SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
PR Weekend Los Angeles

Pattern Reviews> Sewing Workshop> Valencia Jacket & Pants 

3 more reviews
Viewed 642 times 
Reviewed by:sfshaza
photo

 
 
About sfshazastar
CA USA
Member since: 9/12/07
Reviews written: 168
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 104 people
patterns reviewed: 168
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/3/10 5:31 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    Pants    
Available for sale on PR: $22.95 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $22.95 Pattern Details

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Historical Patterns
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
fryman said... (3/5/10 9:32 AM) Reply
fringe accent is great!
marthamyers said... (3/4/10 9:46 AM) Reply
Great combination of fabric, pattern, and sewer intuition. Can't wait to see pix of it on you!
carolynw said... (3/4/10 9:43 AM) Reply
Looks great - I know the fabric caused you grief but it looks real nice!! Love the fringe
Leslie Bonner said... (3/4/10 8:18 AM) Reply
Love it, love the fabric, love the fringe!
MaryDB said... (3/3/10 10:14 PM) Reply
Nice job, love the jacket. The fabric is great; terrific finishing touches.
DorothyK said... (3/3/10 9:11 PM) Reply
I love your jacket. The fringe was a brilliant idea. I've had this pattern and two pieces of fabric to use for it for a couple of years. Thanks for reminding me about it.
renren said... (3/3/10 8:22 PM) Reply
Everything you sew is unique and very stylish. I love this jacket and the fringing is especially nice, as well as the color(s) of the fabric.
sfshaza said... (3/3/10 7:14 PM) Reply
Thanks, Jannw and Mollyshark. I did not use a serger. I flat felled some of the seams, where I could, for example the seams in the sleeves and at the back of the neck. For the side seams, I couldn't flat fell (because of how the sleeve sets in) so I turned under each seam allowance and topstitched. The armhole seams I zigzagged over the edges (I left them 5/8), turned them towards the jacket and topstitched. The back neck seam is covered by the facing, which is stitched down. It all seems pretty secure, but this fabric is something else, ravel wise. ;)
mollyshark said... (3/3/10 6:17 PM) Reply
I just made a dress with the same fabric. I mean don't EVEN try this without a serger! Your jacket looks great.
jannw said... (3/3/10 6:04 PM) Reply
very attractive..I like the fringe on this jacket
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Fun with Fitting - SKIRTS
Fun with Fitting - SKIRTS

Class Details

Online Class
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Class Details

Decades of Style 3009

photo
by: Sew Good

Review
Sew Liberated Mariposa Tee Pattern

Sew Liberated Mariposa Tee Pattern

Pattern Details
Chloe Handbag

Chloe Handbag

Pattern Details
BurdaStyle Magazine 01-2014-122

photo
by: popo

Review