SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8629 (Misses' Dress)

1 more reviews
Viewed 1034 times 
Reviewed by:kes
photo

 
 
About kes
MA USA
Member since: 9/10/04
Reviews written: 4
Sewing skills:Intermediate
patterns reviewed: 4
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/19/10 4:36 PM
Last Updated:2/19/10 5:06 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
valerie sews said...
From what I can tell it looks like a lovely dress. Maybe you could stitch the pleats down at waist level.
2/20/10 3:44 AM
kes said...
Thanks, Val. I was wondering the same thing last night. I might give it a try. I'd like to save it somehow.
2/20/10 7:33 AM
AuntieShel said...
Cannot get a larger photo of your dress. Thanks for reviewing, I have my eye on this.
2/20/10 10:12 AM
lamstu said...
It's hard to see because the thumbnail won't open. However, the arrangement of the pleats releasing over the bust always suggests 'maternity' to me. Stitching the pleats down could help. Perhaps a belt? Thanks for posting your results.
2/21/10 7:58 AM
donna mel said...
thanks for your honest review. don't you just hate it when you do all that work for nothing! but don't give up on it, you might be able to rework it and turn it into a great shirt. or maybe add a belt?
2/21/10 5:06 PM
kes said...
Thanks for all the suggestions. (and I don't know why the thumbnail won't open larger, sorry!) I'm going to try to stitch the pleats down, then belt it, before hemming it into a top.
2/25/10 1:05 PM
kes said...
Okay, the photo opens now. Forgot it's best to upload to Flickr first.
2/26/10 9:40 PM
miriamlaila said...
I've made this dress in two fabrics and it did work a lot better in the heavier stretch than in the lighter jersey - I think it might need a heavier fabric to hold its shape better.
7/11/10 10:36 AM
kes said...
miriamlaila: Thanks for your comment! I'm going to try that. I still really love the pattern and may have been to hasty in my comments.
7/16/10 3:59 PM
Sar sews said...
I have my eye on this pattern for warm Australian summer dress -- any opinions on how it might work in a cotton or linen, I know it says stretch but I know some people just ignore this direction with some patterns!!
12/13/10 10:34 PM
NancyAnn2 said...
Your comments are very valuable. I have been hesitating over this pattern for weeks and weeks. I think instinctively, I know it is not going to suit me. My posture is not as it should be now, and I think it will look awful. I will go for something with a better fit!
2/12/11 12:31 PM
Lee68 said...
I've made this dress in a non-knit fabric. I omited the pockets and added a zip in the side. Looks great (even if I do say so myself!) I'm hoping to make it again using a heavy jersey - thanks for the tip.
8/12/11 3:07 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Other 926 Rocking Horse Farms

photo
by: SewNikki

Review
SewBaby Zippy Bunting Pattern

SewBaby Zippy Bunting Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Nikko Jacket Pattern

Sewing Workshop Nikko Jacket Pattern

Buy Now