SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1097 (MISSES' COAT)

1 more reviews
Viewed 823 times 
Reviewed by:Ann Smith
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Ann Smithstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 348
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 383 people
patterns reviewed: 345
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/10/10 8:31 PM
Last Updated:2/10/10 8:35 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 15 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
DaisyEsq said...
Excellent review. The coat looks great.
2/10/10 8:51 PM
Barbara V said...
Oh...gorgeous! So glad to see this finally after hearing about it. It is truly wonderful in color, surface texture and style and my favorite part is the ruched collar/hood. Super job! - your kitty is cute.
2/10/10 10:53 PM
DorothyK said...
Spectacular. Although the fabric does detract from the lines of the pattern, it still works. I like the placket that goes the entire length of the coat. Looks great on you, too.
2/10/10 11:36 PM
ssssdeb said...
Actually I think the seam lines look really cool in your fabric. If you did match everything up you would not see the seam details at all - I think it worked out really well! Love it.
2/10/10 11:39 PM
lamstu said...
Great coat and love the fabric! I'm with ssssdeb that not matching the fabric motif works for this garment. My recent blouse has the same problem at CF (and it's got plenty of ease), so I was just reading about this in Roberta Carr's book (thanks Santa). She recommends swinging the CF line out from the straight grain - the longer/heavier the fabric, the more correction necessary. I'm pondering this idea...
2/11/10 0:22 AM
moushka said...
Gorgeous coat, Ann. Great pattern and you've done an outstanding job on it. The ruched hood is wonderful, very Ballets Russes 1910 exotic. Also very flattering.
2/11/10 0:50 AM
FreyaStark said...
Another fabulous and completely individual garment!
2/11/10 2:56 AM
marjenann said...
Another dazzler! I have this pattern, but unfortunately, not the fabulous fabric that you chose!!!
2/11/10 7:44 AM
jannw said...
Love your coat! and thank you for the fabric layout info..I;ve put off this coat because the fabric I intended to use was a half yard short..will try it now..
2/11/10 7:56 AM
Jane S said...
What a fabulous coat. Thanks so much for this review. I've been debating this pattern but I love seeing it in real life with better detail pics. Wonderful colors on you as well.
2/11/10 9:03 AM
Tere Sews said...
I sewed this pattern two times...in wool and in raincoat fabric. Thanks for the tip about tacking down the sleeve band. Now why didn't I think of that! My recommendation for others is to use a shorter zipper than recommended to give you sitting ease if you have a long commute. But if you walk any distance, the longer zipper provides protection against the wind. I didn't have any problem with the front band but have experienced this problem before when my interfacing shrunk during the application.
2/11/10 12:37 PM
Ann Smith said...
Tere Sews, perhaps the interfacing is the culprit. Thanks for that idea. As to the zipper, mine is 2 inches longer than called for but is a double opening one. That way I can open it from the bottom if necessary but have the longer coverage to keep closed.
2/11/10 4:51 PM
Modiste Madness said...
Wonderful coat and review. I always look forward to seeing your work.
2/11/10 10:24 PM
Leslie Bonner said...
Great coat, great fabric.
2/12/10 7:39 PM
sfshaza said...
Really striking coat, Ann. Thanks so much for that thorough review -- I plan to make this coat at some point and it helps to be forewarned about some of those issues. It's beautiful on you!
2/13/10 3:07 AM
psikelly said...
Great review, insights & photos!
3/21/10 5:41 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Sew Chic Cloche Hat Pattern (ln101)

Sew Chic Cloche Hat Pattern (ln101)

Buy Now
9 inch Bent Handle Scissors

9 inch Bent Handle Scissors

Buy Now
Butterick 5496

photo
by: Jgpea

Review