Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 6082 (1970's Jiffy Knit Dress/Top) - Type:Out of Print Classics    printable version
Viewed 440 times
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 13 people   
Reviewed by:Heatherrique
photo
Friend of PR
About Heatherriquestarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 6/27/06
Reviews written: 295
Favored by: 102 people
patterns reviewed: 295
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/3/10 8:21 PM
Last Updated:3/6/10 12:07 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
27 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
ryan's mom said...
Fantastic! You look terrific in this.
3/3/10 8:30 PM
Renren said...
Each of the three tops is perfect for you. I especially love the neckline and shaping in the sides.
3/3/10 9:04 PM
Christas said...
What a great ending to your bad experience with the UFO! All three tops are so pretty on you!
3/3/10 10:00 PM
AnneMarie60 said...
Gorgeous fabrics and very flattering design. A great save from your unfortunate dress project. Surely three stellar successes blur one minor disappointment!
3/3/10 10:19 PM
Barbara V said...
Wonderful fit and great fabrics on all three tops. Way to go on eliminating the UFO and de-stashing!
3/4/10 0:19 AM
michalklimer said...
it is so great! the fit is great, the fabrics, ad it really looks good on you!
3/4/10 0:40 AM
QuiltSewSewSue said...
your tops look a lovely fit on you and I particularly like the purple print fabric.
3/4/10 1:00 AM
paulakiss said...
I love that pattern! Your blouses are gorgeous. Pretty fabric choices too!
3/4/10 1:32 AM
Terri A said...
Retro chic! Very cool!
3/4/10 2:20 AM
marjenann said...
What a flattering top!! The fit is fabulous and the colors are jut perfect!! Lovely!!
3/4/10 7:59 AM
knitmachinequeen said...
All three tops are fabulous.
3/4/10 8:23 AM
Catbird said...
You've found a winner here! This pattern can be used over and over and will look fresh as you showcase different fabric 'personalities.' These are all very flattering on you!
3/4/10 9:13 AM
mhk3boys said...
All of your tops look so good! I love the name of "petallica"!
3/4/10 11:47 AM
susiestitcher said...
I really love your fabric choices. The long sleeve blue one is my favorite. This style looks great on you. I have many of these Jiffy patterns in my storage boxes. Maybe I should look at them again. Great job on salvaging your UFO dress, too.
3/5/10 7:33 AM
fryman said...
Your top is lovely, fabric is great and it looks terrific on you. A suggestion only and that is, the next time you make this up, using a print fabric, would you consider placing the front bodice on the fold? I think its worth a try, especially on prints. Regardless, you are lucky to have found a pattern which really likes you. Go Girl!!
3/5/10 9:37 AM
FreyaStark said...
Three wonderfully wild and snazzy tops.
3/5/10 4:16 PM
Heatherrique said...
Thanks for the feedback! I'm thinking of adding a narrow neckband for a smoother finish. What's the best method?
3/6/10 12:02 PM
carolynw said...
Beautiful tops
3/6/10 12:13 PM
Leslie Bonner said...
Lovely tops and look wonderful in you!
3/6/10 12:59 PM
kwpanthermom said...
I made this pattern in '73 or '74 for a friend and I loved it! I made the long version, just like the picture, for her to wear to a high school winter dance. Your choice of prints is fantastic, very retro yet modern at the same time. The skirt of the dress pattern flares beautifully, so try it in a dress length too!
3/6/10 1:17 PM
becca a said...
Three great tops! It is always interesting to see how different the same pattern can be with different fabric. I particularly like the third version.
3/6/10 1:30 PM
ryansmumAria said...
That neckline is very flattering and slimming. Looks great on you As for neckline bands, I would suggest you do an internet search as you will find step by step instructions on various techniques. I use a coverstitch to do this to get a very professional looking band but before I had it, I would do the "Threads" technique. Just go to Threads mag and look it up. It's a video format and you'll learn alot.
3/6/10 5:02 PM
marjenann said...
Tryly gorgeous on you!!! In your next life, I am thinking designer!!!
3/6/10 5:08 PM
ryan's mom said...
3 super versions! All look terrific on you.
3/6/10 7:56 PM
busymomof3 said...
Wow! These look great on you and the fabrics change the look of each one. If I had to pic a fav, it would be the last. They all are great though.
3/7/10 12:43 PM
QuiltersFan said...
Great tops. Love the neckline.
3/7/10 10:28 PM
Bert62 said...
Super cute. Nice job. Whether intentional or not the one with the mandalas all over is very figure enhancing/slimming - but, they both look great and flatter. Bert
11/27/10 12:19 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Tie Dye Diva Baby Bubble Romper
photo
Review by heemee on 4/3/13
Read Review

Kwik Sew 0145 Pattern
Kwik Sew 0145 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5510 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG )
Butterick 5510 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Japanese Pattern Books Drape Drape 2: #3 vest
photo
Review by duckbucket on 3/11/14
Read Review

Oliver + S Seashore Sundress Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )
Oliver + S Seashore Sundress Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Megan Nielsen Kelly Skirt Digital Pattern
Megan Nielsen Kelly Skirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Paradiso Designs Everyday Bag Pattern
Paradiso Designs Everyday Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $11.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus 303 Pattern
Petite Plus 303 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us