SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5590 (High Waisted Pencil Skirt)

27 more reviews
Viewed 298 times 
Reviewed by:Christas
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Christasstarstarstarstar
OK USA
Member since: 3/16/06
Reviews written: 121
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 108 people
patterns reviewed: 118
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/21/10 4:57 PM
Last Updated:2/22/10 11:12 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 12 people   
See other patterns in this category: Skirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
knitmachinequeen said...
Skirt looks wonderful on you.
2/21/10 5:15 PM
Catbird said...
What a beautiful, classic skirt! It works so well with the cropped jacket and looks great on its own, too. I agree that it would also look good with a skinny belt. This pattern is a keeper! Your work looks lovely, inside and out, and YOU look lovely in this new outfit.
2/21/10 5:21 PM
persevering said...
Thank you very much for the picture/&lesson to "peg" the hem. Beautiful work & beautiful look (skirt & jacket).
2/21/10 5:31 PM
Peggy L said...
Another winner! It really looks nice on you. I hope you showed your church friend what you created with her gift. The lining looks so nice and silky.
2/21/10 6:12 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
Very pretty skirt! :-)
2/21/10 6:13 PM
carolynw said...
Absolutely lovely - you look so nice it brought a smile to my face!!
2/21/10 6:32 PM
Kellie R. said...
FABULOUS! I love the skirt with the jacket - they are perfect together. The fabric is gorgeous too, how nice of the lady to bestow this on you! I hope she gets to see what you've made with it because it's gorgeous!
2/21/10 6:54 PM
Barbara V said...
Christa, your pencil skirt looks lovely on you with a perfect fit and wonderful workmanship inside and out. I love it with the jacket too - such a wonderful outfit and special with the fabric from your friend.
2/21/10 7:24 PM
Annette1 said...
I love pencil skirts, too, although on me they would be one of those JUMBO pencils, OKAY? I also love the "pegged" version that you make. I read quite some time back that Burda also pegs their straight skirts. It's so much more flattering, I think. This is just DIVINE in both FIT and WORKMANSHIP, especially with that beautiful liing! :o)
2/21/10 9:11 PM
Michelle L said...
Very nice!! I have this pattern waiting for some room on the cutting table!
2/21/10 9:35 PM
HeyJane said...
Beautiful, especially with that jacket! Really great tip about the hem. :)
2/22/10 11:33 AM
persevering said...
Christas, Thanks for adding your measurements. This and your explained alterations, helps me to choose the correct sizing and alterations I could apply to my sewing. Your generosity is appreciated. :)
2/22/10 12:26 PM
Kay Y said...
Very flattering on you! How are you finding the higher waist?
2/22/10 12:35 PM
Christas said...
Thanks so much for the nice comments, everyone. Kay, I love the height of the waist on this pattern. I used Pam's (Sew Exciting) Pro-weft fusible for the interfacing. It stays up nicely, but I am liking your idea of boning for my next one.
2/22/10 12:46 PM
RLL said...
Great outfit. And how nice that you can think of the wonderful giving lady everytime you wear it.
2/22/10 3:14 PM
Heatherrique said...
Wow! You look sensational in this ensemble! I like this color on you. What a nice gift from the lady who goes to your church and I am sure she is/will be delighted to see what you created. As always, very nicely sewn and thank you so much for your tips.
2/22/10 8:58 PM
AnneMarie60 said...
Such nice finish details and a perfect fit! I learned about pegging--thanks for teaching me about this. The lines of this skirt are a perfect pairing with your lovely jacket!
2/22/10 10:13 PM
eugenia123 said...
Wonderful skirt. This is such a perfect shape, you have judged it just right, and it looks fabulous on you. The whole outfit looks amazing, very chic, very elegant. I love it!
2/24/10 4:29 PM
callmeRuth said...
Nice outfit. It looks great on you.
3/6/10 6:25 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns

Register

Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 08-2012-113

photo
by: Sue Anfang

Review
J Stern Designs The Hobo Bag Pattern

J Stern Designs The Hobo Bag Pattern

Buy Now
Sew Chic Starter Skirt Pattern (ln1000)

Sew Chic Starter Skirt Pattern (ln1000)

Buy Now
BurdaStyle Magazine 11-2011-114

photo
by: sewingsvet...

Review