Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 4712 (vintage mens shirt pattern) thumbsup - Type:Mens - Shirts    printable version
Viewed 318 times 7 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
Reviewed by:Peter in NYC
photo
About Peter in NYCstarstarstarstar
USA
Member since: 6/9/09
Reviews written: 67
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 120 people
patterns reviewed: 61
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/3/10 5:20 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Michele19 said...
The shirt looks great on both of you and I can't wait to see the shorts.
3/3/10 6:39 AM
voet said...
Another fine effort. You have the perfect body for vintage patterns. Actually, your serger would help tame the curly edge of your sleeve. You might have to play with the variable feed to get it right. Also, you could use some interfacing if it is really uncooperative. I once used some organza ribbon on a stretchy knight. I found it in a narrow width (I think it was 1/4 inch.) I first sewed the ribbon on with a straight stitch and then serged it.
3/3/10 6:59 AM
voet said...
Another fine effort. You have the perfect body for vintage patterns. Actually, your serger would help tame the curly edge of your sleeve. You might have to play with the variable feed to get it right. Also, you could use some interfacing if it is really uncooperative. I once used some organza ribbon on a stretchy knight. I found it in a narrow width (I think it was 1/4 inch.) I first sewed the ribbon on with a straight stitch and then serged it.
3/3/10 6:59 AM
Ripple Dandelion said...
I wouldn't have thought a nice collar and placket was possible in that thick terry, but you pulled it off! Very interesting that the Spartan trumped the ZZ machine.
3/3/10 7:38 AM
mssewcrazy said...
That is a nice shirt and I love the colors in it and the tablecloth fabric - should make a neat spring set. Since you didn't have as much trouble with the hem in the future I would add enough length to the sleeve for a topstitched hem like the body of the shirt and use a tiny zigzag or a double needle for the stitching. You might try some tissue paper underneath to stabilize as you stitch. It comes in colored packs also if the little fragments left behind from tearing away bother you. You can also buy stabilizer made for machine embroidery that you might like that dissolves in water. You can cut strips to put on places where the stitching is a problem.
3/3/10 8:02 AM
Cathy Loves Fabric said...
Great looking shirt with a great fit. I was hesitant at first when you said you were making it from terry cloth, but it looks terrific!
3/3/10 8:05 AM
mollyshark said...
Wow..I inherited a huge patch of Vera tablecloth fabric from an aunt who used to do a lot of home dec sewing (and at 92 has finally decided to give it up). Shorts might be perfect for it. The classic Vera large tulip design. Oh, and nice shirt, btw! LOL.
3/3/10 8:45 AM
neufy said...
Love your reviews Peter. I watch for them
3/3/10 10:02 AM
RLL said...
Beautiful job with the tough fabric. Gorgeous color.
3/3/10 10:27 AM
ryan's mom said...
It's a great shirt! I'll have to look for this style in the pattern books because it's perfect for our school's dress code for my boys. Different fabrics can really change the look with a pattern like this. Thanks for the review!
3/3/10 1:30 PM
thirteenstitches said...
Nice shirt. I love the color. You could cut a bias strip of fabric 2 or 3 inches wide the length of the sleeve, stitch it into a tube/band and then fold it wrong sides together and add it to the bottom of your sleeve. You could then topstitch the seam to make it lay flat. I think that might be a nice finish for it. In any case nicely done.
3/3/10 1:36 PM
Peter in NYC said...
Thanks, everybody. Thirteen Stitches, that's a great idea!
3/3/10 2:17 PM
Rhoda K said...
Well done - the shirt looks very nice on you and Michael.
3/3/10 3:03 PM
FreyaStark said...
Very nice. It's a good basic pattern that should become a favourite.
3/3/10 3:53 PM
TracyB said...
Really nice shirt, Peter.
3/3/10 9:34 PM
paulakiss said...
Peter, that hirt rocks! I never would've thought you could make terry cloth cool! I think the sleeves look good as is. The fabric looks soft and cuddly; I know cuddly isn't what you were going for. lol. Great job!
3/4/10 1:44 AM
Nancy K said...
Very nice for your first polo out of such thick fabric. You can use fusible interfacing on knit hems to stabilize them and it usually will stop the rolling. The other suggestion is to cut a deeper hem which is a little easier to control.
3/4/10 8:05 AM
eugenia123 said...
Wow Peter - great job. You are looking super cool and casual in this fab terry cloth number. Bring on that warm weather!
3/4/10 11:12 AM
Hilary said...
Oooh, I just bought this pattern at my favorite local thrift store for a quarter, uncut :D and was hoping to see a review-and lo and behold I found TWO, yah! Your shirt looks great and suits you well. Great review!
8/14/12 6:38 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $29.00)
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns

McCall's 5335 coordinates
photo
Review by Linda G on 1/6/08
Read Review

Vogue 8921 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Vogue 8921 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 6900 Pattern
Burda 6900 Pattern

Details
Price: $10.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 3745 Misses Dresses
photo
Review by shannie on 8/6/08
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Bathing Beauty Swim Cap Digital Pattern ( Size infant- toddler- child )
Peek-A Boo Bathing Beauty Swim Cap Digital Pattern ( Size infant- toddler- child )

Details
Price: $4.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Clara Twirl Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Clara Twirl Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

10 inch Serrated Edge Shears
10 inch Serrated Edge Shears

Details
Price: $89.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Maggie
Maggie

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us