SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 2929 (Bellville Sassoon Gown)

7 more reviews
Viewed 1502 times 
Reviewed by:noodlesew
photo

 
 
About noodlesewstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 1/18/10
Reviews written: 31
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 8 people
patterns reviewed: 30
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/29/10 3:17 AM
Last Updated:3/29/10 6:18 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 30 people   
See other patterns in this category: Formalwear    
Available for sale on PR: $27.50 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $27.50 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
46 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Bonnie123 said...
This dress is simply fabulous. I especially love the color. I think it served you well to read and reread the instructions prior to sewing. Great job!
2/26/10 9:27 AM
RadarRadiance said...
Oh...this looks absolutely beautiful!!! I am anxious to see it done and being modeled! Some of these Vogue patterns are so much work but what a learning curve in the process. Yours looks exceptional.
2/26/10 9:54 AM
LynnG said...
Beautiful dress. You are doing a great job.
2/26/10 10:14 AM
Elona said...
Your dress is going to be stunning (heck, it already is!), and I bet you are going to want to make it up in a drop-dead silk the next time!
2/26/10 11:36 AM
camaro1952 said...
WOW!!!
2/26/10 12:33 PM
lamstu said...
LOVE the dress. Using the reverse sides of the fabric was inspired! (I wish it wasn't strapless - those days are way behind me.)
2/26/10 10:04 PM
E.J.W. said...
That colour is beautiful and it all looks to be coming together wonderfully, It will look stunning!
3/2/10 7:37 AM
waltzqueen said...
Gorgeous fabric, gorgeous dress!! I can't wait to see it on you!!
3/3/10 11:17 AM
janella said...
Thanks for such a great review - the pictures look great too.
3/22/10 12:35 PM
QuiltSewSewSue said...
Stunning!
3/29/10 4:55 AM
DaisyEsq said...
Amazing! Great review of making this gown.
3/29/10 6:52 AM
Sic said...
Stunning! Beautiful work!
3/29/10 8:05 AM
sunny74 said...
Amazing! It looks so expensive. I can't believe you made this with $2/metre fabric.
3/29/10 9:13 AM
DOMESTICATEDMENNONITE said...
Love it. I used to work in a fabric store and some of the local ladies who stay home and sew wedding gowns, coats, etc, told me that they take hard to iron items to a dry cleaners. If you're still concerned about the final look.....
3/29/10 9:34 AM
carolynw said...
This is gorgeous - really, really gorgeous!!
3/29/10 10:32 AM
RadarRadiance said...
It is beautiful! ...need I say more! Great review.
3/29/10 11:01 AM
squirrellypoo said...
HOLY COW! This dress is a total knockout! Please tell us the occasion! And I love that this pattern includes the internal bustier support - I think that's worth the cost alone, as you could use that again and again for any strapless gown.
3/29/10 11:18 AM
Opals Passions said...
Beautiful dress... You did a fabulous job...
3/29/10 11:41 AM
cdi9c said...
Just fabulous! And can I tell you how blown away I am by the utter invisibility of your invisible zipper? WOW!
3/29/10 12:07 PM
senaSews said...
Stunning dress. Wow! And great workmanship, too!
3/29/10 1:12 PM
cindyann said...
Oh man, that's looking just wonderful!
3/29/10 1:20 PM
ggf2005 said...
great job. the thing i love about vogue patterns is the level of detail provided in the instructions which is so much better than not enough detail
3/29/10 1:49 PM
rozzybabe said...
Thanks for great pictures & such detail in areas of construction, especially where Vogue made some errors. The dress looks fantastic. I've a friend who has the right figure for this style, & after reading your review I will make it for her sometime this year. You certainly can move your sewing level up to advanced now!! Thanks again for all the information.
3/29/10 2:39 PM
Laurie Lou said...
Breath-taking!!!
3/29/10 5:27 PM
Elona said...
What a gorgeous, gorgeous dress! You should be hugely proud of your exquisite work. And thanks so much for all the photos of the work in progress. This should embolden all who wish to make a couturier gown.
3/29/10 8:13 PM
fourkid said...
This is all way beyond me - I just see the end results and they are fantastic. Very beautiful.
3/29/10 9:19 PM
Annette1 said...
What a joy it is to look at all these pictures and get to see UP CLOSE AND PERSONAL the construction of this FABULOUS dress. You did a WONDERFUL job! :o)
3/29/10 9:39 PM
pammieh said...
Wow! The design details on that blouse are fantastic - I can't imagine being able to construct something that beautiful.
3/29/10 10:47 PM
fattyboomboom said...
Standing ovation!!!
3/29/10 11:02 PM
dingyadi said...
Utterly beautiful!
3/30/10 0:19 AM
SusiM said...
Bravo!! I'm printing out your review and stapling it to the pattern envelope. It will sure help when I make this for my daughter. Thank you, thank you for your very helpful review! Your dress is beautiful!
3/30/10 0:20 AM
Woolygal said...
Absolutely exquisite.
3/30/10 8:16 AM
kerrynw said...
Absolutely gorgeous dress! Fantastic review with lots of detail, thank you.
3/30/10 9:13 AM
Bunsnpigs said...
Speechless. Please post a pic of you in it. That would be lovely!
3/30/10 10:39 AM
Lynn67 said...
Yes, can we get a pic of you in the dress? It's stunning!
3/30/10 5:54 PM
Sheila457 said...
Absolutely STUNNING!
3/30/10 9:53 PM
CynthiaSue said...
color and workmanship are just superb. you are a very talented seamstress.
3/31/10 2:24 AM
Rickella said...
Wow! Gorgeous! Nicely done.
4/1/10 2:07 PM
noodlesew said...
Thanks for the thumbs up on the dress and the tip on pressing at the dry cleaners. When pressing, I used a damp hanky, and wished I had underline to prevent the seams showing. Just couldn't press much more in case the Spandex loses the stretch. There's plenty of room for improvement, such as a more comfortable bustier, something I'm not used to wearing. It's worth the effort for a designer dress like this, which I made over 4 weekends. It costs a fortune to buy an equivalent, poorly fitted garment. I still have a long way to go to get the beautiful fit that I see in projects reviewed by the talented sewers in this website. Once I got over the fear of botching up an "Advanced" pattern, the sewing was really straightforward. Most time was spent putting together the tracing vilene toile, without which I would not have sorted out the placement of seams and the width adjustments. The occasion I have in mind is a formal evening on board a cruise.
4/2/10 11:54 PM
sfgb said...
Stunning. Incredible color.
5/8/10 8:54 PM
SoVintage said...
Breathtaking!
5/31/10 10:59 PM
slmstyle said...
Just beautiful! Thanks so much for the detailed review. I am thinking about making this dress for my wedding dress, but I am not an advanced sewer and all the bias cutting, bodice construction and seaming make me a little nervous. However, thanks to all of your details and great photos and fantastic results, maybe I'll just go for it and make it, at least in muslin first. I am going to take SusiM's great idea to print out your review and attach it to the pattern envelope. Thanks so much!
10/13/10 7:41 PM
Duchessdesigns said...
Making this dress for my daughter's senior prom, Thanks for all the tips
4/3/11 6:17 PM
arianamaniacs said...
Wow, that's normally the colors I would pass by in the fabric store, but the combination is outstanding in this dress! Beautiful!
10/19/11 11:26 AM
AlaskaJean said...
Wow! and thanks for all the specific comments! I am currently struggling with my muslins. I just thought htis morning that there was no reason for the lining to be exactly like the dress and you confirmed that. Thanks,
12/2/11 5:02 PM
Evilmissf said...
after reading this review i now know im not going mad, there's a few places where the dots are misplaced especially on the skirt lining, I've spent hours on this dress only to find the skirt lining doesn't line up properly, after reading this review, now I know why. If anyone else asks me to do a vogue pattern I think I'm gonna have to refuse next time lol x thanks for putting me right x Your dress looks absolutely fabulous, hope mine looks as good as yours x
6/20/12 6:34 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Vogue Patterns 8509

photo
by: rmusic1

Review
Sew Liberated Mischievous Gnome Messenger Bag

Sew Liberated Mischievous Gnome Messenger Bag

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Tamari Apron Pattern

Sewing Workshop Tamari Apron Pattern

Buy Now
McCall's 6553

photo
by: Mahogany S...

Review