Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Loes Hinse Designs: 5401 (Weekender Bag) thumbsup - Type:Accessories    printable version
Viewed 1482 times 8 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 1 people   
Reviewed by:jp beth
photo
About jp bethstar
CA USA
Member since: 3/13/04
Reviews written: 1
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/16/04 1:29 AM
Last Updated:3/18/04 8:02 AM


See other patterns in this category: Accessories    
Available for sale on PR: $12.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $12.00     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
AuntieShel said...
Great-looking bag! I've got to try this one.
3/16/04 11:56 AM
Karen Bowers said...
wow! that's drop dead gorgeous! i just wish the photo was a little bigger, but wow what a bag you have.
3/16/04 7:02 PM
jp beth said...
I'm still trying to make the picture bigger so try back- jp beth
3/18/04 7:05 AM
Peggy L said...
Awesome! If she doesn't love it, I'll send you my address!!!
3/18/04 2:05 PM
Leslie Bonner said...
I also sewed the bottom in the wrong way. It still fits but gives the bag a different shape. I used a chenille upholstery fabric which shredded badly when I ripped it out. Danged if I didn't put it in wrong again. I threw it in the wastebasket but went back and retrieved it. I couldn't let a simple bag beat me. After I ripped out the bottom a 2nd time, it was so unraveled I had to cut a new bottom. Fortunately, I had extra fabric. I still am confused about the tab and the sewn pleat on the sides. If I followed her directions, it didn't look like the pattern photo. I did my own thing. It's a nice looking bag but a little too saggy for me. I took it as a carry-on on an overseas trip and you can get a lot of stuff in there. I had planned to make it again but I am not so sure I will again as it is too big for an everyday bag. I also experimented with stiffening the bottom but then it stands too far away from the body when you have it over your arm. There is an inside zippered pocket on one side but I added one on the other side as well to balance it out.
6/15/04 9:46 PM
Leslie Bonner said...
I also sewed the bottom in the wrong way. It still fits but gives the bag a different shape. I used a chenille upholstery fabric which shredded badly when I ripped it out. Danged if I didn't put it in wrong again. I threw it in the wastebasket but went back and retrieved it. I couldn't let a simple bag beat me. After I ripped out the bottom a 2nd time, it was so unraveled I had to cut a new bottom. Fortunately, I had extra fabric. I still am confused about the tab and the sewn pleated on the sides. If I followed her directions, it didn't look like the pattern photo. I did my own thing. It's a nice looking bag but a little too saggy for me. I took it as a carry-on on an overseas trip and you can get a lot of stuff in there. I had planned to make it again but I am not so sure I will again as it is too big for an everyday bag. I also experimented with stiffening the bottom but then it stands too far away from the body when you have it over your arm.
6/15/04 9:50 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Understanding Sheer Fabrics
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Understanding Sheer Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Vogue Patterns 8488 MISSES' DRESS
photo
Review by FruGirl on 11/12/10
Read Review

Oliver S Fairy Tale Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )
Oliver   S Fairy Tale Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Jump Rope Dress Digital Pattern( Size 4-8)
Oliver + S Jump Rope Dress Digital Pattern( Size 4-8)

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2823
photo
Review by Lorri on 12/31/08
Read Review

Victory Ava Paper Pattern
Victory Ava Paper Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Day Bag Pattern
You Sew Girl Day Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6931 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )
McCalls 6931 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8924 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )
Vogue 8924 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )

Details
Price: $22.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us