SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 12-2009-102 

Viewed 420 times 
Reviewed by:mylittleelephant
photo

 
 
About mylittleelephantstar
NA UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 1/1/07
Reviews written: 21
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 24 people
patterns reviewed: 19
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/11/10 9:45 AM
Last Updated:2/11/10 11:24 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 16 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
26 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Athene said...
A fabulous coat. Well worth the cost and the effort.
4/26/10 10:08 PM
Jane S said...
What a beautiful, chic coat. You look wonderful and added details that make it so special.
2/13/10 7:26 PM
becca a said...
Lovely coat! Your belts are great. Thanks for the very helpful review.
2/13/10 8:47 AM
marjenann said...
Your new coat could easily be featured in a fashion magazine. It is truly stunning!!! Super review too!!
2/12/10 6:54 PM
SVN said...
I'm very impressed by your ingenious interlining... I might not make this particular coat (although your version is enough to tempt me), but will definitely remember the windproof lining idea for any coats I do make!
2/12/10 3:09 PM
SVN said...
Oops - double post!
2/12/10 3:03 PM
mylittleelephant said...
Thank you so much everyone for lovely comments, I am glad that my worn out previously- called- shawls have been accepted so positively :-), the truth was that it was snowing heavily on that day and I just didn't want to go out shopping, so needed to find something alternative in the house, but it seems to have turned out perfect, and that is why I can seldom throw away left over fabric and why the room is cluttered with it...........
2/12/10 10:33 AM
Becky Coleman said...
Beautiful work and great details, as always. A nylon lining is wise in cold climates & helpful in windy ones.
2/12/10 9:32 AM
pt6356 said...
Lovely! I like this style of coat, and it looks great on you. Thank you for such a detailed review.
2/12/10 7:53 AM
Rebecca D said...
Your coat is beautiful and so stylish. Thanks for all the information on your improvements, additions and modifications. Very helpful.
2/12/10 6:42 AM
yorkshire lass said...
Really lovely coat and I love the idea of using shawls as interlining. Really clever idea.
2/12/10 5:53 AM
CynthiaSue said...
looks so professional. i love the inside. you make me want to have better sewing skills.
2/12/10 0:21 AM
Sarsez said...
Excellent coat, excellent review and j'adore the buckle!
2/12/10 0:13 AM
Kellie R. said...
Very nice! Sharp coat!
2/11/10 9:26 PM
katib said...
This is a beautiful coat! i usually like more fitted coats myself, but I can see why you like this particular one so very much. Also, thank you for including a picture of your interlining. It made me smile!
2/11/10 6:47 PM
librarylady said...
Beautiful... will go look this up. And love the shawls for interlining.
2/11/10 6:04 PM
nicegirl said...
So very stylish! And it sounds nice and warm.
2/11/10 5:53 PM
Twinset said...
Great coat and wonderful hand sewing on the lining! Love the fabric, and thanks for bringing this pattern to our attention!
2/11/10 2:49 PM
Diane E said...
What a gorgeous coat, and what inspired use of shawls for interlining. Smart construction and very smart to wear.
2/11/10 2:08 PM
Justiina said...
Beautiful! I'm so glad you reviewed this, since I am always on the look-out for "roomy but slightly shaped" coats and had overlooked this! Yours is gorgeous!
2/11/10 12:47 PM
CShelley said...
Envy!
2/11/10 12:24 PM
CissieW said...
Great looking coat! You did a wonderful job, and I adore the red buckle!
2/11/10 10:41 AM
Elke said...
Gorgeous coat! You did a great job & the fabric is lovely.
2/11/10 10:20 AM
Peacock Chic said...
wonderful job on the coat!! I totally overlooked this pattern before but your rendition has given me second thoughts. Love it!
2/11/10 10:08 AM
joanico said...
Really nice! I love the way the buckle makes it so special
2/11/10 9:54 AM
crazygrad said...
I like it! ANd that buckle is faboo!
2/11/10 9:48 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Simplicity 8826

photo
by: beanchor

Review
You Sew Girl Evening Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl Evening Bag Pattern

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Pleat Front Dress

Christine Jonson Pleat Front Dress

Buy Now
Other Gertie\'s Sultry Sheath

photo
by: rosiewedne...

Review