SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1165 (Misses' Shirt)

3 more reviews
Viewed 941 times 
Reviewed by:knitmachinequeen
photo

 
 
About knitmachinequeenstarstarstarstar
MI USA
Member since: 9/3/07
Reviews written: 150
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 70 people
patterns reviewed: 123
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/18/10 10:24 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 29 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $27.50 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $27.50 Pattern Details

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
34 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Sue Parrott said...
Your changes make this blouse exceptional! Well done!
3/22/14 12:32 PM
Aless said...
I saw this shirt in the latest Threads mag (on a small-ish woman...) but absolutely loved the 'look'. On checking the pattern site I saw that I HAD seen this pattern before but overlooked it as not right for me (same size as you). Now I have completely fallen for it. Your review is wonderful, and the alterations you made (esp. the back- thanks for that!) give me hope. You do generously built women proud!
6/10/12 8:10 PM
CorgieMom said...
Great job!! I love your changes! It's absolutely adorable. This is one for my to-do list! Thanks for sharing.
3/10/12 10:18 AM
solosmocker said...
This looks great on you and I like what you did to the back and the length. Great job!
2/17/11 2:51 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Outstanding.
7/20/10 12:35 PM
Ann Smith said...
Beautiful on you and love the added back tucks. I'm working on this right now but missed your review. So I struggled with the collar and the extra piece until I looked back at the cutting layout! Silly extra piece. Did you have trouble with your tucks puckering? Mine are but I've decided I can live with it as a design element. My fabric is also 100% cotton but may be lighter weight than yours.
7/7/10 5:22 PM
CarolynGM said...
Fabulous shirt. Great idea to add the tucks to the back. Your revised length is very flattering.
5/7/10 7:05 PM
darcidoodle said...
I'm SO glad you posted a review of this shirt! I'm working on it right now, and it's good to know that the back would be a pup tent without the added tucks. It adds a very stunning design detail! Elegant solution. LOVE it.
4/14/10 6:33 PM
psikelly said...
Great photos! Especially liked the addition of tucks to the back of the shirt.
3/21/10 5:59 PM
HolleyM said...
That was a very clever idea for the back!
3/14/10 10:06 AM
4u2cme said...
I love the modification you made. I will pick up the pattern soon. Great blouse to add to your wardrobe.
2/22/10 5:08 PM
marjenann said...
I just love it!
2/20/10 4:42 PM
JETrinity said...
Oh, my goodness. You did a great job with all those pleats.
2/20/10 10:46 AM
TessKwiltz said...
Thanks for the detailed review! I bought this pattern because I love pinpleats, but was a little intimidated to start it. Love what you did with the back.
2/20/10 9:47 AM
Athene said...
Oh my this shirt is TDF. You look fabulous.
2/19/10 11:47 PM
Victoria B said...
Love this shirt! You look sharp in it (wink)!
2/19/10 9:19 PM
Barbara V said...
Beautiful blouse! It looks fabulous on you. Nice work with all those pleats and modifications for a perfect fit.
2/19/10 4:13 PM
pt6356 said...
Love this! Your modifications have made this pattern sing. Now I have another Vogue to add to my list :-)
2/19/10 3:39 PM
ggf2005 said...
Fabulous! Look at Vogue 1061 and you can see where those tiny pleats came from. You gotta love Sandra, she takes something great to a whole nutha' level.
2/19/10 1:26 PM
newmama said...
You're version is gorgeous, much nicer than the pattern photo! I also love what you did with the back, it adds balance to the detail on the front. This is one of the most beautiful button-up shirts I have ever seen!
2/19/10 12:08 PM
waltzqueen said...
Kudos for sewing a blouse with so many pleats!! I think straight vertical pleats don't work if you have curves, but I agree that Sandra has made a pleated shirt that looks terrific on real figures! You look smashing in this shirt, and I love the turned up collar. These are great for me and my long long neck. Beautiful work!!
2/19/10 11:46 AM
Bonnie123 said...
Love it! Nice job.
2/19/10 11:03 AM
Christas said...
Your blouse is absolutely beautiful! You did an excellent job!
2/19/10 9:26 AM
fryman said...
A work of art! you should be proud.
2/19/10 8:38 AM
ElizabethDee said...
I love the changes you made, particularly to the back. Your shirt looks fantastic on you.
2/19/10 8:29 AM
camaro1952 said...
I love this blouse!!! It looks so good on you. I can't wait to make it myself. Great job.
2/19/10 6:20 AM
BillieJean said...
This is just gorgeous. Thanks so much for this review. I have this pattern and can't wait to get at it. You've done a beautiful job.
2/19/10 5:38 AM
Sew tell me said...
Love this! You look fab.
2/19/10 1:20 AM
Kayseri said...
Oh boy what a terrific shirt. I think it looks much better than Vogue's version.
2/19/10 1:12 AM
michellep74 said...
Gorgeous blouse! I had my doubts when I saw this pattern that this would work on a curvy figure, but it looks fabulous on you!
2/19/10 0:02 AM
Terri A said...
Really nice!
2/18/10 11:30 PM
Longarm said...
Oops, now I can see your pictures! Great save you did with the back, and it makes the top that much more interesting. Good job! Thanks for posting this review.
2/18/10 11:04 PM
Patti B said...
I've been waiting for a review of this blouse -- I love it! Nice to know that all those pleats aren't too much over the bust.
2/18/10 11:03 PM
Longarm said...
Your blouse sounds just great and the pattern is certainly very appealing. None of your Picassa pictures would click open for me, however.
2/18/10 10:59 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Class Details

Online Class
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Class Details

Ottobre Design Magazine 04-2011-9

photo
by: wendlesue

Review
You Sew Girl You Sew Girl Book

photo
by: lucylal

Review
SewBaby Snap Happy Diaper Covers Pattern

SewBaby Snap Happy Diaper Covers Pattern

More Info
SewBaby Reversible Skirt Pattern

SewBaby Reversible Skirt Pattern

More Info