Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 1960 (Men's boxers from 1945) - Type:Mens - Underwear    printable version
Viewed 481 times
Review rated Very Helpful by 13 people   
Reviewed by:Peter in NYC
photo
About Peter in NYCstarstarstarstar
USA
Member since: 6/9/09
Reviews written: 67
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 120 people
patterns reviewed: 61
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/11/10 7:59 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
30 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
jilly cooper said...
love that waistband
2/11/10 8:01 AM
mollyshark said...
I am rolling at the comments with the pictures, particularly the scary one. Does look like instructions for major organ replacement! Great job. They look beautiful. Are they actually comfortable?
2/11/10 8:07 AM
AnneMarie60 said...
Interesting style for underwear--so detailed. I was surprised that the model on the pattern envelope holds a cigarette. Looks like you had fun with this project.
2/11/10 8:33 AM
halleyscomet said...
I'm speechless!
2/11/10 8:35 AM
Nancy Rhodes said...
Wow that certainly illustrates another era... special gratitude due for the photo of the envelop. Now I will need to inquire of my gentlemen pals boxers briefs or vintage?!
2/11/10 8:46 AM
no7262 said...
WOW! Very cool! Nora :)
2/11/10 8:52 AM
ingysoup said...
Wow flashbacks of my grandfather's underwear on the clothesline!!! But I wanna know if you were wearing loafers in the pictures???
2/11/10 9:11 AM
Sondra Leigh said...
These are SOO Clark Gable! Fantastic! Well done! Pucker schmucker, I say!
2/11/10 9:30 AM
colorkitten said...
great job! I have a couple of these patterns and I've just never gotten up the energy to tackle them -- because they wouldn't get worn. But they look like they were fun to make, so maybe one of these days I will!
2/11/10 9:56 AM
birdmcfarland said...
Neato! I was not aware that men's undies once looked like that. Nice abs too!
2/11/10 9:59 AM
Michele19 said...
I agree with HalleysComet.
2/11/10 10:09 AM
Sewliz said...
Fabulous! But aren't they more work than sewing a shirt?
2/11/10 10:11 AM
Peter in NYC said...
Almost, Liz. I'm never quite sure how to interpret "speechless...!" ;)
2/11/10 10:18 AM
vivianna said...
That waistband is fabulous. So retro, I love the forties fashion. You look like a matinee idol The doogie is just precious.
2/11/10 10:25 AM
li'l miss muffett said...
These really are amazing, so much work for a pair of britches! Worth it? Yes, I say! If men's undies can be beautiful.... I have a vintage woman's tap pant pattern that has a similar yoke but I don't remember what kind of closure it has, I must go look.
2/11/10 10:49 AM
Elona said...
What a find this pattern is, Peter, and how beautifully you made it up! I really enjoyed the shot of you doing your reps (such a nice hand weight!), and yes, I think Lana Turner's stunning shorts ensemble does have something in common...
2/11/10 11:48 AM
stretch queen said...
Very nice 40s gotchies....or however you spell that. Always inspiring. I think they should qualify as lingerie for men!!!
2/11/10 1:26 PM
mssewcrazy said...
How neat that this vintage men's pattern survived all these years and you sewed it up. One neat thing about this version is they will probably last forever since there's no elastic to die and send them to the trash.
2/11/10 1:51 PM
Paris75008 said...
That pattern is just so cool. I love vintage fashions and you've done a great job. It was worth all the work. Wish I could find a women's version, even though I don't have Lana's legs (sigh).
2/11/10 2:27 PM
SewLil said...
All the work for boxers! I was wondering, how do they compare, in comfort to contemporary mens boxers. These look like they hike up to far in the rear, whereas, nowadays the boxers are always really saggy. Do you think the back piece needs to be longer/larger?
2/11/10 2:38 PM
Peter in NYC said...
They're comfortable but the fit feels...different. As far as the rear, they're not what I'd call super-roomy; the pics make them look snugger than they are. I had the waist tighter for the photos than I'd wear them normally. When they're buttoned looser the shorts drop a bit so you don't get that snugness in the back. Thanks for comment everybody!
2/11/10 2:57 PM
JanieBee said...
Nice to hear that you are enjoying the vintage designs. They can be challenging. You are doing great work for a self-labelled beginner!
2/11/10 3:28 PM
FreyaStark said...
They're lovely. I hope you enjoy wearing them. If anyone else is interested in making their own vintage boxers, Lanetz Living has a copy of this pattern right now.
2/11/10 3:46 PM
Nancy K said...
I was wondering about the comfort too. They seem to be much higher than men wear them today. Beautiful workmanship. The envelope pictures are very funny. Great job on these.
2/11/10 5:32 PM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
BOOOO that everyone isn't welcome to enter the Lingerie Contest!! :( :( The little open "V" in the back...??
2/11/10 7:03 PM
DoggyGirl said...
Darn it. I showed this very same pattern to my husband, hoping he'd like it. His response was an emphatic "NO!". Double darn it, 'cause they are soooo cute!! You did a great job on them.
2/11/10 11:39 PM
fourkid said...
Love these. I have the pattern in my son's size and he wants me to make them up for him - it is on the "list". I am glad that they are easy - think that is one of the main things holding me up - I don't mind a lot of steps as long as they are easy steps.
2/12/10 7:59 AM
Mary A Hodge said...
Loved your slideshow. I liked seeing the close ups of the pattern instructions and the sewing details as you were making them.
2/12/10 12:04 PM
gsp1066 said...
How fab!
2/12/10 2:13 PM
LizzM26 said...
I like that you give every detail on your pictures. I love your blog. The boxers are very classy male underwear and flattering. I like the hole at the waist. Very stylish Peter...you must live in NYC! ;P
2/13/10 10:30 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

Burda 7942
photo
Review by lamstu on 9/2/09
Read Review

Salme Kimono Sleeve Dress Digital Pattern
Salme Kimono Sleeve Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Maria Denmark Pernille Pencil Dress Digital Pattern Size C
Maria Denmark Pernille Pencil Dress Digital Pattern Size C

Details
Price: $10.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 5144
photo
Review by mamakooz on 7/15/04
Read Review

The Whimsy Bag
The Whimsy Bag

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Daily News Bag Pattern
Sewing Workshop Daily News Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8346 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16 )
Vogue 8346 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $27.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1362 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Vogue 1362 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $32.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us