SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 02-2010-122 (Striped Knit Top)

12 more reviews
Viewed 552 times 
Reviewed by:m1khaela
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About m1khaelastarstar
NY USA
Member since: 8/19/05
Reviews written: 69
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 32 people
patterns reviewed: 49
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/22/10 5:58 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 11 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Claire Dolman said...
I had the same problem with the enormous gaping neckline. I tried to fix it by running narrow round elastic through the binding, which fixed the neck whilst allowing for off-the-shoulder-sauciness if I was in the mood for it, but now the front of the top pulls upwards and makes little drapes at the centre-front. I'm on the verge of throwing it on the floor in a temper, but my jersey is printed with cute little apples which is stopping me. I was pretty disappointed with this pattern, which is a rare thing with Burda.
3/17/10 6:40 AM
m1khaela said...
It MIGHT be a good style for nursing in the original--I don't know how easy the neckline on my altered version would pull down!
3/2/10 7:39 AM
Christina Sonja said...
Cuuuute! You know, I traced this pattern too, but I was also worried about the wide neckline and exposed bra straps. Maybe it'll be a good style for nursing, too? (easy to pull the neckline down?)
3/2/10 0:05 AM
michalklimer said...
I love this top! It looks great on you!
2/25/10 9:25 AM
Raye Ann said...
beautiful top! great style and perfect fit. way to go!
2/24/10 1:42 PM
Paris75008 said...
Thanks for the helpful review, and especially your neckline woes and how you solved them. Great tip. Your top came out gorgeous.
2/23/10 1:20 PM
m1khaela said...
Thanks everyone! Yes, that painting is of me and my husband, it was a wedding gift from a cartoonist friend (we are both cartoonists as well).
2/23/10 7:36 AM
Passion4Sewing said...
I LOVE this top! Great info in your review. The twin stitching looks great, too.
2/23/10 7:32 AM
kerrynw said...
Great achievement, lovely top, well done!
2/23/10 6:19 AM
chicaem29 said...
Your top turned out great - congrats! I'm also a huge fan of that picture behind you of you and (I assume) your husband!
2/22/10 11:36 PM
Mermie said...
Excellent review and your top is so cute and looks great on you.
2/22/10 11:00 PM
sewing for fun said...
Thanks for another great & detailed review. I found an easier way to do the twin needle. I fuse Design plus double sided ultra soft fusible web to the underside where I want to stitch, then remove backing and turn over hem and fuse. It stabilizes knits enough for double needle hem and bastes in a quick step. I love sewing knits and I use this on every knit hem. I found it at: http://webstore.quiltropolis.net/stores_app/Browse_Item_Details.asp?Shopper_id=62452222152426245&Store_id=584&page_id=23&Item_ID=1038 Keep up the great reviews! I really enjoy them a learn a lot.
2/22/10 9:57 PM
colorkitten said...
came out great! you solved that neckline beautifully.
2/22/10 9:38 PM
kidmd said...
Beautiful and fabulous work!
2/22/10 9:35 PM
Ericaeli said...
This looks fabulous on you; the fit is perfect! I wish I looked so good when I was pregnant. I loved reading your review especially how you were able to get the pattern to fit so well.
2/22/10 9:33 PM
clgangi said...
Nice shirt! You look FANTASTIC! Congrats! :)
2/22/10 8:10 PM
Wino said...
Look how cute you look! Fantastic job.
2/22/10 7:49 PM
Emi1yKate said...
You look lovely!
2/22/10 7:44 PM
no7262 said...
Looks great! Nora :)
2/22/10 6:41 PM
portercs said...
Great job!
2/22/10 6:38 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Self Drafted Pattern 259307-1001

photo
by: oldfashion...

Review
Simplicity 2497

photo
by: bennomusik

Review
Sewn Square One Small Change Pattern

Sewn Square One Small Change Pattern

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Taper Pant & Wide Leg Pant

Christine Jonson Taper Pant & Wide Leg Pant

Buy Now