SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5317 

6 more reviews
Viewed 817 times 
Reviewed by:Jasst282
photo

 
 
About Jasst282
PA USA
Member since: 9/18/09
Reviews written: 29
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 29
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/8/10 0:01 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 9 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
poppykettle said...
Thanks for the review on this dress - i've got the pattern and was planning to make it, but changing it to be a maxi-dress instead. Will see how I go!
3/27/11 9:52 PM
dressy 123 said...
made this dress, bodice far to low and short for my slightly long waisted body. Removed the bodice and added one from a Burda pattern to make a completely different dress
10/6/10 5:22 AM
Lozzie said...
Hi, I'm new to patternreview.com and stumbled upon this after almost completing the same pattern. I've got as far as the zip/pocket part (I agree - the instructions were a tad confusing!!) but I've just tried it on and I reckon its a good 3 sizes to big : ( Mollyshark, thats interesting what you say about sizing - may account for the huge dress I'm left with!! oops! This is only the second dress I've ever made so I'm putting it down to experience and cutting a smaller size with new fabric next week! Thanks for the review
4/4/10 6:52 AM
becca a said...
Lovely dress! It was worth all the work. Looks like you may need to do an alteration I routinely do: take 1/2" out between shoulder and bust to get the bodice to fit.
3/9/10 11:14 PM
Schnauzer said...
Very pretty dress!
3/8/10 4:02 PM
mollyshark said...
On the sizing, you may already know this but on the major pattern companies go by high bust measurement under your arms, not full bust. You'll find you will get the shoulder fit you want and it is much easier to let out the skirt portion of the dress than take in the bodice/shoulders. All in all, you did a great job on this. Very cute style.
3/8/10 7:12 AM
SewSho said...
Looks lovely!
3/8/10 1:19 AM
Erin Sooit said...
I think you did a great job, given all the ripping out you had to do. The dress looks very well done in the fitting department, and I think you picked a good fabrib for this dress. The shape is very pe=retty, and flattering on you.
3/8/10 0:37 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Simplicity 2067

photo
by: Lydster

Review
Self Drafted Pattern 295545-1007

photo
by: divabuddha

Review
PerfectFuse Medium Black

PerfectFuse Medium Black

Buy Now
Islander Sewing Systems Irish Coat Pattern Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Irish Coat Pattern Pattern

Buy Now