SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 6082 (1970's Jiffy Knit Dress/Top)

Viewed 440 times 
Reviewed by:Heatherrique
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Heatherriquestarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 6/27/06
Reviews written: 298
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 101 people
patterns reviewed: 298
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/3/10 8:21 PM
Last Updated:3/6/10 12:07 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 13 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
27 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Bert62 said...
Super cute. Nice job. Whether intentional or not the one with the mandalas all over is very figure enhancing/slimming - but, they both look great and flatter. Bert
11/27/10 12:19 PM
QuiltersFan said...
Great tops. Love the neckline.
3/7/10 10:28 PM
busymomof3 said...
Wow! These look great on you and the fabrics change the look of each one. If I had to pic a fav, it would be the last. They all are great though.
3/7/10 12:43 PM
ryan's mom said...
3 super versions! All look terrific on you.
3/6/10 7:56 PM
marjenann said...
Tryly gorgeous on you!!! In your next life, I am thinking designer!!!
3/6/10 5:08 PM
ryansmumAria said...
That neckline is very flattering and slimming. Looks great on you As for neckline bands, I would suggest you do an internet search as you will find step by step instructions on various techniques. I use a coverstitch to do this to get a very professional looking band but before I had it, I would do the "Threads" technique. Just go to Threads mag and look it up. It's a video format and you'll learn alot.
3/6/10 5:02 PM
becca a said...
Three great tops! It is always interesting to see how different the same pattern can be with different fabric. I particularly like the third version.
3/6/10 1:30 PM
kwpanthermom said...
I made this pattern in '73 or '74 for a friend and I loved it! I made the long version, just like the picture, for her to wear to a high school winter dance. Your choice of prints is fantastic, very retro yet modern at the same time. The skirt of the dress pattern flares beautifully, so try it in a dress length too!
3/6/10 1:17 PM
Leslie Bonner said...
Lovely tops and look wonderful in you!
3/6/10 12:59 PM
carolynw said...
Beautiful tops
3/6/10 12:13 PM
Heatherrique said...
Thanks for the feedback! I'm thinking of adding a narrow neckband for a smoother finish. What's the best method?
3/6/10 12:02 PM
FreyaStark said...
Three wonderfully wild and snazzy tops.
3/5/10 4:16 PM
fryman said...
Your top is lovely, fabric is great and it looks terrific on you. A suggestion only and that is, the next time you make this up, using a print fabric, would you consider placing the front bodice on the fold? I think its worth a try, especially on prints. Regardless, you are lucky to have found a pattern which really likes you. Go Girl!!
3/5/10 9:37 AM
susiestitcher said...
I really love your fabric choices. The long sleeve blue one is my favorite. This style looks great on you. I have many of these Jiffy patterns in my storage boxes. Maybe I should look at them again. Great job on salvaging your UFO dress, too.
3/5/10 7:33 AM
mhk3boys said...
All of your tops look so good! I love the name of "petallica"!
3/4/10 11:47 AM
Catbird said...
You've found a winner here! This pattern can be used over and over and will look fresh as you showcase different fabric 'personalities.' These are all very flattering on you!
3/4/10 9:13 AM
knitmachinequeen said...
All three tops are fabulous.
3/4/10 8:23 AM
marjenann said...
What a flattering top!! The fit is fabulous and the colors are jut perfect!! Lovely!!
3/4/10 7:59 AM
Terri A said...
Retro chic! Very cool!
3/4/10 2:20 AM
paulakiss said...
I love that pattern! Your blouses are gorgeous. Pretty fabric choices too!
3/4/10 1:32 AM
QuiltSewSewSue said...
your tops look a lovely fit on you and I particularly like the purple print fabric.
3/4/10 1:00 AM
michalklimer said...
it is so great! the fit is great, the fabrics, ad it really looks good on you!
3/4/10 0:40 AM
Barbara V said...
Wonderful fit and great fabrics on all three tops. Way to go on eliminating the UFO and de-stashing!
3/4/10 0:19 AM
AnneMarie60 said...
Gorgeous fabrics and very flattering design. A great save from your unfortunate dress project. Surely three stellar successes blur one minor disappointment!
3/3/10 10:19 PM
Christas said...
What a great ending to your bad experience with the UFO! All three tops are so pretty on you!
3/3/10 10:00 PM
Renren said...
Each of the three tops is perfect for you. I especially love the neckline and shaping in the sides.
3/3/10 9:04 PM
ryan's mom said...
Fantastic! You look terrific in this.
3/3/10 8:30 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Understanding Interfacings
Understanding Interfacings

Register

New Look 6148

photo
by: prttynpnk

Review
Sewing Workshop Nikko Jacket Pattern

Sewing Workshop Nikko Jacket Pattern

Buy Now
Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Long & Short Caftans

Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Long & Short Caftans

Buy Now