Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 8683 (millennium top) - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 2328 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
Reviewed by:drsue
photo
About drsuestarstarstarstar
Member since: 11/11/03
Reviews written: 169
Sewing skills:Beginner
Favored by: 184 people
patterns reviewed: 152
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/17/04 1:28 PM
Last Updated:8/15/04 7:42 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
MaryBeth said...
Beautiful top! I'd love to see it on you.
3/17/04 1:33 PM
Liana said...
Very cute top! Thanks for the review.
3/17/04 1:56 PM
Melody said...
What a great top! Now I'll look for the current version.
3/17/04 2:31 PM
Leslie in Austin said...
AHA! So *you* are the one who got that fabric. I tried to order that gorgeous fabric for exactly that top (in my shameless attempt at copying Ann Smith's fab-o creation), but no-o-o-o. Sold out in the blink of an eye. Anyhow, your top turned out absolutely beautifully!!
3/17/04 3:12 PM
Gigi Louis said...
Beautiful! Ha, see what I get for never, ever looking at Simplicity in the past? I had to wait 5 years to get the remake! I may shamelessly copy you - I have a pleated EOS leopard-print onionskin in blue. ;-)
3/17/04 4:25 PM
drsue said...
Thanks you guys. Gigi I must say after making this that I am so impressed that you were able to alter it! Talk about confusing pieces! I waiting to see how you solve the hem issue with this pleated fabric. Leslie: this was one of the few times I got in right as she was posting some great fabrics. Usually I'm left looking at sold out notices.
3/17/04 7:22 PM
Mel.J said...
This looks great!
3/17/04 7:32 PM
Schnauzer said...
Gorgeous top drsue.Lovely choice of fabric.
3/17/04 9:22 PM
SouthernStitch said...
Great top! I have this same fabric and was thinking flowing skirt. Now I may reconsider that! Love it!
3/17/04 11:13 PM
Kim Winson said...
what a fabulous contemporary top. I earmarked the updated pattern after Gigi reviewed it. I have a black stretch fabric that was waiting for it's inspiration. this is it!
3/18/04 0:04 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Very nice top and I too like the fabric. I purchased some EOS fabric, very similar to this but I think I need to try a different top than the one I had in mind. This top makes this interesting fabric even more interesting. Thanks for the review.
3/18/04 5:59 AM
Debbie Spriggs said...
Gorgeous! I have the updated version of this ready to cut out. It looks lovely!
3/18/04 7:50 AM
PVA said...
What a neat job & beautiful result! I think that pattern was drafted exactly for your figure! Thanks for the review -- You got it just right!
8/15/04 7:53 PM
Katharine in BXL said...
Wow! What a top. Glad you could just turn & stitch instead of fussing with facings. They sound wrong for this style anyway. I hope they bring this pattern back.
8/16/04 4:12 AM
cindyann said...
I love that top! Thanks!
8/16/04 7:34 AM
lornakismet said...
Dr. Sue, I admire your style. Your choice of line and color. -LornaKismet (Lorna A.)
6/9/06 11:37 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

Vogue Patterns 8712 misses pants
photo
Review by acmena on 4/17/14
Read Review

Liesl + Co. Men's Metro Shirt Digital Pattern
Liesl + Co. Men's Metro Shirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Cake Patterns Hummingbird Top Digital Pattern
Cake Patterns Hummingbird Top Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $9.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 3536 6 made easy
photo
Review by Mary W on 11/24/07
Read Review

Favorite Things Sleep Well Pattern
Favorite Things Sleep Well Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

J Stern Designs Top with two collars and a Peplum Pattern
J Stern Designs Top with two collars and a Peplum Pattern

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3956 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3956 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3925 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3925 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us