SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5317 

6 more reviews
Viewed 803 times 
Reviewed by:Jasst282
photo

 
 
About Jasst282
PA USA
Member since: 9/18/09
Reviews written: 29
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 29
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/8/10 0:01 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 8 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Erin Sooit said...
I think you did a great job, given all the ripping out you had to do. The dress looks very well done in the fitting department, and I think you picked a good fabrib for this dress. The shape is very pe=retty, and flattering on you.
3/8/10 0:37 AM
SewSho said...
Looks lovely!
3/8/10 1:19 AM
mollyshark said...
On the sizing, you may already know this but on the major pattern companies go by high bust measurement under your arms, not full bust. You'll find you will get the shoulder fit you want and it is much easier to let out the skirt portion of the dress than take in the bodice/shoulders. All in all, you did a great job on this. Very cute style.
3/8/10 7:12 AM
Schnauzer said...
Very pretty dress!
3/8/10 4:02 PM
becca a said...
Lovely dress! It was worth all the work. Looks like you may need to do an alteration I routinely do: take 1/2" out between shoulder and bust to get the bodice to fit.
3/9/10 11:14 PM
Lozzie said...
Hi, I'm new to patternreview.com and stumbled upon this after almost completing the same pattern. I've got as far as the zip/pocket part (I agree - the instructions were a tad confusing!!) but I've just tried it on and I reckon its a good 3 sizes to big : ( Mollyshark, thats interesting what you say about sizing - may account for the huge dress I'm left with!! oops! This is only the second dress I've ever made so I'm putting it down to experience and cutting a smaller size with new fabric next week! Thanks for the review
4/4/10 6:52 AM
dressy 123 said...
made this dress, bodice far to low and short for my slightly long waisted body. Removed the bodice and added one from a Burda pattern to make a completely different dress
10/6/10 5:22 AM
poppykettle said...
Thanks for the review on this dress - i've got the pattern and was planning to make it, but changing it to be a maxi-dress instead. Will see how I go!
3/27/11 9:52 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Contest Mini Wardrobe Contest

photo
by: Mikgirl

Review
New Look 6120

photo
by: caper81

Review
SewBaby "I Can Do It" Cloth Activity Book Pattern

SewBaby

Buy Now
Islander Sewing Systems Men's Islander Shirt Pattern Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Islander Shirt Pattern Pattern

Buy Now