SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Jalie> 2804 (Empire crossover top)

44 more reviews
Viewed 701 times 
Reviewed by:Ann Smith
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Ann Smithstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 348
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 390 people
patterns reviewed: 345
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2009
Posted on:3/29/10 11:22 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 18 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $12.75 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $12.75 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Oh That Paula said...
Your review is informative and funny! You look lovely in your top!
7/12/10 8:47 AM
Diane E said...
Your top is beautiful! And exactly what "horrors" are you talking about? I'm planning to make this top today and I'm hoping mine looks as pretty as yours. And great color, by the way.
4/24/10 1:15 PM
JDpenelope said...
Great top!
4/6/10 7:01 PM
jso4fun said...
P.S. And you always look really really good in what you sew. (Forgot to add that in my prior fan letter.)
4/1/10 11:25 PM
jso4fun said...
Body fluff! I love it! (Not the fluff, but the new term for those surprising bunches and bundles of skin and flab that show up out of nowhere, when I'm least expecting them!) What a hoot you are! Anyway, as usual, a great top, and really helpful review. And it's so great to have a review from you again. It seems like it's been a little while, and I've missed your reviews. I have never met you, but I follow your reviews; you are one of my main inspirations on PR! You sew great clothes, from a lot of the patterns I am thinking of using, and your reviews help me see what they will look like, and help me decide whether to sew them or not. So thanks for another great review.
3/31/10 11:17 PM
marec said...
I had to smile at your review because I previewed all the pics before reading and didn't notice any fluffy bits. You look great in that color (it's one I love and cannot wear) and the tee is so flaatering.
3/30/10 12:53 PM
ryansmumAria said...
Ann, I love your work and you are pretty as ever!
3/30/10 9:40 AM
Annette1 said...
:o)) I'm sitting here laughing at "the horror of the fluff," of which I see NONE on you, but I would definitely need ruching FRONT AND BACK. I LOVE this top on you. :o)
3/30/10 8:56 AM
starryfish said...
A lovely top, in a beautiful flattering colour!
3/30/10 8:52 AM
marjenann said...
Woiw, I think you look amazing in your newest creation! Thanks for the informative review!!!
3/30/10 8:08 AM
Oziroo said...
Your top looks great and you have overcome those issues successfully. Yes, I also was disappointed by the "pull" at the sleeve seam when I made this: also, I found the V neck rather narrow on me. As yet I haven't fixed it. It's on the UFO pile!
3/30/10 8:06 AM
becca a said...
Your shirt is very flattering! Given the pulls that RTW tee shirts have, I wouldn't have been bothered by the pulls from the modesty panel because I expect them in a tee. I haven't yet made this shirt, but that may be why others haven't complained. I like your idea of ruching all the way around, but your back picture looks great--no horrors there. Fantastic color for you.
3/30/10 7:51 AM
susiestitcher said...
You look beautiful in your top. I totally understand your idea about ruching in the back. But I do not see any horror back there, you silly girl! Thanks for the tip on the modesty panel. If I make this top, I am sure I would want one, too, so your information is very helpful. Great color and nice fit, too!
3/30/10 6:41 AM
DorothyK said...
The top looks great on you. You addressed the issues well. If I decide to make this pattern, your review will be very helpful.
3/30/10 1:04 AM
Barbara V said...
Your top turned out splendidly and looks very flattering with a nice fit. What are you saying? "the horrors"??? I think you need to change your mirror.....you look great in it! Lovely color too.
3/30/10 0:39 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Butterick 3344

photo
by: Sheila457

Review
Vogue Patterns 8323

photo
by: Peggysclos...

Review
Jennifer Stern The Perfectly Fitted Shirt by the Cup-Full Pattern ( Size 16-24(Cup B-DD) )

Jennifer Stern The Perfectly Fitted Shirt by the Cup-Full Pattern ( Size 16-24(Cup B-DD) )

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Plaza Jacket & Pants Pattern

Sewing Workshop Plaza Jacket & Pants Pattern

Buy Now