SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Decades of Style> 5003 

4 more reviews
Viewed 626 times 
Reviewed by:JillyBe
photo

 
 
About JillyBestarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 1/20/10
Reviews written: 85
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 56 people
patterns reviewed: 70
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/12/10 10:08 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Budo Bear Designs


Asian Designs
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Peggy said...
What a gorgeous blouse. You did great work. Congratulations
2/12/10 10:12 PM
MarshaG. said...
Jilly - great blouse, especially when you haven't sewn for many years! I have this pattern, though I haven't made it yet......so many patterns, and so little time! I also would like to have an option for a longer sleeve, and to that end, purchased a dress pattern from Eva Dress - the 1957 Claire McCardell dress, which has a sleeve cut in one with the bodice, and a seam down the length of the sleeve. I think, with a muslin or two to "morph" the two pattens together, a longer sleeve would be possible......I like set-in sleeves, but I don't think they would look right with the rest of the blouse.
2/12/10 10:27 PM
JillyBe said...
Thank you Peggy :) Marsha that's exactly what I was thinking regarding inset sleeves, but I'm also concerned about the potential for a bunchy, unflattering look of of a one/w/the/bodice sleeve too, so thanks for the Eva Dress suggestion! I'll keep my eyes open for a morphable pattern. The bow on that Claire McCardell dress is pretty scary; it would be nice to find a pattern I could use on its own, too (or something cheap enough to justify buying it just for the sleeve....yeah, I'm frugal lol)
2/12/10 11:02 PM
Ann Smith said...
Really pretty blouse. Great job, lovely fabric. Thanks for reminding me about this pattern which awaits me in my stash.
2/13/10 1:48 AM
Ann Smith said...
Really pretty blouse. Great job, lovely fabric. Thanks for reminding me about this pattern which awaits me in my stash.
2/13/10 1:52 AM
Jolet said...
I love this very very much. What a style and such a result after so many years of not sewing! I think you'll receive a lot of compliments about this blouse!
2/13/10 8:18 AM
Beek said...
What a great vintaage blouse. I love the fabric, too.
2/13/10 4:11 PM
katie lynne said...
Gorgeous blouse. You've done a lovely job of recreating the vintage aspect with your fabric and buttons. I'll bet you feel like a diva in it!
2/13/10 5:14 PM
JillyBe said...
Thank you for the encouraging comments, everyone :). I can't wait to wear it - right now it's too darned cold to go out in public in anything other than long sleeves (preferably multiple layers), but soon.......
2/13/10 10:45 PM
Clareew said...
Beautiful blouse, well done for a comeback project. I loved your review and feel the advice about leaving the pleats until last is excellent.
2/14/10 11:42 AM
3HoursPast said...
Wonderful review, and I am so deeee-lighted to see a picture of this blouse finished. I have to get my mitts on the pattern.
3/2/10 7:12 AM
Time4me said...
I missed this review! What a beautiful blouse. So vintage and lovely.
3/11/10 6:43 PM
marec said...
What a beautiful blouse. Another pattern I'll have to get ;-) Thanks for a great review.
5/6/10 4:22 PM
Sue Parrott said...
I love what you did with this blouse. The fabric is perfect! Is this pattern still available on thier site? Just wondering as I'd love to make it!
6/2/11 10:03 PM
marthamyers said...
What a great blouse, Jilly. I would have never guessed you had returned to sewing so recently. I love your style choices.
12/1/11 11:19 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Simplicity 2281

photo
by: sewtofit

Review
Butterick B4919

photo
by: sweetfrnch...

Review
You Sew Girl Adult Hats Pattern

You Sew Girl Adult Hats Pattern

Buy Now
Petite Plus 502 Pattern

Petite Plus 502 Pattern

Buy Now