Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 6024 (Misses Dresses) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 1347 times 10 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 21 people   
Reviewed by:kidmd
photo
About kidmdstarstarstarstar
UT USA
Member since: 4/20/09
Reviews written: 272
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 43 people
patterns reviewed: 270
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/26/10 9:08 AM
Last Updated:3/31/10 8:11 AM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Bonnie123 said...
Very cute....looking at your bio, when do you have time to sew??? lol Again, I love the dress and the binding.
2/26/10 9:17 AM
SewRaeMe said...
Very cute! Love the material!
2/26/10 9:31 AM
heathercampbell29 said...
this is really cute! and I also love the patterns that have cup sizes for the bodice. Thanks for pointing that out, I'll have to try it. I really love the fabric that you chose.
2/26/10 10:49 AM
persevering said...
Thanks for being the first making this cute dress and sharing what you learned.
2/26/10 10:56 AM
nellc said...
Your dress looks really lovely, I like the binding on the flounces. I have this pattern so it is nice to see a detailed review, thanks for the warning about the facings.
2/26/10 1:16 PM
FreyaStark said...
A gorgeous dress.
2/26/10 2:47 PM
sewtime said...
Beautiful dress! A book that helped me with making facings that work is 'Nancy's 25 favorite sewing techniques' by Nancy Zieman. But I love your dress, it is so cute!
2/26/10 3:46 PM
birdmcfarland said...
Love it! I really like the fabric/dress style combo
2/26/10 3:53 PM
Christas said...
WOW! This is really cute!!! Thanks so much for the very nice review.
2/26/10 5:08 PM
Cathy Loves Fabric said...
So cute and hopeful of spring's return. It's the perfect Easter dress.
2/27/10 1:27 AM
Lili123 said...
very nice dress, i love the colors and the patterns on the fabric.
2/27/10 9:39 AM
Mebber said...
This is a great dress - you can wear it with capri length leggings to deal with the wrap being too minimal. It is very contemporary and you did a beautiful job - I hope you wear it often this spring!
3/31/10 11:05 AM
KatieRose said...
Thank you for pointing out the problems! I have this pattern ready to go, but I will widen the facings (and probably add to the skirt overlap to avoid tricky moments!). It looks great on you!
4/22/10 5:17 PM
kittiequeen said...
One of the ideas I LOVE about this pattern web site--is the submitted photos from home sewers. Re this one, I love your dress, and it really shows the contrast between how the photo on the pattern envelope appears, and, somehow, much more truthfully, a geniune home sewn garment actually looks and is. As well as what it can be like to wear the item. Thanks!
6/5/10 3:18 PM
fattyboomboom said...
Thanks for this very thorough review, especially the warning about both sides of the fabric showing. You look so cute!
7/15/10 1:01 PM
Julia Bobbin said...
Fantastic review and fantastic dress!
11/22/10 8:33 PM
MissyBelle said...
I am literally taking notes from your review. I will press forward to make this dress and heed all of your advice. Thanks for sharing and you look fantastic by the way ;-)
1/3/11 11:28 PM
pieraci2 said...
Thank you so much for mentioning the scimpy facings and the fact that there is not very much "wiggle room" when walking. My daughter chose this dress and when I do, I will line the bodice as you suggested. As far as the narrowness of the skirt part of the dress, I suppose I could widen it a bit when I cut it from the fabric. What do you think? Is that a good idea? (Since you already made and wore the dress). Thanks again for the review and picture. You look very cute in the dress!!!
3/20/11 2:18 AM
DebraWenlock said...
This is a gorgeous dress - I love the combination of the feminine frills with the bold geometric print. It's such a shame it's not also a joy to wear! Thanks for the cautions & recommendations.
4/22/11 6:00 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

McCall's 6173
photo
Review by bluenines on 1/20/13
Read Review

Oliver S Fairy Tale Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )
Oliver   S Fairy Tale Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Salme Playsuit Digital Pattern
Salme Playsuit Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 8712
photo
Review by sfshaza on 1/25/11
Read Review

Christine Jonson Tie-Back Top
Christine Jonson Tie-Back Top

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Islander Sewing Systems Women's Classic Sport Shirt Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Women's Classic Sport Shirt Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 3949 Pattern( Size S-L-S-L )
Simplicity 3949 Pattern( Size S-L-S-L )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5850 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
Butterick 5850 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us