Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 8629 (Misses' Dress) - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 1005 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
Reviewed by:kes
photo
About kes
MA USA
Member since: 9/10/04
Reviews written: 4
Sewing skills:Intermediate
patterns reviewed: 4
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/19/10 4:36 PM
Last Updated:2/19/10 5:06 PM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $22.50 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $22.50     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
valerie sews said...
From what I can tell it looks like a lovely dress. Maybe you could stitch the pleats down at waist level.
2/20/10 3:44 AM
kes said...
Thanks, Val. I was wondering the same thing last night. I might give it a try. I'd like to save it somehow.
2/20/10 7:33 AM
AuntieShel said...
Cannot get a larger photo of your dress. Thanks for reviewing, I have my eye on this.
2/20/10 10:12 AM
lamstu said...
It's hard to see because the thumbnail won't open. However, the arrangement of the pleats releasing over the bust always suggests 'maternity' to me. Stitching the pleats down could help. Perhaps a belt? Thanks for posting your results.
2/21/10 7:58 AM
donna mel said...
thanks for your honest review. don't you just hate it when you do all that work for nothing! but don't give up on it, you might be able to rework it and turn it into a great shirt. or maybe add a belt?
2/21/10 5:06 PM
kes said...
Thanks for all the suggestions. (and I don't know why the thumbnail won't open larger, sorry!) I'm going to try to stitch the pleats down, then belt it, before hemming it into a top.
2/25/10 1:05 PM
kes said...
Okay, the photo opens now. Forgot it's best to upload to Flickr first.
2/26/10 9:40 PM
miriamlaila said...
I've made this dress in two fabrics and it did work a lot better in the heavier stretch than in the lighter jersey - I think it might need a heavier fabric to hold its shape better.
7/11/10 10:36 AM
kes said...
miriamlaila: Thanks for your comment! I'm going to try that. I still really love the pattern and may have been to hasty in my comments.
7/16/10 3:59 PM
Sar sews said...
I have my eye on this pattern for warm Australian summer dress -- any opinions on how it might work in a cotton or linen, I know it says stretch but I know some people just ignore this direction with some patterns!!
12/13/10 10:34 PM
NancyAnn2 said...
Your comments are very valuable. I have been hesitating over this pattern for weeks and weeks. I think instinctively, I know it is not going to suit me. My posture is not as it should be now, and I think it will look awful. I will go for something with a better fit!
2/12/11 12:31 PM
Lee68 said...
I've made this dress in a non-knit fabric. I omited the pockets and added a zip in the side. Looks great (even if I do say so myself!) I'm hoping to make it again using a heavy jersey - thanks for the tip.
8/12/11 3:07 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

Ottobre Design Magazine 06-2011-36
photo
Review by sunnysewin... on 3/3/13
Read Review

Lolita Patterns Spearmint Paper Pattern

Details
Price: $22.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Chic Knapsack Pattern (ln100)
Sew Chic Knapsack Pattern (ln100)

Details
Price: $5.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Maria Denmark Paula Pleat Skirt Digital Pattern
Maria Denmark Paula Pleat Skirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.90
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Tea Party Sundress, Bloomers, and Playsuit Digital Pattern ( Size birth - 24m )
Oliver + S Tea Party Sundress, Bloomers, and Playsuit Digital Pattern ( Size birth - 24m )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 4192
photo
Review by Bendy on 1/22/13
Read Review

McCalls 6969 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )
McCalls 6969 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1373 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
Vogue 1373 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $32.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us