Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 5974 thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 1326 times 84 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 30 people   
Reviewed by:ClaireEmily
photo
About ClaireEmilystarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 9/28/08
Reviews written: 81
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 33 people
patterns reviewed: 75
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2010
Posted on:2/19/10 4:17 AM
Last Updated:5/29/10 6:15 AM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
30 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Sew4Fun said...
You look fabulous in this dress. The shape is so flattering. You definitely need more. :)
2/19/10 4:54 AM
Rebecca D said...
What a great review and thanks for including your measurements. This is extraordinarily helpful. The dress looks great and I think you should make several more.
2/19/10 6:37 AM
moushka said...
Terrific, flattering dress, and very helpful review. Do make more. I think the bust area looks good. Once you've got those adjustments made, you'll be amazed at how quickly you can put it together.
2/19/10 7:06 AM
DreinPA said...
Oh make more!! You've come so far in a year to get that fit. A little shorter though next time 'round- show off those legs while you can.
2/19/10 7:35 AM
JTink said...
I've had this pattern for a year and just haven't done anything with it. I love the fact that you did the scoop neck. Seems everything today is v-neck. It was interesting to hear how you dealt with the low waist issue. I'm just the reverse, high waisted. I'm going to go dig that pattern back out and give it another look. You did a wonderful job...
2/19/10 8:04 AM
nicegirl said...
What a beautiful dress! It is really flattering on you.
2/19/10 8:38 AM
Red Curtain said...
By golly, I think you've just made the perfect dress!
2/19/10 10:57 AM
JanJanB said...
Oh, so thats what the perfect black dress looks like. :) I've been looking for a great dress pattern and you just cinched it. Thanks for the very informative review. I'm with everybody else - more please.
2/19/10 11:50 AM
Renren said...
You have sewn a lot of really nice things, so much so that I instantly recognize you in the gallery, but you have really taken this dress to the TOP! It is lovely and it looks totally customized for you (and it is, of course!). Wow!!! And I like the way you've accesorized it in the photo. Perfection!
2/19/10 12:26 PM
Tez said...
Lovely dress and a great fit!
2/19/10 1:06 PM
Christas said...
Beautiful dress...... such a very flattering style on you! You have gotten a perfect fit and you have sewn it so nicely!
2/19/10 1:12 PM
ladybegood said...
Thanks for the review! I had similar problems with Simplicity 3503 and was thinking this pattern might be a more flattering alternative, but I was nervous about being disappointed agin. Your review now has me convinced!
2/19/10 1:21 PM
RLL said...
Flattering is an understatement. You look so thin and as JanJan said, it IS your perfect little black dress.
2/19/10 1:41 PM
Mary Nanna said...
fabulous job, you look great - really great - I can see I am going to have to give this pattern a try! For knits with a lot of crosswise stretch I do half my usual FBA - not that I'm an expert on this matter but I find that works for me. I still have to do an FBA though otherwise the fabric pulls too tightly in a most unbecoming fashion!
2/19/10 2:08 PM
FreyaStark said...
It looks great on you. Well done. You must make more.
2/19/10 5:34 PM
margk said...
FABULOUS!
2/19/10 6:43 PM
Fredette said...
Looks great!!
2/20/10 0:06 AM
lyndle said...
Your dress looks fab. I am so impressed. Thanks for the really helpful review too.
2/20/10 2:30 AM
becca a said...
What a lovely, flattering, and comfortable looking dress. I will have to make this one when summer gets to Vermont.
2/20/10 8:55 AM
Jane S said...
You look wonderful in this dress. I have it in my collection and you are inspiring me to move it up in the queue.
4/11/10 2:37 PM
Jan711 said...
Your dress fits you beautifully and you look great in it. Thank you for your wonderful review. I purchased the pattern based on your list of features that this pattern offers. Your information regarding the size you made and how it fits your measurements is especially helpful. I hope you will write many more reviews.
4/25/10 12:09 PM
katharin said...
You found a beautiful fabric for this wonderful dress that fits you to perfection. You look great.
5/29/10 6:24 AM
BJ1400 said...
Love your green dress! It looks great on you.
5/29/10 7:54 AM
marec said...
I love this version with the "salad dressing" fabric!
5/29/10 9:47 AM
FreyaStark said...
Fabulous. The dress looks great in that fabric, and the fit is perfect. It's nice to see you trying prints for a change! Tessuti would no doubt be interested in seeing your creation - why not send them a photo?
5/29/10 6:57 PM
SpinningJenny said...
Great dress on you, and terrific fabric choice!
5/29/10 10:39 PM
Michele Demko Murphy said...
Great review, especially the fit info - thanks! Nice work!
5/30/10 7:50 AM
KathleenS said...
The fit of your green dress is fantastic. Well done.
6/22/10 6:38 AM
MareeAlison said...
Very late comment! Sorry. But I was just looking for reviews of this pattern and yours is really helpful because I'm a similar size :) Thanks for the update that is really helpful. I always put off making dresses with bodices because they are too short and I don't know how much to add so you've helped a lot. Thanks. I think the dress is really flattering and both look great on you.
6/12/11 8:40 PM
teagg said...
Wow! This looks great on you and is, with the extra comments & measurements, one of the best reviews I've read. Thank you. Extremely helpful! Regards, Gillian
1/20/12 6:27 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

McCall's 5433 shirts
photo
Review by OP Gal on 1/3/10
Read Review

Vogue 8905 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )
Vogue 8905 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )

Details
Price: $22.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7330 Pattern
Burda 7330 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Downloadable 6009 JJ Blouse
photo
Review by squirrelly... on 3/10/08
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Felt Strap-On Booties Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )
Peek-A Boo Felt Strap-On Booties Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Rose T Shirt Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Rose T Shirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Wrap Top
Christine Jonson Wrap Top

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Tosca Dress
Sewing Workshop Tosca Dress

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us