Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 5396 (Suit Jacket Palmer&Pletsch) thumbsup - Type:Coordinates    printable version
Viewed 333 times 7 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
Reviewed by:JudyP
photo
Friend of PR
About JudyPstarstar
NY USA
Member since: 7/15/05
Reviews written: 58
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 30 people
patterns reviewed: 55
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/1/10 8:52 PM
Last Updated:3/1/10 8:54 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Christas said...
Oh goodness, you are too hard on yourself! The back is really CUTE! I love the little band with gathered fabric..... great detail! And .... your jeans aren't THAT bad! You really got a wonderful fit on your jacket. The shoulders, bust, really everything looks very nice.
3/1/10 9:04 PM
Renren said...
Yeah, I was expecting something really saggy, then I clicked on the link and I thought, darn, everything looks so nice! Love the jacket and your description of the fabric makes me wish I could touch it! Very pretty garment and very wearable. I have to give the P/P patterns a try.
3/1/10 9:47 PM
moushka said...
Lovely jacket, including the back inset. It's a nice detail. I'm sure you'll enjoy wearing it. Thanks for the review.
3/1/10 10:44 PM
davin said...
On the contrary, I think the back looks interesting and has some shape, rather than a blank-wall, featureless expanse. You probably will get used to it!
3/2/10 1:27 AM
paulakiss said...
Great jacket. Looks RTW but fits you like a glove! I actually like the back. I don't think it makes your back look bigger, just the opposite.
3/2/10 1:28 AM
no7262 said...
Judy, it looks great! Even the gathers in the back! You did a beautiful job! Nora :)
3/2/10 6:46 AM
JudyP said...
Thanks everyone! I guess we are always harder on ourselves! I definitely will wear this jacket as it does fit well and the fabric is yummy!
3/2/10 6:49 AM
Riesie said...
Oh, I love this. The fit is excellent, especially through the upper chest/shoulders (that's always my difficult part). And I'm with everybody else - love the belt detail on the back.
3/2/10 9:21 AM
marycds said...
Great jacket. It looks like it fits really well. Clinton and Stacy on "What Not to Wear" would say that the details on the back divide the space and make you look smaller. I need to look at this pattern since I have a lot of space. Great job.
3/2/10 10:47 PM
michellep74 said...
Fabulous jacket!
3/29/10 2:46 PM
sewnsewtoo said...
Lo;ve the jacket. I agree with the above comments. Your jacket is very flattering.
3/29/10 5:17 PM
Sherril Miller said...
beautiful!
3/29/10 8:01 PM
juschu said...
Judy, I love this jacket. I would wear it all the time, and the detail in the back really appeals to me. I am going pattern shopping!
3/30/10 9:42 AM
o3b said...
Hmmm...would it work to turn the back gathers into a box pleat?
3/31/10 2:21 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

Burda Plus Fashion Magazine 02-2011-421
photo
Review by tiadia on 6/2/12
Read Review

Simplicity 1537 Pattern ( Size 10-12-14-16-18 )
Simplicity 1537 Pattern ( Size 10-12-14-16-18 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7336 Pattern
Burda 7336 Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 2615
photo
Review by annakeeton on 9/29/13
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Sadie Digital Pattern ( Size 12 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Sadie Digital Pattern ( Size 12 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Reversible Sun Bonnet Digital Pattern ( Size newborn - child )
Peek-A Boo Reversible Sun Bonnet Digital Pattern ( Size newborn - child )

Details
Price: $4.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Victoria Jones Collection Men's Hawaiian Aloha Shirt
Victoria Jones Collection Men's Hawaiian Aloha Shirt

Details
Price: $14.25
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Gracie Handbag
Gracie Handbag

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us