SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1036 (MISSES' JACKET)

12 more reviews
Viewed 1206 times 
Reviewed by:TJSEWS
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About TJSEWSstar
NJ United States
Member since: 1/7/06
Reviews written: 18
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 10 people
patterns reviewed: 13
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/26/10 9:15 PM
Last Updated:3/16/14 10:57 PM
Project Photo:Vogue Patterns: 1036 by TJSEWS

Pattern Photo:Vogue Patterns 1036
Vogue Patterns Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Recommend, with Modifications
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 16 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
Available for sale on PR: $6.99 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Denim  [See other projects in this fabric]
fPattern Description: Semi-fitted hip-length jeans type jacket with sleeve details

Pattern Sizing: All sizes included. I used Size B

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Yes

Were the instructions easy to follow? Yes and there were many helpful fitting tips at the beginning of the instructions

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? I liked the styling of the jacket. The princess seams were very helpful to me in making a full bust adjustment. I loved the sleeve detail - very eye catching. I used purple denim with gold topstitching thread and I really liked the effect. sleeve detail
However, my particular pattern had the front waistband pattern piece missing. Maybe I had a dud pattern? Maybe something happened in production? I double checked and it did not fall on the floor. So what I did was make a muslin of the main bodice pieces and back waistband and so I was able to figure out how to create the pattern piece. (Like seeing the shape of the one missing puzzle piece once all the other pieces are together.)

Once I fit the muslin, I proceeded to cut out in fabric, including the sleeve. Much to my dismay, the sleeve was way too tight. What I discovered was that the pattern was off by one sleeve size. For example, the pattern piece says that Size B should have a bicep of 13 1/4 inches. However, when I measured from seam to seam for Size B, the measurement was 12 5/8 inches which was for Size A. I therefore sewed the seam with 1/4 inch seam allowance which provided me with the room I needed and prevented me from scrapping this project.

I decided to line the jacket but beware! I had to add a pleat to the center back for movement.

The sleeve detail with all of the small pieces that go together to me is the highlight of this jacket. When I put the pieces together, I found that the bottom edges did not align with each other. I therefore trimmed the edges so that they were all even but now the sleeves were too short. What I did was finish the sleeve with bias strips and sewed them on close to the edge of the sleeve which gave me the length I lost by trimming.

I was surprised to find so many problems with a Vogue pattern. I am glad I got it for $3.99 at a local sale!

Fabric Used: Purple denim purchased at Mood Fabrics in NYC a long, long time ago.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? Yes, I do recommend the pattern but just be sure to measure those sleeves first to determine the correct sleeve for you. The jacket is too distinctive to make again.
Available for sale on PR: $6.99 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Rhoda K said...
Your jacket photo link isn't working, but I like the style shown on the pattern. Sorry you had a problem with the pattern. You might want to let the Vogue folks know - they may give you a freebie pattern as a consolation prize ;-)
2/26/10 11:24 PM
dorothyn said...
Thanks for the detailed info on this pattern. I would love to see your rendition, but your photo link doesn't appear to be working.
2/27/10 7:03 AM
RadarRadiance said...
I would also love to see more photos. I bought this pattern, fell in love with it but now I am a little hesitant on using it. Great review, thanks.
2/27/10 10:30 AM
cindyann said...
Looks great! I'd love to see more pictures. Striking sleeves with the gold topstitching.
2/27/10 10:47 AM
JETrinity said...
Very nice job on the sleeves.
2/27/10 1:03 PM
Laurie Lou said...
Really Cool sleeve detail and bummer on the pattern! That would really irritate me too. Yes It woud be nice to see more pix but understand...I had trouble downloading more pix on my review...I agree...let Vogue know of the mistakes you found...they do listen.
2/27/10 3:10 PM
stsimon said...
Once I got a Vogue pattern that was missing one of the two instruction sheets. I called them and they sent out a replacement right away. It's worth a try!
2/27/10 8:30 PM
TJSEWS said...
Hi everone, thanks so much for your encouraging feedback! I was finally able to get the photos to post. I also just wrote to Vogue and let them know of the pattern problems. Maybe there was some mishap at the factory or in the quality control dept.
2/27/10 8:37 PM
OlindaM said...
I love your jacket and agree the sleeve detail is wonderful. Never heard of so many probs with a Vogue before - poor you. You succeeded despite it all.
2/28/10 1:31 PM
carolynw said...
This is a great looking jeans jacket - must get the pattern and thanks for a great review with some very important thigns to know about this pattern's short comings
2/28/10 3:42 PM
marjenann said...
Stunning jacket, and your workmanship is impeccable!! Thanks for sharing!!
9/3/10 5:54 PM
Jrhee said...
Gorgeous jacket, love the color!
3/16/14 9:13 PM
PattyE said...
Nice jacket! I have this pattern and I will certainly check it for missing parts and other issues. Thanks for the warning.
3/16/14 9:16 PM
CissieW said...
Your jacket turned out beautifully, despite pattern issues.
3/16/14 10:11 PM
sew2little said...
Fabulous top stitching! Great jacket!
3/17/14 7:55 PM
Hilary said...
Your jacket came out very well, despite all the problems. I love the fabric and the contrasting top-stitching, it's very striking! I hope Vogue got back with you & maybe they'll fix this pattern in the future :P
3/18/14 7:22 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Excellent! Your jacket looks great.
3/28/14 6:57 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

BurdaStyle Downloadable 3197

photo
by: MiniandMer...

Review
BurdaStyle Magazine 02-2013-127

photo
by: CindyJH

Review
Favorite Things Little Prairie Girl Pattern

Favorite Things Little Prairie Girl Pattern

Buy Now
Paradiso Designs Xine Basket Bag Pattern

Paradiso Designs Xine Basket Bag Pattern

Buy Now