SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 2713 

2 more reviews
Viewed 1664 times 
Reviewed by:sewnew
photo

 
 
About sewnewstar
CA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 6
Sewing skills:Beginner
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 5
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/21/04 3:10 AM
Last Updated:3/21/04 7:54 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
See other patterns in this category: Vests    Coat/Jacket    Suits / Separates    Skirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
25 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
WJean said...
Recently, I've decided to 'try' Kwik Sew Patterns and discovered 2713. I liked it because of it's design lines which are simply elegant. I truly appreciated your detailed review. I too plan to add a lining to the jacket and most likely the skirt too. Thanks for the heads-up on the length of the jacket. If it is really short and in need of additional length for the version you made I tend to think the longer version's length may need to be checked also in order to get the length that's depicted on the pattern. Many of the sewing techniques that you described are ones that I employ also, and I was glad to read about them. Again, I truly appreciate your review.
7/17/06 10:18 AM
MaryBeth said...
This jacket is lovely and is such a good style. I look forward to the skirt after your Renaissance Faire reviews! I'm researching sleeves also and found this in Classic Tailoring Techniques by R Cabrera & PF Meyers, "For a tailor, the fall of a well-set sleeve is a thing of beauty. There is more involved here than simply fitting the top edge of the sleeve neatly into the jacket armhole." pg157. I've been researching tailored setin sleeves and haven't had much luck finding out how to cure sleeve ills. I've been looking for a "how-to" much like Palmer/Altos' FFRP to diagnose and cure. Hm, maybe a good class?
3/28/04 8:43 AM
SewLong said...
Wow! You did a great job. It looks perfect.
3/23/04 11:41 AM
Skymom said...
Wow, I never looked twice at this pattern in the catalogue, but your jacket is great--very elegant.
3/22/04 1:55 PM
Sammie said...
Your jacket looks very nice on you and you did a very nice job of sewing it!
3/22/04 1:53 PM
jlg said...
SewNew, I had to go and buy this today because of your review. Thanks.
3/22/04 1:10 PM
Asa Hagstrom said...
Congratulations sewnew! You made a beautiful jacket and a great review, too!
3/22/04 12:17 PM
sewnew said...
Thank you everyone for your supportive comments. It means a lot coming from all of you expert sewers. Georgene, thanks for the tips on the armscye. I noticed the lines on the sides of the jacket and the back and the sleeve seems to collapse off the sleeve head, but I didn't know what to do about it; I thought it was because I didn't sew the sleeve correctly. I did move the notch of the sleeve forward. Thank you again everyone.
3/22/04 9:46 AM
Ann C said...
Wow, how proud you must be. Definitely come up to intermediate.
3/22/04 8:31 AM
AnneM said...
I have this pattern also, and will probably want to make the jacket lined. View B is definitely a crop jacket "as is" from the pattern envelope.
3/22/04 8:10 AM
SandraB said...
Your jacket is really lovely.You certainly put alot of effort into it. Great job.
3/22/04 7:59 AM
Debbie Spriggs said...
Beautiful jacket! Thanks for a very detailed review!
3/22/04 7:44 AM
Georgene said...
Your jacket is really nicely done. I see the drag lines in the front sleeve area. It looks like you could scoop a little out of the sleeve cap in the front along the armhole seam. Also, did you move your sleeve notch when you moved the shoulder forward? Otherwise you may have too much length in the front sleeve cap. It looks like it needs to be picked up a little. For your next version (and I am sure you will be making this one over and over!) try another muslin and work on that sleeve cap at the front armhole.....you may have issues at the back as well, but can't tell without a photo. In any case this a a very nice jacket and lovingly constructed. No one but a fussy nit-picker will notice, this looks better than 9/10's of what you find out there in RTW.
3/22/04 3:56 AM
Skye said...
your jacket looks great
3/22/04 1:28 AM
Dot said...
Beautiful! You really did a great job.
3/21/04 9:22 PM
retiredpagirl said...
I think you need to upgrade your sewing skills from a beginner. Nice job and great review! :) Keep sewing!
3/21/04 9:15 PM
jlg said...
I agree; your jacket is beautiful. Great job.
3/21/04 8:45 PM
Lisette said...
Your jacket looks wonderful! You did a great job.
3/21/04 8:14 PM
sewnew said...
Just added photo, I hope the link works ... Skye, I haven't worked on the skirt yet and it may take awhile. I need to work on Renaissance Fair costumes for the kids. No fitting issues! Yea
3/21/04 8:05 PM
Skye said...
looking forward to your photo. I made up a muslin of view B in a ultrasuede last year and loved this pattern too I am 5'3'' and I agree I need to add 1.5" to my next version for this coming winter. Your jacket sounds great . Have you tried the skirt pattern yet?
3/21/04 4:50 PM
Liana said...
Great review, and I can't wait for the picture either! Congratulations on a very successful project.
3/21/04 11:05 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Great review and look forward to the photo. I have had this pattern for awhile but have not made it up. Reading your review makes me go look at my pattern and my stash.
3/21/04 10:20 AM
cindyann said...
Can't wait to see your pic. Thanks for the excellent review.
3/21/04 8:46 AM
PattyU said...
Great review!
3/21/04 5:01 AM
ReneeO said...
Oh! That sounds wonderful, can't wait to see the pic. I'm glad all of your effort paid off. I have tried some hand stitching and found it infinitely more relaxing than the machine, maybe one day I'll be able to tailor my own suits as well. Congrats again!!!
3/21/04 3:46 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

SewBaby Five Easy Booties Pattern

SewBaby Five Easy Booties Pattern

Buy Now
Favorite Things Little Belle Skirts Pattern

Favorite Things Little Belle Skirts Pattern

Buy Now
Simplicity 9819OOP

photo
by: mscstone

Review