SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Simplicity 2258
In this video, you learn how to:
  • Use some of the basic tools
  • Choose fabric
  • Use patterns
  • Measure yourself for patterns
  • Trace and cut out the pattern
  • Lay out and cut out the pattern from fabric
  • Stitch together and press your skirt
You'll also learn about sewing machine features and pattern language and symbols.

Let Deepika demystify the process of sewing for you! Take this class!

Complete List of Videos

  1. Introduction and Tools
  2. Fabric Types
  3. What the Information on the Pattern Envelope Means
  4. Types of Patterns and What the Markings Mean
  5. Taking Body Measurements
  6. Tracing the Patterns and Understanding Markings
  7. Preparing the Fabric, Laying Out the Pattern Pieces, and Cutting Out the Fabric
  8. Getting to Know your Sewing Machine
  9. Sewing the Skirt
">Sewing Basics Online Sewing Class

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 3156 

9 more reviews
Viewed 1666 times 
Reviewed by:Rennie Ashby
photo

 
 
About Rennie Ashbystarstarstar
NC USA
Member since: 4/8/02
UnVerified member
Reviews written: 108
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 61 people
patterns reviewed: 84
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/14/04 5:53 PM
Last Updated:3/14/04 5:57 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    Suits / Separates    Pants    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
M.T. said... (2/28/06 6:26 PM) Reply
Thanks for the information regarding the use of Banrol. I would like to make a pair of gauchos by altering this pattern a bit. But, I don't want the waist to gather. I would like it to have a smooth appearance. ~ M.T.
Cambric Tea said... (5/9/05 10:20 AM) Reply
Wow, Rennie! Great find! You look great in all your 3156 pieces. Must. Have. Pattern. Now!
AuntieShel said... (3/15/04 1:11 PM) Reply
Wow, your pants look great. I have that "grandma" dread, too, but these pants definitely don't qualify. I'm short, with short legs, and have recently discovered that wide leg and flare leg pants, touching the floor, as you mentioned, do wonders for lengthening legs. Thank you for reviewing this pattern, I recently bought it and will definitely make it up now.
SewTabby said... (3/15/04 11:14 AM) Reply
Those pants look great on you and not "Grandma" at all!
AnneM said... (3/15/04 10:32 AM) Reply
I love that! Elastic waist pants, here I come! I think I will have to add this to my wish-list.
Debbie Spriggs said... (3/15/04 7:37 AM) Reply
Beautiful sewing, as always, Rennie! I especially like these pants! The fit is fabulous!
Annette H said... (3/15/04 4:47 AM) Reply
I don't know anybody over 30 who doesn'thave a tummy, so maybe we should accept them!Having said that, it's nice to know that this kind of pattern can sit so smoothly. Beautiful fit.
Levone said... (3/14/04 7:19 PM) Reply
Your pants and shirts look great. Thanks for doing this review as I have this pattern and plan on trying it soon.
Deepika said... (3/14/04 6:30 PM) Reply
Rennie, wow! Just look at the fit of those pants. Its just perfect! Love your tops also.
Danvillegirl said... (3/14/04 6:10 PM) Reply
Your pants look great. I love the purple tops as well, but the fit of the short sleeve version looks better. Looks like your scarf is remnants from the lovely skirt. Nice combinations.
retiredpagirl said... (3/14/04 6:09 PM) Reply
I am petite also, but would not have thought of wearing such a "full" pant . I really like them on you. If you have a tummy (who doesn't?), these pants hide it well. They look very good on you. :)
aperiolat said... (3/14/04 5:56 PM) Reply
beautiful pants! I love the color. I have a tummy also and love the idea on Banrol elastic. Thanks for the tip.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Class Details

Online Class
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Class Details

Other My Childhood Treasures

photo
by: HOWsMom

Review
Lekala Patterns 6131

photo
by: BirdyBooo

Review
Petite Plus 204 Pattern

Petite Plus 204 Pattern

Pattern Details
Jamie Christina Hooded Scarf Pattern (JC307HS)

Jamie Christina Hooded Scarf Pattern (JC307HS)

Pattern Details