SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5974 

88 more reviews
Viewed 1335 times 
Reviewed by:ClaireEmily
photo

 
 
About ClaireEmilystarstarstar
WA United States
Member since: 9/28/08
Reviews written: 81
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 33 people
patterns reviewed: 75
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2010
Posted on:2/19/10 4:17 AM
Last Updated:5/29/10 6:15 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 30 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
30 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
teagg said...
Wow! This looks great on you and is, with the extra comments & measurements, one of the best reviews I've read. Thank you. Extremely helpful! Regards, Gillian
1/20/12 6:27 AM
MareeAlison said...
Very late comment! Sorry. But I was just looking for reviews of this pattern and yours is really helpful because I'm a similar size :) Thanks for the update that is really helpful. I always put off making dresses with bodices because they are too short and I don't know how much to add so you've helped a lot. Thanks. I think the dress is really flattering and both look great on you.
6/12/11 8:40 PM
KathleenS said...
The fit of your green dress is fantastic. Well done.
6/22/10 6:38 AM
Michele Demko Murphy said...
Great review, especially the fit info - thanks! Nice work!
5/30/10 7:50 AM
SpinningJenny said...
Great dress on you, and terrific fabric choice!
5/29/10 10:39 PM
FreyaStark said...
Fabulous. The dress looks great in that fabric, and the fit is perfect. It's nice to see you trying prints for a change! Tessuti would no doubt be interested in seeing your creation - why not send them a photo?
5/29/10 6:57 PM
marec said...
I love this version with the "salad dressing" fabric!
5/29/10 9:47 AM
BJ1400 said...
Love your green dress! It looks great on you.
5/29/10 7:54 AM
katharin said...
You found a beautiful fabric for this wonderful dress that fits you to perfection. You look great.
5/29/10 6:24 AM
Jan711 said...
Your dress fits you beautifully and you look great in it. Thank you for your wonderful review. I purchased the pattern based on your list of features that this pattern offers. Your information regarding the size you made and how it fits your measurements is especially helpful. I hope you will write many more reviews.
4/25/10 12:09 PM
Jane S said...
You look wonderful in this dress. I have it in my collection and you are inspiring me to move it up in the queue.
4/11/10 2:37 PM
becca a said...
What a lovely, flattering, and comfortable looking dress. I will have to make this one when summer gets to Vermont.
2/20/10 8:55 AM
lyndle said...
Your dress looks fab. I am so impressed. Thanks for the really helpful review too.
2/20/10 2:30 AM
Fredette said...
Looks great!!
2/20/10 0:06 AM
margk said...
FABULOUS!
2/19/10 6:43 PM
FreyaStark said...
It looks great on you. Well done. You must make more.
2/19/10 5:34 PM
Mary Nanna said...
fabulous job, you look great - really great - I can see I am going to have to give this pattern a try! For knits with a lot of crosswise stretch I do half my usual FBA - not that I'm an expert on this matter but I find that works for me. I still have to do an FBA though otherwise the fabric pulls too tightly in a most unbecoming fashion!
2/19/10 2:08 PM
RLL said...
Flattering is an understatement. You look so thin and as JanJan said, it IS your perfect little black dress.
2/19/10 1:41 PM
ladybegood said...
Thanks for the review! I had similar problems with Simplicity 3503 and was thinking this pattern might be a more flattering alternative, but I was nervous about being disappointed agin. Your review now has me convinced!
2/19/10 1:21 PM
Christas said...
Beautiful dress...... such a very flattering style on you! You have gotten a perfect fit and you have sewn it so nicely!
2/19/10 1:12 PM
Tez said...
Lovely dress and a great fit!
2/19/10 1:06 PM
Renren said...
You have sewn a lot of really nice things, so much so that I instantly recognize you in the gallery, but you have really taken this dress to the TOP! It is lovely and it looks totally customized for you (and it is, of course!). Wow!!! And I like the way you've accesorized it in the photo. Perfection!
2/19/10 12:26 PM
JanJanB said...
Oh, so thats what the perfect black dress looks like. :) I've been looking for a great dress pattern and you just cinched it. Thanks for the very informative review. I'm with everybody else - more please.
2/19/10 11:50 AM
Red Curtain said...
By golly, I think you've just made the perfect dress!
2/19/10 10:57 AM
nicegirl said...
What a beautiful dress! It is really flattering on you.
2/19/10 8:38 AM
JTink said...
I've had this pattern for a year and just haven't done anything with it. I love the fact that you did the scoop neck. Seems everything today is v-neck. It was interesting to hear how you dealt with the low waist issue. I'm just the reverse, high waisted. I'm going to go dig that pattern back out and give it another look. You did a wonderful job...
2/19/10 8:04 AM
DreinPA said...
Oh make more!! You've come so far in a year to get that fit. A little shorter though next time 'round- show off those legs while you can.
2/19/10 7:35 AM
moushka said...
Terrific, flattering dress, and very helpful review. Do make more. I think the bust area looks good. Once you've got those adjustments made, you'll be amazed at how quickly you can put it together.
2/19/10 7:06 AM
Rebecca D said...
What a great review and thanks for including your measurements. This is extraordinarily helpful. The dress looks great and I think you should make several more.
2/19/10 6:37 AM
Sew4Fun said...
You look fabulous in this dress. The shape is so flattering. You definitely need more. :)
2/19/10 4:54 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Understanding Wool Fabrics
Understanding Wool Fabrics

Register

Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Ottobre Design Magazine 03-2011-21

photo
by: A Beginner...

Review
McCall's 6697

photo
by: norsk

Review
DRESS LINES - A CD Book by Kenneth King

DRESS LINES - A CD Book by Kenneth King

Buy Now
Shapes Three Fold Vest Pattern

Shapes Three Fold Vest Pattern

Buy Now