SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1165 (Misses' Shirt)

3 more reviews
Viewed 944 times 
Reviewed by:knitmachinequeen
photo

 
 
About knitmachinequeenstarstarstarstar
MI USA
Member since: 9/3/07
Reviews written: 150
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 71 people
patterns reviewed: 123
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/18/10 10:24 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 29 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $27.50 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $27.50 Pattern Details

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
34 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Sue Parrott said...
Your changes make this blouse exceptional! Well done!
3/22/14 12:32 PM
Aless said...
I saw this shirt in the latest Threads mag (on a small-ish woman...) but absolutely loved the 'look'. On checking the pattern site I saw that I HAD seen this pattern before but overlooked it as not right for me (same size as you). Now I have completely fallen for it. Your review is wonderful, and the alterations you made (esp. the back- thanks for that!) give me hope. You do generously built women proud!
6/10/12 8:10 PM
CorgieMom said...
Great job!! I love your changes! It's absolutely adorable. This is one for my to-do list! Thanks for sharing.
3/10/12 10:18 AM
solosmocker said...
This looks great on you and I like what you did to the back and the length. Great job!
2/17/11 2:51 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Outstanding.
7/20/10 12:35 PM
Ann Smith said...
Beautiful on you and love the added back tucks. I'm working on this right now but missed your review. So I struggled with the collar and the extra piece until I looked back at the cutting layout! Silly extra piece. Did you have trouble with your tucks puckering? Mine are but I've decided I can live with it as a design element. My fabric is also 100% cotton but may be lighter weight than yours.
7/7/10 5:22 PM
CarolynGM said...
Fabulous shirt. Great idea to add the tucks to the back. Your revised length is very flattering.
5/7/10 7:05 PM
darcidoodle said...
I'm SO glad you posted a review of this shirt! I'm working on it right now, and it's good to know that the back would be a pup tent without the added tucks. It adds a very stunning design detail! Elegant solution. LOVE it.
4/14/10 6:33 PM
psikelly said...
Great photos! Especially liked the addition of tucks to the back of the shirt.
3/21/10 5:59 PM
HolleyM said...
That was a very clever idea for the back!
3/14/10 10:06 AM
4u2cme said...
I love the modification you made. I will pick up the pattern soon. Great blouse to add to your wardrobe.
2/22/10 5:08 PM
marjenann said...
I just love it!
2/20/10 4:42 PM
JETrinity said...
Oh, my goodness. You did a great job with all those pleats.
2/20/10 10:46 AM
TessKwiltz said...
Thanks for the detailed review! I bought this pattern because I love pinpleats, but was a little intimidated to start it. Love what you did with the back.
2/20/10 9:47 AM
Athene said...
Oh my this shirt is TDF. You look fabulous.
2/19/10 11:47 PM
Victoria B said...
Love this shirt! You look sharp in it (wink)!
2/19/10 9:19 PM
Barbara V said...
Beautiful blouse! It looks fabulous on you. Nice work with all those pleats and modifications for a perfect fit.
2/19/10 4:13 PM
pt6356 said...
Love this! Your modifications have made this pattern sing. Now I have another Vogue to add to my list :-)
2/19/10 3:39 PM
ggf2005 said...
Fabulous! Look at Vogue 1061 and you can see where those tiny pleats came from. You gotta love Sandra, she takes something great to a whole nutha' level.
2/19/10 1:26 PM
newmama said...
You're version is gorgeous, much nicer than the pattern photo! I also love what you did with the back, it adds balance to the detail on the front. This is one of the most beautiful button-up shirts I have ever seen!
2/19/10 12:08 PM
waltzqueen said...
Kudos for sewing a blouse with so many pleats!! I think straight vertical pleats don't work if you have curves, but I agree that Sandra has made a pleated shirt that looks terrific on real figures! You look smashing in this shirt, and I love the turned up collar. These are great for me and my long long neck. Beautiful work!!
2/19/10 11:46 AM
Bonnie123 said...
Love it! Nice job.
2/19/10 11:03 AM
Christas said...
Your blouse is absolutely beautiful! You did an excellent job!
2/19/10 9:26 AM
fryman said...
A work of art! you should be proud.
2/19/10 8:38 AM
ElizabethDee said...
I love the changes you made, particularly to the back. Your shirt looks fantastic on you.
2/19/10 8:29 AM
camaro1952 said...
I love this blouse!!! It looks so good on you. I can't wait to make it myself. Great job.
2/19/10 6:20 AM
BillieJean said...
This is just gorgeous. Thanks so much for this review. I have this pattern and can't wait to get at it. You've done a beautiful job.
2/19/10 5:38 AM
Sew tell me said...
Love this! You look fab.
2/19/10 1:20 AM
Kayseri said...
Oh boy what a terrific shirt. I think it looks much better than Vogue's version.
2/19/10 1:12 AM
michellep74 said...
Gorgeous blouse! I had my doubts when I saw this pattern that this would work on a curvy figure, but it looks fabulous on you!
2/19/10 0:02 AM
Terri A said...
Really nice!
2/18/10 11:30 PM
Longarm said...
Oops, now I can see your pictures! Great save you did with the back, and it makes the top that much more interesting. Good job! Thanks for posting this review.
2/18/10 11:04 PM
Patti B said...
I've been waiting for a review of this blouse -- I love it! Nice to know that all those pleats aren't too much over the bust.
2/18/10 11:03 PM
Longarm said...
Your blouse sounds just great and the pattern is certainly very appealing. None of your Picassa pictures would click open for me, however.
2/18/10 10:59 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Vogue Patterns 1315

photo
by: sarah0725

Review
Petite Plus 603 Pattern

Petite Plus 603 Pattern

Buy Now
Bluegingerdoll Billie Jean Paper Pattern

Bluegingerdoll Billie Jean Paper Pattern

Buy Now