SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1165 (Misses' Shirt)

3 more reviews
Viewed 925 times 
Reviewed by:knitmachinequeen
photo

 
 
About knitmachinequeenstarstarstarstar
MI USA
Member since: 9/3/07
Reviews written: 148
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 69 people
patterns reviewed: 121
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/18/10 10:24 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 29 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $27.50 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $27.50 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
34 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Longarm said...
Your blouse sounds just great and the pattern is certainly very appealing. None of your Picassa pictures would click open for me, however.
2/18/10 10:59 PM
Patti B said...
I've been waiting for a review of this blouse -- I love it! Nice to know that all those pleats aren't too much over the bust.
2/18/10 11:03 PM
Longarm said...
Oops, now I can see your pictures! Great save you did with the back, and it makes the top that much more interesting. Good job! Thanks for posting this review.
2/18/10 11:04 PM
Terri A said...
Really nice!
2/18/10 11:30 PM
michellep74 said...
Gorgeous blouse! I had my doubts when I saw this pattern that this would work on a curvy figure, but it looks fabulous on you!
2/19/10 0:02 AM
Kayseri said...
Oh boy what a terrific shirt. I think it looks much better than Vogue's version.
2/19/10 1:12 AM
Sew tell me said...
Love this! You look fab.
2/19/10 1:20 AM
BillieJean said...
This is just gorgeous. Thanks so much for this review. I have this pattern and can't wait to get at it. You've done a beautiful job.
2/19/10 5:38 AM
camaro1952 said...
I love this blouse!!! It looks so good on you. I can't wait to make it myself. Great job.
2/19/10 6:20 AM
ElizabethDee said...
I love the changes you made, particularly to the back. Your shirt looks fantastic on you.
2/19/10 8:29 AM
fryman said...
A work of art! you should be proud.
2/19/10 8:38 AM
Christas said...
Your blouse is absolutely beautiful! You did an excellent job!
2/19/10 9:26 AM
Bonnie123 said...
Love it! Nice job.
2/19/10 11:03 AM
waltzqueen said...
Kudos for sewing a blouse with so many pleats!! I think straight vertical pleats don't work if you have curves, but I agree that Sandra has made a pleated shirt that looks terrific on real figures! You look smashing in this shirt, and I love the turned up collar. These are great for me and my long long neck. Beautiful work!!
2/19/10 11:46 AM
newmama said...
You're version is gorgeous, much nicer than the pattern photo! I also love what you did with the back, it adds balance to the detail on the front. This is one of the most beautiful button-up shirts I have ever seen!
2/19/10 12:08 PM
ggf2005 said...
Fabulous! Look at Vogue 1061 and you can see where those tiny pleats came from. You gotta love Sandra, she takes something great to a whole nutha' level.
2/19/10 1:26 PM
pt6356 said...
Love this! Your modifications have made this pattern sing. Now I have another Vogue to add to my list :-)
2/19/10 3:39 PM
Barbara V said...
Beautiful blouse! It looks fabulous on you. Nice work with all those pleats and modifications for a perfect fit.
2/19/10 4:13 PM
Victoria B said...
Love this shirt! You look sharp in it (wink)!
2/19/10 9:19 PM
Athene said...
Oh my this shirt is TDF. You look fabulous.
2/19/10 11:47 PM
TessKwiltz said...
Thanks for the detailed review! I bought this pattern because I love pinpleats, but was a little intimidated to start it. Love what you did with the back.
2/20/10 9:47 AM
JETrinity said...
Oh, my goodness. You did a great job with all those pleats.
2/20/10 10:46 AM
marjenann said...
I just love it!
2/20/10 4:42 PM
4u2cme said...
I love the modification you made. I will pick up the pattern soon. Great blouse to add to your wardrobe.
2/22/10 5:08 PM
HolleyM said...
That was a very clever idea for the back!
3/14/10 10:06 AM
psikelly said...
Great photos! Especially liked the addition of tucks to the back of the shirt.
3/21/10 5:59 PM
darcidoodle said...
I'm SO glad you posted a review of this shirt! I'm working on it right now, and it's good to know that the back would be a pup tent without the added tucks. It adds a very stunning design detail! Elegant solution. LOVE it.
4/14/10 6:33 PM
CarolynGM said...
Fabulous shirt. Great idea to add the tucks to the back. Your revised length is very flattering.
5/7/10 7:05 PM
Ann Smith said...
Beautiful on you and love the added back tucks. I'm working on this right now but missed your review. So I struggled with the collar and the extra piece until I looked back at the cutting layout! Silly extra piece. Did you have trouble with your tucks puckering? Mine are but I've decided I can live with it as a design element. My fabric is also 100% cotton but may be lighter weight than yours.
7/7/10 5:22 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Outstanding.
7/20/10 12:35 PM
solosmocker said...
This looks great on you and I like what you did to the back and the length. Great job!
2/17/11 2:51 PM
CorgieMom said...
Great job!! I love your changes! It's absolutely adorable. This is one for my to-do list! Thanks for sharing.
3/10/12 10:18 AM
Aless said...
I saw this shirt in the latest Threads mag (on a small-ish woman...) but absolutely loved the 'look'. On checking the pattern site I saw that I HAD seen this pattern before but overlooked it as not right for me (same size as you). Now I have completely fallen for it. Your review is wonderful, and the alterations you made (esp. the back- thanks for that!) give me hope. You do generously built women proud!
6/10/12 8:10 PM
Sue Parrott said...
Your changes make this blouse exceptional! Well done!
3/22/14 12:32 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

McCall's 8990

photo
by: Heatherriq...

Review
TAILORED JACKET - A CD Book by Kenneth King

TAILORED JACKET - A CD Book by Kenneth King

Buy Now
SewBaby Poncho Pizazz Pattern

SewBaby  Poncho Pizazz Pattern

Buy Now