SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5974 

88 more reviews
Viewed 1333 times 
Reviewed by:ClaireEmily
photo

 
 
About ClaireEmilystarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 9/28/08
Reviews written: 81
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 33 people
patterns reviewed: 75
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2010
Posted on:2/19/10 4:17 AM
Last Updated:5/29/10 6:15 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 30 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
30 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Sew4Fun said...
You look fabulous in this dress. The shape is so flattering. You definitely need more. :)
2/19/10 4:54 AM
Rebecca D said...
What a great review and thanks for including your measurements. This is extraordinarily helpful. The dress looks great and I think you should make several more.
2/19/10 6:37 AM
moushka said...
Terrific, flattering dress, and very helpful review. Do make more. I think the bust area looks good. Once you've got those adjustments made, you'll be amazed at how quickly you can put it together.
2/19/10 7:06 AM
DreinPA said...
Oh make more!! You've come so far in a year to get that fit. A little shorter though next time 'round- show off those legs while you can.
2/19/10 7:35 AM
JTink said...
I've had this pattern for a year and just haven't done anything with it. I love the fact that you did the scoop neck. Seems everything today is v-neck. It was interesting to hear how you dealt with the low waist issue. I'm just the reverse, high waisted. I'm going to go dig that pattern back out and give it another look. You did a wonderful job...
2/19/10 8:04 AM
nicegirl said...
What a beautiful dress! It is really flattering on you.
2/19/10 8:38 AM
Red Curtain said...
By golly, I think you've just made the perfect dress!
2/19/10 10:57 AM
JanJanB said...
Oh, so thats what the perfect black dress looks like. :) I've been looking for a great dress pattern and you just cinched it. Thanks for the very informative review. I'm with everybody else - more please.
2/19/10 11:50 AM
Renren said...
You have sewn a lot of really nice things, so much so that I instantly recognize you in the gallery, but you have really taken this dress to the TOP! It is lovely and it looks totally customized for you (and it is, of course!). Wow!!! And I like the way you've accesorized it in the photo. Perfection!
2/19/10 12:26 PM
Tez said...
Lovely dress and a great fit!
2/19/10 1:06 PM
Christas said...
Beautiful dress...... such a very flattering style on you! You have gotten a perfect fit and you have sewn it so nicely!
2/19/10 1:12 PM
ladybegood said...
Thanks for the review! I had similar problems with Simplicity 3503 and was thinking this pattern might be a more flattering alternative, but I was nervous about being disappointed agin. Your review now has me convinced!
2/19/10 1:21 PM
RLL said...
Flattering is an understatement. You look so thin and as JanJan said, it IS your perfect little black dress.
2/19/10 1:41 PM
Mary Nanna said...
fabulous job, you look great - really great - I can see I am going to have to give this pattern a try! For knits with a lot of crosswise stretch I do half my usual FBA - not that I'm an expert on this matter but I find that works for me. I still have to do an FBA though otherwise the fabric pulls too tightly in a most unbecoming fashion!
2/19/10 2:08 PM
FreyaStark said...
It looks great on you. Well done. You must make more.
2/19/10 5:34 PM
margk said...
FABULOUS!
2/19/10 6:43 PM
Fredette said...
Looks great!!
2/20/10 0:06 AM
lyndle said...
Your dress looks fab. I am so impressed. Thanks for the really helpful review too.
2/20/10 2:30 AM
becca a said...
What a lovely, flattering, and comfortable looking dress. I will have to make this one when summer gets to Vermont.
2/20/10 8:55 AM
Jane S said...
You look wonderful in this dress. I have it in my collection and you are inspiring me to move it up in the queue.
4/11/10 2:37 PM
Jan711 said...
Your dress fits you beautifully and you look great in it. Thank you for your wonderful review. I purchased the pattern based on your list of features that this pattern offers. Your information regarding the size you made and how it fits your measurements is especially helpful. I hope you will write many more reviews.
4/25/10 12:09 PM
katharin said...
You found a beautiful fabric for this wonderful dress that fits you to perfection. You look great.
5/29/10 6:24 AM
BJ1400 said...
Love your green dress! It looks great on you.
5/29/10 7:54 AM
marec said...
I love this version with the "salad dressing" fabric!
5/29/10 9:47 AM
FreyaStark said...
Fabulous. The dress looks great in that fabric, and the fit is perfect. It's nice to see you trying prints for a change! Tessuti would no doubt be interested in seeing your creation - why not send them a photo?
5/29/10 6:57 PM
SpinningJenny said...
Great dress on you, and terrific fabric choice!
5/29/10 10:39 PM
Michele Demko Murphy said...
Great review, especially the fit info - thanks! Nice work!
5/30/10 7:50 AM
KathleenS said...
The fit of your green dress is fantastic. Well done.
6/22/10 6:38 AM
MareeAlison said...
Very late comment! Sorry. But I was just looking for reviews of this pattern and yours is really helpful because I'm a similar size :) Thanks for the update that is really helpful. I always put off making dresses with bodices because they are too short and I don't know how much to add so you've helped a lot. Thanks. I think the dress is really flattering and both look great on you.
6/12/11 8:40 PM
teagg said...
Wow! This looks great on you and is, with the extra comments & measurements, one of the best reviews I've read. Thank you. Extremely helpful! Regards, Gillian
1/20/12 6:27 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Ottobre Woman Magazine 05-2010-11

photo
by: angeleyes8...

Review
Sew Liberated Mariposa Tee Pattern

Sew Liberated Mariposa Tee Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Plaza Jacket & Pants Pattern

Sewing Workshop Plaza Jacket & Pants Pattern

Buy Now
Simplicity 4698

photo
by: Byrdie

Review