SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fabulous Fit
Fabulous Fit

Pattern Reviews> Textile Studio> 1205 (marseilles Top)

11 more reviews
Viewed 3111 times 
Reviewed by:mudcat
photo

 
 
About mudcatstarstar
USA
Member since: 1/17/02
Reviews: 92 (patterns: 72)
Skill level:Advanced
Favored by: 13 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/22/04 10:41 PM
Last Updated:10/24/04 7:35 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 Pattern Details

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
SANDI DEVOY said... (10/26/04 12:39 PM) Reply
I made the other version of this pattern and found it too be way to big. I tried to do some adjusting but decided this pattern was not for me. The only TS patterns I find that fit me are the LH ones
Sherril Miller said... (4/3/04 8:43 PM) Reply
I added darts to this pattern and I think it fit fairly well, except that I need to add just a bit more at the hips. The complaint I have with this pattern is that it is made for someone with football paded sized shoulders. Alice, a knit may be a good idea, but you probably need to shorten the top above the bust to get a better range of motion in your sleeves.
mudcat said... (3/23/04 7:28 PM) Reply
One more thing...I might try it again in a rayon jersey knit.
mudcat said... (3/23/04 7:27 PM) Reply
I have KS 3161 but haven't made it yet. I'm almost wondering if the small would have worked better but then I'd probably have to wear the shoulder pads and I prefer not to.
KarenP said... (3/23/04 11:53 AM) Reply
Alice, Thanks for this review - I've been wanting to see a picture of view B made up as it's on my list of items to make (I also thought it would be a good pattern to copy JJill). I will be sure to measure the pattern before choosing my size thanks to your experience!
Gigi Louis said... (3/23/04 8:02 AM) Reply
Alice, I'm so glad you reviewed this as it is on my wish list. I think I will use the KS version instead. It does look very nice on you but I know how uncomfortable tight sleeves can be. :-(
Ann C said... (3/23/04 7:24 AM) Reply
Your top looks nice but sorry the fit didn't work. Every time I read a review of Textile Studio or Loes Hines, it seems like the sleeves are too tight. Loes are you listening?
Mini said... (3/23/04 6:43 AM) Reply
Alice, I think you might like Kwik Sew 3161 as a alternative to this top. I made the Marseille recently, using the largest size, and mine seemed way too BIG:)! While I like this style, I think the fit of this pattern is not Textile Studio's greatest. The sleeves are easy to put in, but the long sleeve is too narrow. From the photo it looks like the bust is too tight, and posssibly the armholes are low as well.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Class Details

Online Class
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Class Details

Simplicity 5461

photo
by: Kip C

Review
SewBaby The Sleeve Saver Bib Pattern

SewBaby The Sleeve Saver Bib Pattern

Pattern Details
Jamie Christina Honey Girl Dress and Top Pattern (JC304HG)

Jamie Christina Honey Girl Dress and Top Pattern (JC304HG)

Pattern Details