SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5396 (Suit Jacket Palmer&Pletsch)

7 more reviews
Viewed 335 times 
Reviewed by:JudyP
photo

 
 
About JudyPstarstar
NY USA
Member since: 7/15/05
Reviews written: 58
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 30 people
patterns reviewed: 55
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/1/10 8:52 PM
Last Updated:3/1/10 8:54 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Christas said...
Oh goodness, you are too hard on yourself! The back is really CUTE! I love the little band with gathered fabric..... great detail! And .... your jeans aren't THAT bad! You really got a wonderful fit on your jacket. The shoulders, bust, really everything looks very nice.
3/1/10 9:04 PM
Renren said...
Yeah, I was expecting something really saggy, then I clicked on the link and I thought, darn, everything looks so nice! Love the jacket and your description of the fabric makes me wish I could touch it! Very pretty garment and very wearable. I have to give the P/P patterns a try.
3/1/10 9:47 PM
moushka said...
Lovely jacket, including the back inset. It's a nice detail. I'm sure you'll enjoy wearing it. Thanks for the review.
3/1/10 10:44 PM
davin said...
On the contrary, I think the back looks interesting and has some shape, rather than a blank-wall, featureless expanse. You probably will get used to it!
3/2/10 1:27 AM
paulakiss said...
Great jacket. Looks RTW but fits you like a glove! I actually like the back. I don't think it makes your back look bigger, just the opposite.
3/2/10 1:28 AM
no7262 said...
Judy, it looks great! Even the gathers in the back! You did a beautiful job! Nora :)
3/2/10 6:46 AM
JudyP said...
Thanks everyone! I guess we are always harder on ourselves! I definitely will wear this jacket as it does fit well and the fabric is yummy!
3/2/10 6:49 AM
Riesie said...
Oh, I love this. The fit is excellent, especially through the upper chest/shoulders (that's always my difficult part). And I'm with everybody else - love the belt detail on the back.
3/2/10 9:21 AM
marycds said...
Great jacket. It looks like it fits really well. Clinton and Stacy on "What Not to Wear" would say that the details on the back divide the space and make you look smaller. I need to look at this pattern since I have a lot of space. Great job.
3/2/10 10:47 PM
michellep74 said...
Fabulous jacket!
3/29/10 2:46 PM
sewnsewtoo said...
Lo;ve the jacket. I agree with the above comments. Your jacket is very flattering.
3/29/10 5:17 PM
Sherril Miller said...
beautiful!
3/29/10 8:01 PM
juschu said...
Judy, I love this jacket. I would wear it all the time, and the detail in the back really appeals to me. I am going pattern shopping!
3/30/10 9:42 AM
o3b said...
Hmmm...would it work to turn the back gathers into a box pleat?
3/31/10 2:21 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Butterick 5353

photo
by: Jessamaka

Review
Jennifer Stern The Perfectly Fitted Shirt by the Cup-Full Pattern ( Size 6-14(Cup A-DD) )

Jennifer Stern The Perfectly Fitted Shirt by the Cup-Full Pattern ( Size 6-14(Cup A-DD) )

Buy Now
Petite Plus V202 VHS

Petite Plus V202 VHS

Buy Now