SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Decades of Style> 5003 

4 more reviews
Viewed 626 times 
Reviewed by:JillyBe
photo

 
 
About JillyBestarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 1/20/10
Reviews written: 85
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 56 people
patterns reviewed: 70
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/12/10 10:08 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Peggy said...
What a gorgeous blouse. You did great work. Congratulations
2/12/10 10:12 PM
MarshaG. said...
Jilly - great blouse, especially when you haven't sewn for many years! I have this pattern, though I haven't made it yet......so many patterns, and so little time! I also would like to have an option for a longer sleeve, and to that end, purchased a dress pattern from Eva Dress - the 1957 Claire McCardell dress, which has a sleeve cut in one with the bodice, and a seam down the length of the sleeve. I think, with a muslin or two to "morph" the two pattens together, a longer sleeve would be possible......I like set-in sleeves, but I don't think they would look right with the rest of the blouse.
2/12/10 10:27 PM
JillyBe said...
Thank you Peggy :) Marsha that's exactly what I was thinking regarding inset sleeves, but I'm also concerned about the potential for a bunchy, unflattering look of of a one/w/the/bodice sleeve too, so thanks for the Eva Dress suggestion! I'll keep my eyes open for a morphable pattern. The bow on that Claire McCardell dress is pretty scary; it would be nice to find a pattern I could use on its own, too (or something cheap enough to justify buying it just for the sleeve....yeah, I'm frugal lol)
2/12/10 11:02 PM
Ann Smith said...
Really pretty blouse. Great job, lovely fabric. Thanks for reminding me about this pattern which awaits me in my stash.
2/13/10 1:48 AM
Ann Smith said...
Really pretty blouse. Great job, lovely fabric. Thanks for reminding me about this pattern which awaits me in my stash.
2/13/10 1:52 AM
Jolet said...
I love this very very much. What a style and such a result after so many years of not sewing! I think you'll receive a lot of compliments about this blouse!
2/13/10 8:18 AM
Beek said...
What a great vintaage blouse. I love the fabric, too.
2/13/10 4:11 PM
katie lynne said...
Gorgeous blouse. You've done a lovely job of recreating the vintage aspect with your fabric and buttons. I'll bet you feel like a diva in it!
2/13/10 5:14 PM
JillyBe said...
Thank you for the encouraging comments, everyone :). I can't wait to wear it - right now it's too darned cold to go out in public in anything other than long sleeves (preferably multiple layers), but soon.......
2/13/10 10:45 PM
Clareew said...
Beautiful blouse, well done for a comeback project. I loved your review and feel the advice about leaving the pleats until last is excellent.
2/14/10 11:42 AM
3HoursPast said...
Wonderful review, and I am so deeee-lighted to see a picture of this blouse finished. I have to get my mitts on the pattern.
3/2/10 7:12 AM
Time4me said...
I missed this review! What a beautiful blouse. So vintage and lovely.
3/11/10 6:43 PM
marec said...
What a beautiful blouse. Another pattern I'll have to get ;-) Thanks for a great review.
5/6/10 4:22 PM
Sue Parrott said...
I love what you did with this blouse. The fabric is perfect! Is this pattern still available on thier site? Just wondering as I'd love to make it!
6/2/11 10:03 PM
marthamyers said...
What a great blouse, Jilly. I would have never guessed you had returned to sewing so recently. I love your style choices.
12/1/11 11:19 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

No Pattern Used Online Tutorial

photo
by: CathyWeeks

Review
Jamie Christina Miz Mozelle Dress Paper Pattern

Jamie Christina Miz Mozelle Dress Paper Pattern

Buy Now
Victoria Jones Collection 309 Womens' Long Dress

Victoria Jones Collection 309 Womens' Long Dress

Buy Now