Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Textile Studio: 1205 (marseilles Top) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 3109 times 11 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
Reviewed by:mudcat
photo
Friend of PR
About mudcatstarstar
USA
Member since: 1/17/02
Reviews written: 91
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 13 people
patterns reviewed: 71
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/22/04 10:41 PM
Last Updated:10/24/04 7:35 PM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $16.00     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Mini said...
Alice, I think you might like Kwik Sew 3161 as a alternative to this top. I made the Marseille recently, using the largest size, and mine seemed way too BIG:)! While I like this style, I think the fit of this pattern is not Textile Studio's greatest. The sleeves are easy to put in, but the long sleeve is too narrow. From the photo it looks like the bust is too tight, and posssibly the armholes are low as well.
3/23/04 6:43 AM
Ann C said...
Your top looks nice but sorry the fit didn't work. Every time I read a review of Textile Studio or Loes Hines, it seems like the sleeves are too tight. Loes are you listening?
3/23/04 7:24 AM
Gigi Louis said...
Alice, I'm so glad you reviewed this as it is on my wish list. I think I will use the KS version instead. It does look very nice on you but I know how uncomfortable tight sleeves can be. :-(
3/23/04 8:02 AM
KarenP said...
Alice, Thanks for this review - I've been wanting to see a picture of view B made up as it's on my list of items to make (I also thought it would be a good pattern to copy JJill). I will be sure to measure the pattern before choosing my size thanks to your experience!
3/23/04 11:53 AM
mudcat said...
I have KS 3161 but haven't made it yet. I'm almost wondering if the small would have worked better but then I'd probably have to wear the shoulder pads and I prefer not to.
3/23/04 7:27 PM
mudcat said...
One more thing...I might try it again in a rayon jersey knit.
3/23/04 7:28 PM
Sherril Miller said...
I added darts to this pattern and I think it fit fairly well, except that I need to add just a bit more at the hips. The complaint I have with this pattern is that it is made for someone with football paded sized shoulders. Alice, a knit may be a good idea, but you probably need to shorten the top above the bust to get a better range of motion in your sleeves.
4/3/04 8:43 PM
SANDI DEVOY said...
I made the other version of this pattern and found it too be way to big. I tried to do some adjusting but decided this pattern was not for me. The only TS patterns I find that fit me are the LH ones
10/26/04 12:39 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Simplicity 2264
photo
Review by Crys0904 on 4/11/12
Read Review

Kwik Sew 3389 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3389 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1376 Pattern ( Size 20W-28W )
Simplicity 1376 Pattern ( Size 20W-28W )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 5979
photo
Review by maedchen on 12/31/09
Read Review

Sis Boom Ethan Shirt Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Ethan Shirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Birthday Girl Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Birthday Girl Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Patchwork Purse Pattern
SewBaby Patchwork Purse Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Quick Kitchen Gifts Pattern
SewBaby Quick Kitchen Gifts Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us