Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Decades of Style: 5003 thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 610 times 4 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
Reviewed by:JillyBe
photo
About JillyBestarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 1/20/10
Reviews written: 82
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 53 people
patterns reviewed: 67
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/12/10 10:08 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Peggy said...
What a gorgeous blouse. You did great work. Congratulations
2/12/10 10:12 PM
MarshaG. said...
Jilly - great blouse, especially when you haven't sewn for many years! I have this pattern, though I haven't made it yet......so many patterns, and so little time! I also would like to have an option for a longer sleeve, and to that end, purchased a dress pattern from Eva Dress - the 1957 Claire McCardell dress, which has a sleeve cut in one with the bodice, and a seam down the length of the sleeve. I think, with a muslin or two to "morph" the two pattens together, a longer sleeve would be possible......I like set-in sleeves, but I don't think they would look right with the rest of the blouse.
2/12/10 10:27 PM
JillyBe said...
Thank you Peggy :) Marsha that's exactly what I was thinking regarding inset sleeves, but I'm also concerned about the potential for a bunchy, unflattering look of of a one/w/the/bodice sleeve too, so thanks for the Eva Dress suggestion! I'll keep my eyes open for a morphable pattern. The bow on that Claire McCardell dress is pretty scary; it would be nice to find a pattern I could use on its own, too (or something cheap enough to justify buying it just for the sleeve....yeah, I'm frugal lol)
2/12/10 11:02 PM
Ann Smith said...
Really pretty blouse. Great job, lovely fabric. Thanks for reminding me about this pattern which awaits me in my stash.
2/13/10 1:48 AM
Ann Smith said...
Really pretty blouse. Great job, lovely fabric. Thanks for reminding me about this pattern which awaits me in my stash.
2/13/10 1:52 AM
Jolet said...
I love this very very much. What a style and such a result after so many years of not sewing! I think you'll receive a lot of compliments about this blouse!
2/13/10 8:18 AM
Beek said...
What a great vintaage blouse. I love the fabric, too.
2/13/10 4:11 PM
katie lynne said...
Gorgeous blouse. You've done a lovely job of recreating the vintage aspect with your fabric and buttons. I'll bet you feel like a diva in it!
2/13/10 5:14 PM
JillyBe said...
Thank you for the encouraging comments, everyone :). I can't wait to wear it - right now it's too darned cold to go out in public in anything other than long sleeves (preferably multiple layers), but soon.......
2/13/10 10:45 PM
Clareew said...
Beautiful blouse, well done for a comeback project. I loved your review and feel the advice about leaving the pleats until last is excellent.
2/14/10 11:42 AM
3HoursPast said...
Wonderful review, and I am so deeee-lighted to see a picture of this blouse finished. I have to get my mitts on the pattern.
3/2/10 7:12 AM
Time4me said...
I missed this review! What a beautiful blouse. So vintage and lovely.
3/11/10 6:43 PM
marec said...
What a beautiful blouse. Another pattern I'll have to get ;-) Thanks for a great review.
5/6/10 4:22 PM
Sue Parrott said...
I love what you did with this blouse. The fabric is perfect! Is this pattern still available on thier site? Just wondering as I'd love to make it!
6/2/11 10:03 PM
marthamyers said...
What a great blouse, Jilly. I would have never guessed you had returned to sewing so recently. I love your style choices.
12/1/11 11:19 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $29.00)
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Butterick 4021
photo
Review by JennaM on 3/19/10
Read Review

Colette Patterns Crepe Pattern (1013)
Colette Patterns Crepe Pattern (1013)

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2364 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Simplicity 2364 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 2866 Misses' Tops
photo
Review by NancyMA on 1/2/14
Read Review

Blank Slate Pristine Swing Dress Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Pristine Swing Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simple Things Lula Loop Skirt Digital Pattern
Simple Things Lula Loop Skirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Shirred Top & Princess Wrap
Christine Jonson Shirred Top & Princess Wrap

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Classic Sport Shirt Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Men's Classic Sport Shirt Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us