. Did you adjust your stitch length when you were trying to get rid of the skipping stitches? Also, like Renren said, did you wash it before sewing? I have some that I meant to sew up a couple of months ago, but haven't gotten around to. - Jill, mom to Josh
Christas said... (2/10/10 5:07 PM) Reply
Very cute cardigan!
ImListening said... (2/10/10 10:57 AM) Reply
Thanks for introducing me to a nice cardigan pattern. It looks great on you. What do you mean when you say you are "hesitant to use it again until I can figure out how to prevent poor stitches." I couldn't see poor stitches in your photo. You might notice them, but no one else will. And, your standards are probably higher than those of the general public who will be seeing you. It's so pretty.
ImListening said... (2/10/10 10:55 AM) Reply
Thanks for introducing me to a nice cardigan pattern. It looks great on you. What do you mean you are "hesitant to use it again until I can figure out how to prevent poor stitches." I couldn't see poor stitches in your photo. You might notice them, but no one else will. And, your standards are probably higher than those of the general public who will be seeing you. It's so pretty.
renren said... (2/10/10 9:48 AM) Reply
In addition to the troubleshooting you did with the skipped stitches problem, the only other factor I found in a google search was to remove any sizing because this can cause skipped stitches. I guess that would be done by prewashing (preshrinking) the fabric. Other than that and what you've done, I don't have another idea. Lovely cardigan though and I do believe with J's 5 Simplicity/$5 sale coming up, I might need this pattern! Lovely!
mssewcrazy said... (2/10/10 8:25 AM) Reply
That is a really nice cardi. I must buy this pattern at the next sale-great that it comes in such a wide size range. Thanks for showing it.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Class Details

Online Class
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Class Details

Ottobre Design Magazine 01-2013-8

photo
by: Sue Parrot...

Review
Islander Sewing Systems Waterfall Pattern Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Waterfall Pattern Pattern

Pattern Details
Curve Runner 12 inch

Curve Runner 12 inch

Pattern Details