SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1152 (Misses' Dress)

19 more reviews
Viewed 1733 times 
Reviewed by:VeryPrairie
photo

 
 
About VeryPrairiestarstar
IL USA
Member since: 2/17/06
Reviews written: 10
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 43 people
patterns reviewed: 10
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/21/10 6:40 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 19 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $30.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $30.00 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
30 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Christas said...
Beautiful top! I admired this pattern in the catalog. Your version as a top instead of a dress is so nice. Love your fabric choice.
2/21/10 6:46 PM
Lori V said...
I like it shortened into a top, it looks fantastic on you.
2/21/10 6:46 PM
Kellie R. said...
This is very pretty. The silk crepe is just lovely for this style.
2/21/10 6:51 PM
sewbehind said...
This is very flattering on you and I also like this as a top. Was the invisible zipper a necessity? Or do you find yourself pulling this over your head? Just wondering as there seems to be sufficient ease in the neckline....
2/21/10 6:54 PM
michellep74 said...
Gorgeous top! I love the color on you. Love it as a top.
2/21/10 7:35 PM
Twinset said...
Thank you so much for reviewing this pattern! Looks great as a top, and fantastic color! I don't think your princess seams look off - not at all.
2/21/10 7:36 PM
Kristine Kay said...
Thanks for the detailed review, I've already got silk crepe de chine for this project, so I'll just have to put my big girl pants on! I love that you made it into a top!!!
2/21/10 7:36 PM
Emi1yKate said...
Just beautiful!
2/21/10 7:49 PM
Nancy K said...
The pattern makes a very nice top I like it better in your solid than in the busy fabric on the pattern envelope. what is it with vogue and hand stitching, especially since you know that isn't how the rtw dress was made.
2/21/10 8:04 PM
VeryPrairie said...
Thank you everyone for the nice comments. Sewbehind: It hadn't occurred to me, but I tried the top on just now without unzipping, and it CAN be put on without undoing the zipper. It's a bit tight over the bust, but not enough to pop seams or anything.
2/21/10 8:12 PM
homejewel said...
I think your version is a lot better than the version on the Vogue pattern. It looks beautiful on you! Love the fabric choice.
2/21/10 8:44 PM
thirteenstitches said...
This came out so lovely and really looks fantastic on you. Another great job! Green is your color!
2/21/10 9:09 PM
Re Becca said...
That is so CUTE, and so stylish!
2/21/10 9:38 PM
kerrynw said...
I love your top, particularly the colour. I also love the fact that you don't need a zipper.
2/22/10 1:34 AM
stitchywitch said...
Really great - I like it better as a top than a dress!
2/22/10 2:16 AM
arianamaniacs said...
very pretty and feminine. i like this much better than in the print they used.
2/22/10 3:31 AM
betty bushwacker said...
If the picture you posted was on the pattern cover, they would sell a million. Beautiful job!
2/22/10 8:17 AM
Stitchcakes said...
Definitely better as a solid and really nice as a top...Beautiful! This does the details more justice than the envelope sample, for sure. I love it!
2/22/10 10:01 AM
OlindaM said...
I've just recently noticed this pattern, but unfortunately it is too young for me! But your top is so pretty and well made I might be tempted?
2/22/10 1:52 PM
French.Seam said...
nice top, and I also want your hair please!
2/22/10 2:08 PM
LittleCountryGal said...
Looks great! The fit looks excellent to me. Personally, I think your sleeves look much better than the saggy ones on the blue designer pic. (Humm... maybe I could use just one more pattern!)
2/22/10 2:22 PM
RLL said...
Gorgeous! Love all the detail.
2/22/10 3:44 PM
Leora said...
I'm getting ready to try this in matte jersey, so glad to see yours turned out beautifully shortened to top length. Great color for you too.
2/22/10 4:04 PM
amy in mpls said...
Such a smart transformation! love your top!
2/22/10 10:35 PM
TJSEWS said...
I think it looks great on you. The sleeves are just fine! I think I will shorten it to a top as well and wear it with a little cami underneath for modesty. Thanks for the review!
2/26/10 10:17 PM
Mikgirl said...
WOW! When I saw this pattern, I didn't think anything of it - but your version looks so pretty, especially as a top!! I think I'm gonna make this! :)
3/30/10 0:32 AM
Claverie said...
Yours is much more attractive than the Nordstrom offering. I wanted to make this ... it's all pinned at the moment. However, your size 8 and your physique are much more suited for this pattern than I am. Rethinking. Love your short version.
3/16/11 4:44 PM
hokidoki said...
So beautiful, I am inspired :)
3/17/11 11:52 PM
MeechPeach said...
You did such an awesome job on this top! I cannot wait to find a nice small print. I'm leaning towards the silk crepe you used since it drapes so nicely. Will def want to raise the neckline. Thanks for the tips!
6/27/11 6:49 PM
gorthx said...
Wow, this looks amazing! I'm inspired to make another one of these now (I made the dress & love it.)
11/7/11 1:52 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Petite Plus 104 Pattern

Petite Plus 104 Pattern

Buy Now
Sew Chic Fifth Avenue Dress Pattern (ln1311)

Sew Chic Fifth Avenue Dress Pattern (ln1311)

Buy Now