SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Decades of Style> 5003 

4 more reviews
Viewed 633 times 
Reviewed by:JillyBe
photo

 
 
About JillyBestarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 1/20/10
Reviews written: 85
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 57 people
patterns reviewed: 70
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/12/10 10:08 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
marthamyers said...
What a great blouse, Jilly. I would have never guessed you had returned to sewing so recently. I love your style choices.
12/1/11 11:19 PM
Sue Parrott said...
I love what you did with this blouse. The fabric is perfect! Is this pattern still available on thier site? Just wondering as I'd love to make it!
6/2/11 10:03 PM
marec said...
What a beautiful blouse. Another pattern I'll have to get ;-) Thanks for a great review.
5/6/10 4:22 PM
Time4me said...
I missed this review! What a beautiful blouse. So vintage and lovely.
3/11/10 6:43 PM
3HoursPast said...
Wonderful review, and I am so deeee-lighted to see a picture of this blouse finished. I have to get my mitts on the pattern.
3/2/10 7:12 AM
Clareew said...
Beautiful blouse, well done for a comeback project. I loved your review and feel the advice about leaving the pleats until last is excellent.
2/14/10 11:42 AM
JillyBe said...
Thank you for the encouraging comments, everyone :). I can't wait to wear it - right now it's too darned cold to go out in public in anything other than long sleeves (preferably multiple layers), but soon.......
2/13/10 10:45 PM
katie lynne said...
Gorgeous blouse. You've done a lovely job of recreating the vintage aspect with your fabric and buttons. I'll bet you feel like a diva in it!
2/13/10 5:14 PM
Beek said...
What a great vintaage blouse. I love the fabric, too.
2/13/10 4:11 PM
Jolet said...
I love this very very much. What a style and such a result after so many years of not sewing! I think you'll receive a lot of compliments about this blouse!
2/13/10 8:18 AM
Ann Smith said...
Really pretty blouse. Great job, lovely fabric. Thanks for reminding me about this pattern which awaits me in my stash.
2/13/10 1:52 AM
Ann Smith said...
Really pretty blouse. Great job, lovely fabric. Thanks for reminding me about this pattern which awaits me in my stash.
2/13/10 1:48 AM
JillyBe said...
Thank you Peggy :) Marsha that's exactly what I was thinking regarding inset sleeves, but I'm also concerned about the potential for a bunchy, unflattering look of of a one/w/the/bodice sleeve too, so thanks for the Eva Dress suggestion! I'll keep my eyes open for a morphable pattern. The bow on that Claire McCardell dress is pretty scary; it would be nice to find a pattern I could use on its own, too (or something cheap enough to justify buying it just for the sleeve....yeah, I'm frugal lol)
2/12/10 11:02 PM
MarshaG. said...
Jilly - great blouse, especially when you haven't sewn for many years! I have this pattern, though I haven't made it yet......so many patterns, and so little time! I also would like to have an option for a longer sleeve, and to that end, purchased a dress pattern from Eva Dress - the 1957 Claire McCardell dress, which has a sleeve cut in one with the bodice, and a seam down the length of the sleeve. I think, with a muslin or two to "morph" the two pattens together, a longer sleeve would be possible......I like set-in sleeves, but I don't think they would look right with the rest of the blouse.
2/12/10 10:27 PM
Peggy said...
What a gorgeous blouse. You did great work. Congratulations
2/12/10 10:12 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Class Details

Online Class
More Knits
More Knits

Class Details

Vogue Patterns V8379

photo
by: Nenewhis

Review
Sew Chic Beatrice Pocket Dress Pattern (ln1310)

Sew Chic Beatrice Pocket Dress Pattern (ln1310)

More Info
SewBaby The Sleeve Saver Bib Pattern

SewBaby The Sleeve Saver Bib Pattern

More Info