Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 1165 (Misses' Shirt) - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 882 times 3 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 29 people   
Reviewed by:knitmachinequeen
photo
About knitmachinequeenstarstarstarstar
MI USA
Member since: 9/3/07
Reviews written: 144
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 68 people
patterns reviewed: 117
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/18/10 10:24 PM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $27.50 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $27.50     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
34 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Longarm said...
Your blouse sounds just great and the pattern is certainly very appealing. None of your Picassa pictures would click open for me, however.
2/18/10 10:59 PM
Patti B said...
I've been waiting for a review of this blouse -- I love it! Nice to know that all those pleats aren't too much over the bust.
2/18/10 11:03 PM
Longarm said...
Oops, now I can see your pictures! Great save you did with the back, and it makes the top that much more interesting. Good job! Thanks for posting this review.
2/18/10 11:04 PM
Terri A said...
Really nice!
2/18/10 11:30 PM
michellep74 said...
Gorgeous blouse! I had my doubts when I saw this pattern that this would work on a curvy figure, but it looks fabulous on you!
2/19/10 0:02 AM
Kayseri said...
Oh boy what a terrific shirt. I think it looks much better than Vogue's version.
2/19/10 1:12 AM
Sew tell me said...
Love this! You look fab.
2/19/10 1:20 AM
BillieJean said...
This is just gorgeous. Thanks so much for this review. I have this pattern and can't wait to get at it. You've done a beautiful job.
2/19/10 5:38 AM
camaro1952 said...
I love this blouse!!! It looks so good on you. I can't wait to make it myself. Great job.
2/19/10 6:20 AM
ElizabethDee said...
I love the changes you made, particularly to the back. Your shirt looks fantastic on you.
2/19/10 8:29 AM
fryman said...
A work of art! you should be proud.
2/19/10 8:38 AM
Christas said...
Your blouse is absolutely beautiful! You did an excellent job!
2/19/10 9:26 AM
Bonnie123 said...
Love it! Nice job.
2/19/10 11:03 AM
waltzqueen said...
Kudos for sewing a blouse with so many pleats!! I think straight vertical pleats don't work if you have curves, but I agree that Sandra has made a pleated shirt that looks terrific on real figures! You look smashing in this shirt, and I love the turned up collar. These are great for me and my long long neck. Beautiful work!!
2/19/10 11:46 AM
newmama said...
You're version is gorgeous, much nicer than the pattern photo! I also love what you did with the back, it adds balance to the detail on the front. This is one of the most beautiful button-up shirts I have ever seen!
2/19/10 12:08 PM
ggf2005 said...
Fabulous! Look at Vogue 1061 and you can see where those tiny pleats came from. You gotta love Sandra, she takes something great to a whole nutha' level.
2/19/10 1:26 PM
pt6356 said...
Love this! Your modifications have made this pattern sing. Now I have another Vogue to add to my list :-)
2/19/10 3:39 PM
Barbara V said...
Beautiful blouse! It looks fabulous on you. Nice work with all those pleats and modifications for a perfect fit.
2/19/10 4:13 PM
Victoria B said...
Love this shirt! You look sharp in it (wink)!
2/19/10 9:19 PM
Athene said...
Oh my this shirt is TDF. You look fabulous.
2/19/10 11:47 PM
TessKwiltz said...
Thanks for the detailed review! I bought this pattern because I love pinpleats, but was a little intimidated to start it. Love what you did with the back.
2/20/10 9:47 AM
JETrinity said...
Oh, my goodness. You did a great job with all those pleats.
2/20/10 10:46 AM
marjenann said...
I just love it!
2/20/10 4:42 PM
4u2cme said...
I love the modification you made. I will pick up the pattern soon. Great blouse to add to your wardrobe.
2/22/10 5:08 PM
HolleyM said...
That was a very clever idea for the back!
3/14/10 10:06 AM
psikelly said...
Great photos! Especially liked the addition of tucks to the back of the shirt.
3/21/10 5:59 PM
darcidoodle said...
I'm SO glad you posted a review of this shirt! I'm working on it right now, and it's good to know that the back would be a pup tent without the added tucks. It adds a very stunning design detail! Elegant solution. LOVE it.
4/14/10 6:33 PM
CarolynGM said...
Fabulous shirt. Great idea to add the tucks to the back. Your revised length is very flattering.
5/7/10 7:05 PM
Ann Smith said...
Beautiful on you and love the added back tucks. I'm working on this right now but missed your review. So I struggled with the collar and the extra piece until I looked back at the cutting layout! Silly extra piece. Did you have trouble with your tucks puckering? Mine are but I've decided I can live with it as a design element. My fabric is also 100% cotton but may be lighter weight than yours.
7/7/10 5:22 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Outstanding.
7/20/10 12:35 PM
solosmocker said...
This looks great on you and I like what you did to the back and the length. Great job!
2/17/11 2:51 PM
CorgieMom said...
Great job!! I love your changes! It's absolutely adorable. This is one for my to-do list! Thanks for sharing.
3/10/12 10:18 AM
Aless said...
I saw this shirt in the latest Threads mag (on a small-ish woman...) but absolutely loved the 'look'. On checking the pattern site I saw that I HAD seen this pattern before but overlooked it as not right for me (same size as you). Now I have completely fallen for it. Your review is wonderful, and the alterations you made (esp. the back- thanks for that!) give me hope. You do generously built women proud!
6/10/12 8:10 PM
Sue Parrott said...
Your changes make this blouse exceptional! Well done!
3/22/14 12:32 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

Simplicity 4032
photo
Review by zombieamel... on 10/23/11
Read Review

Salme Flouce Top Digital Pattern
Salme Flouce Top Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Rosetta Bag Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Rosetta Bag Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 8531
photo
Review by Mamselle M... on 6/15/09
Read Review

Victory Nicola Paper Pattern
Victory Nicola Paper Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Tahoe Pants Pattern
Sewing Workshop Tahoe Pants Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1909 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Simplicity 1909 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 5840 Pattern( Size XS-S-M-L-XL )
Simplicity 5840 Pattern( Size XS-S-M-L-XL )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us