SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 6024 (Misses Dresses)

10 more reviews
Viewed 1353 times 
Reviewed by:kidmd
photo

 
 
About kidmdstarstarstarstar
UT USA
Member since: 4/20/09
Reviews written: 276
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 43 people
patterns reviewed: 274
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/26/10 9:08 AM
Last Updated:3/31/10 8:11 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 21 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Bonnie123 said...
Very cute....looking at your bio, when do you have time to sew??? lol Again, I love the dress and the binding.
2/26/10 9:17 AM
SewRaeMe said...
Very cute! Love the material!
2/26/10 9:31 AM
heathercampbell29 said...
this is really cute! and I also love the patterns that have cup sizes for the bodice. Thanks for pointing that out, I'll have to try it. I really love the fabric that you chose.
2/26/10 10:49 AM
persevering said...
Thanks for being the first making this cute dress and sharing what you learned.
2/26/10 10:56 AM
nellc said...
Your dress looks really lovely, I like the binding on the flounces. I have this pattern so it is nice to see a detailed review, thanks for the warning about the facings.
2/26/10 1:16 PM
FreyaStark said...
A gorgeous dress.
2/26/10 2:47 PM
sewtime said...
Beautiful dress! A book that helped me with making facings that work is 'Nancy's 25 favorite sewing techniques' by Nancy Zieman. But I love your dress, it is so cute!
2/26/10 3:46 PM
birdmcfarland said...
Love it! I really like the fabric/dress style combo
2/26/10 3:53 PM
Christas said...
WOW! This is really cute!!! Thanks so much for the very nice review.
2/26/10 5:08 PM
Cathy Loves Fabric said...
So cute and hopeful of spring's return. It's the perfect Easter dress.
2/27/10 1:27 AM
Lili123 said...
very nice dress, i love the colors and the patterns on the fabric.
2/27/10 9:39 AM
Mebber said...
This is a great dress - you can wear it with capri length leggings to deal with the wrap being too minimal. It is very contemporary and you did a beautiful job - I hope you wear it often this spring!
3/31/10 11:05 AM
KatieRose said...
Thank you for pointing out the problems! I have this pattern ready to go, but I will widen the facings (and probably add to the skirt overlap to avoid tricky moments!). It looks great on you!
4/22/10 5:17 PM
kittiequeen said...
One of the ideas I LOVE about this pattern web site--is the submitted photos from home sewers. Re this one, I love your dress, and it really shows the contrast between how the photo on the pattern envelope appears, and, somehow, much more truthfully, a geniune home sewn garment actually looks and is. As well as what it can be like to wear the item. Thanks!
6/5/10 3:18 PM
fattyboomboom said...
Thanks for this very thorough review, especially the warning about both sides of the fabric showing. You look so cute!
7/15/10 1:01 PM
Julia Bobbin said...
Fantastic review and fantastic dress!
11/22/10 8:33 PM
MissyBelle said...
I am literally taking notes from your review. I will press forward to make this dress and heed all of your advice. Thanks for sharing and you look fantastic by the way ;-)
1/3/11 11:28 PM
pieraci2 said...
Thank you so much for mentioning the scimpy facings and the fact that there is not very much "wiggle room" when walking. My daughter chose this dress and when I do, I will line the bodice as you suggested. As far as the narrowness of the skirt part of the dress, I suppose I could widen it a bit when I cut it from the fabric. What do you think? Is that a good idea? (Since you already made and wore the dress). Thanks again for the review and picture. You look very cute in the dress!!!
3/20/11 2:18 AM
DebraWenlock said...
This is a gorgeous dress - I love the combination of the feminine frills with the bold geometric print. It's such a shame it's not also a joy to wear! Thanks for the cautions & recommendations.
4/22/11 6:00 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

McCall's 6109

photo
by: SueV

Review
SewBaby Alphabet Take-Along book Pattern

SewBaby Alphabet Take-Along book Pattern

Buy Now
Victory Anouk Paper Pattern

Victory Anouk Paper Pattern

Buy Now
Drafted from RTW 000002

photo
by: Ms. McCall

Review