SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8629 (Misses' Dress)

2 more reviews
Viewed 1069 times 
Reviewed by:kes
photo

 
 
About kes
MA USA
Member since: 9/10/04
Reviews written: 4
Sewing skills:Intermediate
patterns reviewed: 4
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/19/10 4:36 PM
Last Updated:2/19/10 5:06 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Lee68 said...
I've made this dress in a non-knit fabric. I omited the pockets and added a zip in the side. Looks great (even if I do say so myself!) I'm hoping to make it again using a heavy jersey - thanks for the tip.
8/12/11 3:07 PM
NancyAnn2 said...
Your comments are very valuable. I have been hesitating over this pattern for weeks and weeks. I think instinctively, I know it is not going to suit me. My posture is not as it should be now, and I think it will look awful. I will go for something with a better fit!
2/12/11 12:31 PM
Sar sews said...
I have my eye on this pattern for warm Australian summer dress -- any opinions on how it might work in a cotton or linen, I know it says stretch but I know some people just ignore this direction with some patterns!!
12/13/10 10:34 PM
kes said...
miriamlaila: Thanks for your comment! I'm going to try that. I still really love the pattern and may have been to hasty in my comments.
7/16/10 3:59 PM
miriamlaila said...
I've made this dress in two fabrics and it did work a lot better in the heavier stretch than in the lighter jersey - I think it might need a heavier fabric to hold its shape better.
7/11/10 10:36 AM
kes said...
Okay, the photo opens now. Forgot it's best to upload to Flickr first.
2/26/10 9:40 PM
kes said...
Thanks for all the suggestions. (and I don't know why the thumbnail won't open larger, sorry!) I'm going to try to stitch the pleats down, then belt it, before hemming it into a top.
2/25/10 1:05 PM
donna mel said...
thanks for your honest review. don't you just hate it when you do all that work for nothing! but don't give up on it, you might be able to rework it and turn it into a great shirt. or maybe add a belt?
2/21/10 5:06 PM
lamstu said...
It's hard to see because the thumbnail won't open. However, the arrangement of the pleats releasing over the bust always suggests 'maternity' to me. Stitching the pleats down could help. Perhaps a belt? Thanks for posting your results.
2/21/10 7:58 AM
AuntieShel said...
Cannot get a larger photo of your dress. Thanks for reviewing, I have my eye on this.
2/20/10 10:12 AM
kes said...
Thanks, Val. I was wondering the same thing last night. I might give it a try. I'd like to save it somehow.
2/20/10 7:33 AM
valerie sews said...
From what I can tell it looks like a lovely dress. Maybe you could stitch the pleats down at waist level.
2/20/10 3:44 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Class Details

Online Class
More Knits
More Knits

Class Details

McCall's 6378 OOP

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
You Sew Girl 90mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 90mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

More Info
8 1/2 inch Dressmaking Shears

8 1/2 inch Dressmaking Shears

More Info
Simplicity 4401

photo
by: vickyh

Review