SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5396 (Suit Jacket Palmer&Pletsch)

7 more reviews
Viewed 335 times 
Reviewed by:JudyP
photo

 
 
About JudyPstarstar
NY USA
Member since: 7/15/05
Reviews written: 58
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 30 people
patterns reviewed: 55
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/1/10 8:52 PM
Last Updated:3/1/10 8:54 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
o3b said...
Hmmm...would it work to turn the back gathers into a box pleat?
3/31/10 2:21 AM
juschu said...
Judy, I love this jacket. I would wear it all the time, and the detail in the back really appeals to me. I am going pattern shopping!
3/30/10 9:42 AM
Sherril Miller said...
beautiful!
3/29/10 8:01 PM
sewnsewtoo said...
Lo;ve the jacket. I agree with the above comments. Your jacket is very flattering.
3/29/10 5:17 PM
michellep74 said...
Fabulous jacket!
3/29/10 2:46 PM
marycds said...
Great jacket. It looks like it fits really well. Clinton and Stacy on "What Not to Wear" would say that the details on the back divide the space and make you look smaller. I need to look at this pattern since I have a lot of space. Great job.
3/2/10 10:47 PM
Riesie said...
Oh, I love this. The fit is excellent, especially through the upper chest/shoulders (that's always my difficult part). And I'm with everybody else - love the belt detail on the back.
3/2/10 9:21 AM
JudyP said...
Thanks everyone! I guess we are always harder on ourselves! I definitely will wear this jacket as it does fit well and the fabric is yummy!
3/2/10 6:49 AM
no7262 said...
Judy, it looks great! Even the gathers in the back! You did a beautiful job! Nora :)
3/2/10 6:46 AM
paulakiss said...
Great jacket. Looks RTW but fits you like a glove! I actually like the back. I don't think it makes your back look bigger, just the opposite.
3/2/10 1:28 AM
davin said...
On the contrary, I think the back looks interesting and has some shape, rather than a blank-wall, featureless expanse. You probably will get used to it!
3/2/10 1:27 AM
moushka said...
Lovely jacket, including the back inset. It's a nice detail. I'm sure you'll enjoy wearing it. Thanks for the review.
3/1/10 10:44 PM
Renren said...
Yeah, I was expecting something really saggy, then I clicked on the link and I thought, darn, everything looks so nice! Love the jacket and your description of the fabric makes me wish I could touch it! Very pretty garment and very wearable. I have to give the P/P patterns a try.
3/1/10 9:47 PM
Christas said...
Oh goodness, you are too hard on yourself! The back is really CUTE! I love the little band with gathered fabric..... great detail! And .... your jeans aren't THAT bad! You really got a wonderful fit on your jacket. The shoulders, bust, really everything looks very nice.
3/1/10 9:04 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Class Details

Online Class
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Class Details

BurdaStyle Magazine 06-2009-125

photo
by: yummymummy...

Review
Favorite Things The Lunch Bag Pattern

Favorite Things The Lunch Bag Pattern

More Info
Petite Plus 401 Pattern

Petite Plus 401 Pattern

More Info
Simplicity 4079

photo
by: Lori9999

Review