SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 2713 

2 more reviews
Viewed 1663 times 
Reviewed by:sewnew
photo

 
 
About sewnewstar
CA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 6
Sewing skills:Beginner
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 5
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/21/04 3:10 AM
Last Updated:3/21/04 7:54 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
See other patterns in this category: Vests    Coat/Jacket    Suits / Separates    Skirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
25 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
ReneeO said...
Oh! That sounds wonderful, can't wait to see the pic. I'm glad all of your effort paid off. I have tried some hand stitching and found it infinitely more relaxing than the machine, maybe one day I'll be able to tailor my own suits as well. Congrats again!!!
3/21/04 3:46 AM
PattyU said...
Great review!
3/21/04 5:01 AM
cindyann said...
Can't wait to see your pic. Thanks for the excellent review.
3/21/04 8:46 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Great review and look forward to the photo. I have had this pattern for awhile but have not made it up. Reading your review makes me go look at my pattern and my stash.
3/21/04 10:20 AM
Liana said...
Great review, and I can't wait for the picture either! Congratulations on a very successful project.
3/21/04 11:05 AM
Skye said...
looking forward to your photo. I made up a muslin of view B in a ultrasuede last year and loved this pattern too I am 5'3'' and I agree I need to add 1.5" to my next version for this coming winter. Your jacket sounds great . Have you tried the skirt pattern yet?
3/21/04 4:50 PM
sewnew said...
Just added photo, I hope the link works ... Skye, I haven't worked on the skirt yet and it may take awhile. I need to work on Renaissance Fair costumes for the kids. No fitting issues! Yea
3/21/04 8:05 PM
Lisette said...
Your jacket looks wonderful! You did a great job.
3/21/04 8:14 PM
jlg said...
I agree; your jacket is beautiful. Great job.
3/21/04 8:45 PM
retiredpagirl said...
I think you need to upgrade your sewing skills from a beginner. Nice job and great review! :) Keep sewing!
3/21/04 9:15 PM
Dot said...
Beautiful! You really did a great job.
3/21/04 9:22 PM
Skye said...
your jacket looks great
3/22/04 1:28 AM
Georgene said...
Your jacket is really nicely done. I see the drag lines in the front sleeve area. It looks like you could scoop a little out of the sleeve cap in the front along the armhole seam. Also, did you move your sleeve notch when you moved the shoulder forward? Otherwise you may have too much length in the front sleeve cap. It looks like it needs to be picked up a little. For your next version (and I am sure you will be making this one over and over!) try another muslin and work on that sleeve cap at the front armhole.....you may have issues at the back as well, but can't tell without a photo. In any case this a a very nice jacket and lovingly constructed. No one but a fussy nit-picker will notice, this looks better than 9/10's of what you find out there in RTW.
3/22/04 3:56 AM
Debbie Spriggs said...
Beautiful jacket! Thanks for a very detailed review!
3/22/04 7:44 AM
SandraB said...
Your jacket is really lovely.You certainly put alot of effort into it. Great job.
3/22/04 7:59 AM
AnneM said...
I have this pattern also, and will probably want to make the jacket lined. View B is definitely a crop jacket "as is" from the pattern envelope.
3/22/04 8:10 AM
Ann C said...
Wow, how proud you must be. Definitely come up to intermediate.
3/22/04 8:31 AM
sewnew said...
Thank you everyone for your supportive comments. It means a lot coming from all of you expert sewers. Georgene, thanks for the tips on the armscye. I noticed the lines on the sides of the jacket and the back and the sleeve seems to collapse off the sleeve head, but I didn't know what to do about it; I thought it was because I didn't sew the sleeve correctly. I did move the notch of the sleeve forward. Thank you again everyone.
3/22/04 9:46 AM
Asa Hagstrom said...
Congratulations sewnew! You made a beautiful jacket and a great review, too!
3/22/04 12:17 PM
jlg said...
SewNew, I had to go and buy this today because of your review. Thanks.
3/22/04 1:10 PM
Sammie said...
Your jacket looks very nice on you and you did a very nice job of sewing it!
3/22/04 1:53 PM
Skymom said...
Wow, I never looked twice at this pattern in the catalogue, but your jacket is great--very elegant.
3/22/04 1:55 PM
SewLong said...
Wow! You did a great job. It looks perfect.
3/23/04 11:41 AM
MaryBeth said...
This jacket is lovely and is such a good style. I look forward to the skirt after your Renaissance Faire reviews! I'm researching sleeves also and found this in Classic Tailoring Techniques by R Cabrera & PF Meyers, "For a tailor, the fall of a well-set sleeve is a thing of beauty. There is more involved here than simply fitting the top edge of the sleeve neatly into the jacket armhole." pg157. I've been researching tailored setin sleeves and haven't had much luck finding out how to cure sleeve ills. I've been looking for a "how-to" much like Palmer/Altos' FFRP to diagnose and cure. Hm, maybe a good class?
3/28/04 8:43 AM
WJean said...
Recently, I've decided to 'try' Kwik Sew Patterns and discovered 2713. I liked it because of it's design lines which are simply elegant. I truly appreciated your detailed review. I too plan to add a lining to the jacket and most likely the skirt too. Thanks for the heads-up on the length of the jacket. If it is really short and in need of additional length for the version you made I tend to think the longer version's length may need to be checked also in order to get the length that's depicted on the pattern. Many of the sewing techniques that you described are ones that I employ also, and I was glad to read about them. Again, I truly appreciate your review.
7/17/06 10:18 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Simplicity 2508

photo
by: zombieamel...

Review
A-Door-Ables

A-Door-Ables

Buy Now
TROUSER DRAFT - A CD book by Kenneth King

TROUSER DRAFT - A CD book by Kenneth King

Buy Now
Vogue Patterns 1287

photo
by: clothingen...

Review