SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 3503 (Misses Day or Evening Knit)

101 more reviews
Viewed 797 times 
Reviewed by:ClaireEmily
photo

 
 
About ClaireEmilystarstarstar
WA United States
Member since: 9/28/08
Reviews written: 81
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 33 people
patterns reviewed: 75
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2009
Posted on:2/12/10 9:04 PM
Last Updated:2/12/10 9:08 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
See other patterns in this category: Formalwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
margk said...
Claire, I don't think this dress is as bad as you think! I would like to see the sleeves shortened and a little more fitted - the rest of the dress is great on you from your photos.
2/19/10 6:42 PM
FreyaStark said...
The colour is great, and the dress looks quite good from the front (although maybe the sleeves could be a bit shorter and neater). It's certainly wearable. If you made it again, you'd benefit from what you learned making it this time.
2/13/10 6:05 PM
mary in FL said...
I think this dressed turned out very well, and it looks better with a smooth (upper) undergarment (without a seam across the girls).
2/13/10 5:56 PM
sewtime said...
I love the dress!!
2/13/10 4:07 PM
halleyscomet said...
I think the dress fits you rather well and looks great on you.
2/13/10 12:06 PM
Kayabunga said...
I think you're having "sewing this dress" fatigue, girl ... the dress looks fab on you! My figure is similar to yours and I find it helps to keep all the visual interest away from my lower half. Cover up the black boots and then look at the photo again and you'll see how great this dress really looks on you. If you don't mind me saying so ... try wearing nondescript shoes and a fun little pendent to keep the eye up the next time you wear this dress. The black boots drag the eye right down to your hips and that's what I'm always try to avoid . :) I'm with you on polyester.
2/13/10 10:06 AM
Ripple Dandelion said...
I'm with those who say they like it! The neckline shape is very pretty, and of course the color is great. My thought is that perhaps reducing the sleeve volume might make the whole dress seem sleeker? That is, with a little casing with a strip of elastic run through? Could just be my personal preference, but I wonder if controlling the sleeve might help you feel better in it?
2/13/10 6:47 AM
ClaireEmily said...
Thanks so much for your feedback everyone. Really appreciated =)
2/13/10 6:01 AM
valerie sews said...
Clare I think your dress is lovely on you, especially the neck and bust area. I think the secret of making this view work is to have a snug waistband and to take some gathers out of the skirt, as ladybegood has said. If I made this view again I would still interface the waistband but add an invisible zipper at the back of the dress to make getting it on and off easier. ( I struggle even with my lack of bust) ps if you add a zipper stabilise the area first.
2/13/10 2:37 AM
ladybegood said...
Although I'm not happy that you aren't 100% pleased with your dress, I'm kind of glad to hear you say so because I was starting to think I was being too picky! Still, it is a lovely color on you, and worth wearing for that. Btw, I did find that it made a difference to take it in at the waist and then flare back out at the hips. Since the waist is well below the midriff, I think you could still do this without having to fuss with that piece.
2/13/10 1:01 AM
Janie Viers said...
I think that the only thing wrong with the dress on you is the proportions. It should be about 10 inches longer to allow the skirt to have movement. As Stacy and Clinton are wont to say, try to make your legs look asl ong as possible. If you have a contrast color in that fabric, I might be tempted to add a black band inset into the lower part of the skirt and narrow black topstitched to the sleeves. I think it looks great (except for the above mentioned proportion problem)
2/12/10 11:35 PM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
I think the dress looks nice on you, too. NICE family!
2/12/10 11:32 PM
Mary Nanna said...
I think this dress looks amazing on you - very flattering indeed! The gathers, the v neck, the colour, the full skirt really do you lots of favours. Truly this is a success, maybe you just need time to get over the pain of sewing it.
2/12/10 10:34 PM
Time4me said...
I actually think the dress looks good on you. Thanks for the thorough review.
2/12/10 10:28 PM
sewing for fun said...
Thanks so much for the FBA illustrations! They are a great help! I also find I need to add significant length to the bodice pieces for FBAs. I think your dress might be fine if you started with a smaller size and did a larger FBA with the added length.
2/12/10 10:23 PM
carnelian said...
Thanks for telling the ins and outs of the truth about.
2/12/10 9:40 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Class Details

Online Class
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Class Details

Vogue Patterns 8442

photo
by: prttynpnk

Review
Vogue Patterns 9574 oop

photo
by: SJ Kurtz

Review
Sewing Workshop Eureka Top & Skirt

Sewing Workshop Eureka Top & Skirt

More Info
Bluegingerdoll The Betsy Pencil Skirt Paper Pattern

Bluegingerdoll The Betsy Pencil Skirt Paper Pattern

More Info