SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 2497 (Misses Dresses)

58 more reviews
Viewed 924 times 
Reviewed by:meli88a
photo

 
 
About meli88astarstar
MA USA
Member since: 5/20/03
Reviews written: 73
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 42 people
patterns reviewed: 73
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2011
Posted on:2/10/10 6:31 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Proginoskes said...
Wow! both are lovely dresses, but the seersucker is truly adorable. Such a great look, even if it did start out a muslin. You've inspired me. :D
2/20/10 11:16 PM
poplin said...
Very nice. Love the different looks you got.
2/11/10 10:46 PM
meli88a said...
ElizabethDee, the gold dress skirt is cut on the straight grain fold. I only cut the seersucker skirt front on the bias as two pieces because it was the only way to fit all the pieces into the fabric... but I'm happy with the result. :)
2/11/10 3:33 PM
fryman said...
enjoy shortening the hems while you can. both dress look great!
2/11/10 12:32 PM
ElizabethDee said...
i love both your dresses, and each one has such a different personality. the chevron effect from the stripes is great. Is the skirt of the shantung version cut on the bias also?
2/11/10 11:01 AM
jannw said...
best looking muslin I've seen in ages...both turned out very well..love your versions
2/11/10 8:01 AM
TessaRose said...
I love your fabric choice for the seersucker! I wouldn't have ever thought of that. It looks great!
2/11/10 7:59 AM
CostumeDivasDirtyLaundry said...
Glad you decided to keep the muslin. Very cute summer dress!
2/11/10 7:25 AM
lamstu said...
I like the way the stripes go in the seersucker version. But the silk one is so chic!
2/11/10 0:25 AM
Renren said...
WOnderful! I love how you have chevronned the stripes together on the front skirt piece and of course the ruffles at the neckline make this dress fabulous.
2/10/10 8:18 PM
sewmytime said...
Very nice work...I love the collar ruffles in this dress....And the silk version is amazing and so stylish....love it
2/10/10 7:21 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Understanding Wool Fabrics
Understanding Wool Fabrics

Register

Clever Charlotte Raven Hoodie and Pants

photo
by: Donel

Review
Petite Plus Patterns Yoked Blouse

Petite Plus Patterns Yoked Blouse

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Baguette Pattern

You Sew Girl Baguette Pattern

Buy Now