Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Sewing Workshop: Valencia Jacket & Pants - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 609 times 3 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
Reviewed by:sfshaza
photo
About sfshazastar
CA USA
Member since: 9/12/07
Reviews written: 156
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 85 people
patterns reviewed: 156
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/3/10 5:31 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    Pants    
Available for sale on PR: $22.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $22.95     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
jannw said...
very attractive..I like the fringe on this jacket
3/3/10 6:04 PM
mollyshark said...
I just made a dress with the same fabric. I mean don't EVEN try this without a serger! Your jacket looks great.
3/3/10 6:17 PM
sfshaza said...
Thanks, Jannw and Mollyshark. I did not use a serger. I flat felled some of the seams, where I could, for example the seams in the sleeves and at the back of the neck. For the side seams, I couldn't flat fell (because of how the sleeve sets in) so I turned under each seam allowance and topstitched. The armhole seams I zigzagged over the edges (I left them 5/8), turned them towards the jacket and topstitched. The back neck seam is covered by the facing, which is stitched down. It all seems pretty secure, but this fabric is something else, ravel wise. ;)
3/3/10 7:14 PM
Renren said...
Everything you sew is unique and very stylish. I love this jacket and the fringing is especially nice, as well as the color(s) of the fabric.
3/3/10 8:22 PM
DorothyK said...
I love your jacket. The fringe was a brilliant idea. I've had this pattern and two pieces of fabric to use for it for a couple of years. Thanks for reminding me about it.
3/3/10 9:11 PM
MaryDB said...
Nice job, love the jacket. The fabric is great; terrific finishing touches.
3/3/10 10:14 PM
Leslie Bonner said...
Love it, love the fabric, love the fringe!
3/4/10 8:18 AM
carolynw said...
Looks great - I know the fabric caused you grief but it looks real nice!! Love the fringe
3/4/10 9:43 AM
marthamyers said...
Great combination of fabric, pattern, and sewer intuition. Can't wait to see pix of it on you!
3/4/10 9:46 AM
fryman said...
fringe accent is great!
3/5/10 9:32 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Green Pepper 401
photo
Review by cleverkitt... on 6/7/13
Read Review

Simplicity 1786 Pattern ( Size 7-8-10-12-14 )
Simplicity 1786 Pattern ( Size 7-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8020 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10 )
Vogue 8020 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Indygo Junction IJ733
photo
Review by SewLil on 7/31/08
Read Review

Lily Bird Studio Lily's Dress Digital Pattern
Lily Bird Studio Lily's Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.90
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Juliana Peasant Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Juliana Peasant Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Bluegingerdoll Mae Blouse Patterns
Bluegingerdoll Mae Blouse Patterns

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl 90mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern
You Sew Girl 90mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us