SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 02-2010-122 (Striped Knit Top)

12 more reviews
Viewed 552 times 
Reviewed by:m1khaela
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About m1khaelastarstar
NY USA
Member since: 8/19/05
Reviews written: 66
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 31 people
patterns reviewed: 46
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/22/10 5:58 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 11 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Claire Dolman said...
I had the same problem with the enormous gaping neckline. I tried to fix it by running narrow round elastic through the binding, which fixed the neck whilst allowing for off-the-shoulder-sauciness if I was in the mood for it, but now the front of the top pulls upwards and makes little drapes at the centre-front. I'm on the verge of throwing it on the floor in a temper, but my jersey is printed with cute little apples which is stopping me. I was pretty disappointed with this pattern, which is a rare thing with Burda.
3/17/10 6:40 AM
m1khaela said...
It MIGHT be a good style for nursing in the original--I don't know how easy the neckline on my altered version would pull down!
3/2/10 7:39 AM
Christina Sonja said...
Cuuuute! You know, I traced this pattern too, but I was also worried about the wide neckline and exposed bra straps. Maybe it'll be a good style for nursing, too? (easy to pull the neckline down?)
3/2/10 0:05 AM
michalklimer said...
I love this top! It looks great on you!
2/25/10 9:25 AM
Raye Ann said...
beautiful top! great style and perfect fit. way to go!
2/24/10 1:42 PM
Paris75008 said...
Thanks for the helpful review, and especially your neckline woes and how you solved them. Great tip. Your top came out gorgeous.
2/23/10 1:20 PM
m1khaela said...
Thanks everyone! Yes, that painting is of me and my husband, it was a wedding gift from a cartoonist friend (we are both cartoonists as well).
2/23/10 7:36 AM
Passion4Sewing said...
I LOVE this top! Great info in your review. The twin stitching looks great, too.
2/23/10 7:32 AM
kerrynw said...
Great achievement, lovely top, well done!
2/23/10 6:19 AM
chicaem29 said...
Your top turned out great - congrats! I'm also a huge fan of that picture behind you of you and (I assume) your husband!
2/22/10 11:36 PM
Mermie said...
Excellent review and your top is so cute and looks great on you.
2/22/10 11:00 PM
sewing for fun said...
Thanks for another great & detailed review. I found an easier way to do the twin needle. I fuse Design plus double sided ultra soft fusible web to the underside where I want to stitch, then remove backing and turn over hem and fuse. It stabilizes knits enough for double needle hem and bastes in a quick step. I love sewing knits and I use this on every knit hem. I found it at: http://webstore.quiltropolis.net/stores_app/Browse_Item_Details.asp?Shopper_id=62452222152426245&Store_id=584&page_id=23&Item_ID=1038 Keep up the great reviews! I really enjoy them a learn a lot.
2/22/10 9:57 PM
colorkitten said...
came out great! you solved that neckline beautifully.
2/22/10 9:38 PM
kidmd said...
Beautiful and fabulous work!
2/22/10 9:35 PM
Ericaeli said...
This looks fabulous on you; the fit is perfect! I wish I looked so good when I was pregnant. I loved reading your review especially how you were able to get the pattern to fit so well.
2/22/10 9:33 PM
clgangi said...
Nice shirt! You look FANTASTIC! Congrats! :)
2/22/10 8:10 PM
Wino said...
Look how cute you look! Fantastic job.
2/22/10 7:49 PM
Emi1yKate said...
You look lovely!
2/22/10 7:44 PM
no7262 said...
Looks great! Nora :)
2/22/10 6:41 PM
portercs said...
Great job!
2/22/10 6:38 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Class Details

Online Class
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Class Details

McCall's 5871

photo
by: Artemisia ...

Review

Pattern

Self Drafted Pattern 41509-1002

photo
by: Trinity.

Review
SewBaby Petal Dress Pattern

SewBaby Petal Dress Pattern

More Info
Islander Sewing Systems - MyStyle Greetings

Islander Sewing Systems - MyStyle Greetings

More Info