Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 5317 thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 782 times 5 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 8 people   
Reviewed by:Jasst282
photo
About Jasst282
PA USA
Member since: 9/18/09
Reviews written: 29
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 29
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/8/10 0:01 AM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $16.95     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Erin Sooit said...
I think you did a great job, given all the ripping out you had to do. The dress looks very well done in the fitting department, and I think you picked a good fabrib for this dress. The shape is very pe=retty, and flattering on you.
3/8/10 0:37 AM
SewSho said...
Looks lovely!
3/8/10 1:19 AM
mollyshark said...
On the sizing, you may already know this but on the major pattern companies go by high bust measurement under your arms, not full bust. You'll find you will get the shoulder fit you want and it is much easier to let out the skirt portion of the dress than take in the bodice/shoulders. All in all, you did a great job on this. Very cute style.
3/8/10 7:12 AM
Schnauzer said...
Very pretty dress!
3/8/10 4:02 PM
becca a said...
Lovely dress! It was worth all the work. Looks like you may need to do an alteration I routinely do: take 1/2" out between shoulder and bust to get the bodice to fit.
3/9/10 11:14 PM
Lozzie said...
Hi, I'm new to patternreview.com and stumbled upon this after almost completing the same pattern. I've got as far as the zip/pocket part (I agree - the instructions were a tad confusing!!) but I've just tried it on and I reckon its a good 3 sizes to big : ( Mollyshark, thats interesting what you say about sizing - may account for the huge dress I'm left with!! oops! This is only the second dress I've ever made so I'm putting it down to experience and cutting a smaller size with new fabric next week! Thanks for the review
4/4/10 6:52 AM
dressy 123 said...
made this dress, bodice far to low and short for my slightly long waisted body. Removed the bodice and added one from a Burda pattern to make a completely different dress
10/6/10 5:22 AM
poppykettle said...
Thanks for the review on this dress - i've got the pattern and was planning to make it, but changing it to be a maxi-dress instead. Will see how I go!
3/27/11 9:52 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Vogue Patterns 2449 trench coat
photo
Review by valerie se... on 7/1/10
Read Review

Oliver + S Bedtime Story Pajamas Digital Pattern (Size 6M-3T)
Oliver + S Bedtime Story Pajamas Digital Pattern (Size 6M-3T)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Lily Bird Studio Lily's Dress Digital Pattern
Lily Bird Studio Lily's Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.90
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6483 misses top
photo
Review by Nana27 on 5/16/13
Read Review

SewBaby Totpacks Pattern
SewBaby Totpacks Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things Cute Skirts Pattern
Favorite Things Cute Skirts Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7056 Pattern
Burda 7056 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1918 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Simplicity 1918 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us