SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Cynthia Guffey Patterns> 2010 (princess seamed top)

Viewed 720 times 
Reviewed by:Lee Ann Hawkins
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Lee Ann Hawkinsstar
IN USA
Member since: 1/11/03
Reviews written: 36
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 18 people
patterns reviewed: 28
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/14/10 9:11 PM
Last Updated:2/15/10 3:25 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 32 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
24 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
patma said...
A perfect fit!
2/14/10 9:26 PM
Kathy in NM said...
A very nice fit and the colors look great on you! I like the professional look of these tops. I might take a look at this pattern. Thanks for a great review! Love your husbands photo too, how cute!
2/14/10 9:33 PM
sew2006 said...
Thank you for a wonderfully detailed review. All your tops look and fit great.
2/14/10 9:44 PM
DaisyEsq said...
Beautifully fit blouse!
2/14/10 10:31 PM
LaurieEm said...
Thank you for this new review. It is encouraging and inspiring me to pull out one of Cynthia's patterns and get to work. Cynthia's presentations are just about life-changing. Lee Ann, you have earned a promotion to Advanced.
2/14/10 11:18 PM
jilly cooper said...
these look beautiful with the lining, so professional.
2/15/10 6:39 AM
JEF said...
Very beautiful and very helpful reviews. I'm curious - have you ever tried doing one of these in a down-and-dirty way without all the handwork? I'm wondering just how much the handwork adds to the finished look (which is wonderful).
2/15/10 8:00 AM
portercs said...
Very beautiful job! I appreciate all the couture work involved and hope that my own sewing skills will advance to that some day.
2/15/10 8:12 AM
Rebecca D said...
This is exactly the sort of sewing that I aspire to - I am so impressed. Your tops are perfect jewels. I wish Cynthia had her 2010 schedule up on her site. I so want to study with her.
2/15/10 8:39 AM
Red Curtain said...
Your writeup really shows a great appreciation for Cynthia's patterns, methods and your own philosophy in slow delightful sewing too. Great writeup and wonderful blouses.
2/15/10 9:37 AM
Lisa Laree said...
Lee Ann, these tops are beautiful and elegant! Thanks so much for sharing them like this!
2/15/10 9:54 AM
Woolygal said...
Im so excited. I plan on taking a few fitting classes with Cynthia at the Worchester Ma. expo in April. Thanks for the review.
2/15/10 9:56 AM
Patti B said...
What lovely blouses and your work is just as lovely.
2/15/10 10:31 AM
Lee Ann Hawkins said...
thanks everyone! In reply to JEF--yes, I have thought about that--just 'down and dirty'. The problem I encounter is threefold: you will have princess seams that would need to have all the raw edges finished somehow or the inside would be a mess 2) you would have to use facings, or use a bias binding on the neckline and armscye (without the piping)-- which would likely take me just as long 3) the center back seam is shaped--kind of an "S" curve. It is actually faster for me to insert a hand-picked zipper than fight with machine inserting a regular or invisible zipper on a long curved back seam. I have wondered about trying this with a heavy stable knit--wouldn't have to finish the seams inside, and could likely bind the neck and armhole without too much trouble. You could use contrast binding. May try this, JEF!
2/15/10 11:28 AM
Doris W. in TN said...
Great review and you look wonderful in the top! You may have convinced me to buy the pattern.
2/15/10 11:46 AM
lorenakitty said...
Fabulous tops and fabulous sewing skills too, your fitting is fantastic. Thank you for introducing this line to me through a great review, I've already bookmarked 2 patterns and am really looking forward to learning some new techniques. Bravo!
2/15/10 12:22 PM
AnneMarie60 said...
Wonderful job on these lovely blouses. Excellent review. Love the pic of your hubby!
2/15/10 2:29 PM
marthamyers said...
Your work is great! I'll bet even CG would agree. I have this pattern and simply must use it now. Thanks for the review.
2/15/10 4:24 PM
threadbearer said...
DH is a wonderful addition to the whole wonderful presentation. Keep him!
2/15/10 5:27 PM
Danvillegirl said...
I have the earlier version of this top. I enjoyed viewing all of your versions and really like the shoulder princess style.
2/15/10 7:53 PM
Jane S said...
Beautiful tops and wonderful review. I agree about Cynthia. Years ago I was intimidated by what I saw as her perfectionism but as my sewing and fitting skills improved I saw the wisdom of her approach. You are making custom clothing, after all. The colors are wonderful on you and the linings make me smile
2/15/10 9:05 PM
sideseams said...
This was a wonderful review. I have really gotten a lot of tips from it. Your tops are just perfect in every way.
2/16/10 1:02 PM
catwoman7 said...
Ooh! I love the colors you chose. The teal outfit also looks smashing, even without accessories. Wonderfully inspiring!
3/13/10 12:13 PM
danalou said...
i just attended a full day class with cynthia yesterday and am overjoyed with new knowledge. your review was incredibly helpful to me. I just bought the pattern and am anxious to make a muslin.
7/24/11 6:08 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Vogue Patterns 8742

photo
by: Gecko

Review
Christine Jonson Double Collar Princess Jacket

Christine Jonson Double Collar Princess Jacket

Buy Now
Islander Sewing Systems Moebius Scarf Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Moebius Scarf Pattern

Buy Now