SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 8683 (millennium top)

1 more reviews
Viewed 2329 times 
Reviewed by:drsue
photo

 
 
About drsuestarstarstarstar
Member since: 11/11/03
Reviews written: 169
Sewing skills:Beginner
Favored by: 184 people
patterns reviewed: 152
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/17/04 1:28 PM
Last Updated:8/15/04 7:42 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
MaryBeth said...
Beautiful top! I'd love to see it on you.
3/17/04 1:33 PM
Liana said...
Very cute top! Thanks for the review.
3/17/04 1:56 PM
Melody said...
What a great top! Now I'll look for the current version.
3/17/04 2:31 PM
Leslie in Austin said...
AHA! So *you* are the one who got that fabric. I tried to order that gorgeous fabric for exactly that top (in my shameless attempt at copying Ann Smith's fab-o creation), but no-o-o-o. Sold out in the blink of an eye. Anyhow, your top turned out absolutely beautifully!!
3/17/04 3:12 PM
Gigi Louis said...
Beautiful! Ha, see what I get for never, ever looking at Simplicity in the past? I had to wait 5 years to get the remake! I may shamelessly copy you - I have a pleated EOS leopard-print onionskin in blue. ;-)
3/17/04 4:25 PM
drsue said...
Thanks you guys. Gigi I must say after making this that I am so impressed that you were able to alter it! Talk about confusing pieces! I waiting to see how you solve the hem issue with this pleated fabric. Leslie: this was one of the few times I got in right as she was posting some great fabrics. Usually I'm left looking at sold out notices.
3/17/04 7:22 PM
Mel.J said...
This looks great!
3/17/04 7:32 PM
Schnauzer said...
Gorgeous top drsue.Lovely choice of fabric.
3/17/04 9:22 PM
SouthernStitch said...
Great top! I have this same fabric and was thinking flowing skirt. Now I may reconsider that! Love it!
3/17/04 11:13 PM
Kim Winson said...
what a fabulous contemporary top. I earmarked the updated pattern after Gigi reviewed it. I have a black stretch fabric that was waiting for it's inspiration. this is it!
3/18/04 0:04 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Very nice top and I too like the fabric. I purchased some EOS fabric, very similar to this but I think I need to try a different top than the one I had in mind. This top makes this interesting fabric even more interesting. Thanks for the review.
3/18/04 5:59 AM
Debbie Spriggs said...
Gorgeous! I have the updated version of this ready to cut out. It looks lovely!
3/18/04 7:50 AM
PVA said...
What a neat job & beautiful result! I think that pattern was drafted exactly for your figure! Thanks for the review -- You got it just right!
8/15/04 7:53 PM
Katharine in BXL said...
Wow! What a top. Glad you could just turn & stitch instead of fussing with facings. They sound wrong for this style anyway. I hope they bring this pattern back.
8/16/04 4:12 AM
cindyann said...
I love that top! Thanks!
8/16/04 7:34 AM
lornakismet said...
Dr. Sue, I admire your style. Your choice of line and color. -LornaKismet (Lorna A.)
6/9/06 11:37 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

BurdaStyle Downloadable 10/2012 #132 - S

photo
by: norie crea...

Review
Islander Sewing Systems Men's Easy Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Easy Shirt Pattern

Buy Now
Paradiso Designs Tiny Handbag Pattern

Paradiso Designs Tiny Handbag Pattern

Buy Now