Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 8430 thumbsup - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 2288 times 30 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
Reviewed by:Denise Kovnat
photo
About Denise Kovnatstar
NY USA
Member since: 11/29/09
Reviews written: 9
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 9
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/4/10 2:56 PM
Last Updated:1/27/14 10:08 AM
Project Photo:Vogue Patterns: 8430 by Denise Kovnat

Pattern Photo:Vogue Patterns 8430
Vogue Patterns Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
Available for sale on PR: $25.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Silk Habotai (China Silk)  [See other projects in this fabric]
Related Links  
Click on to add a link
I have made this jacket by Marcy Tilton about 5 times! It's a wonderful pattern for textile artists, because of the unique cut and the simple design, which allows you to show off your fabric. The pattern calls for a felted wool or boiled wool -- but, in this case, I wanted to use my own silk fabric, which was woven off-loom.

To create the fabric, I purchased bias-cut habotai silk ribbon from Dharma Trading Company. I made it into a skein, just as I would any yarn, and then hand-painted it in a variety of deep blues and purples. I loved the result so much that I wanted to display it like a canvas -- so I wove it off-loom, using a cutting board as a grid, to create a mosaic look. The fabric was very flimsy, so I reinforced it with some very lightweight iron-on stabilizer, and then backed it with hand-dyed China silk, using vertical quilting stitches.

The coat turn out so well that I submitted it to the Handweavers' Guild of America's fashion show in Tampa in 2008, and it was juried in.

The only problem with this pattern is that the neck doesn't always stand up nicely, and the front tends to fall open. Personally, I don't like to wear anything that falls open in front like that, but I have friends that love the look!
Buy this pattern for $25.00     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Elona said...
I would love, love, love to see the details in all your reviews! Could you make the images clickable so that we can get a close-up?
3/4/10 3:12 PM
Karendee said...
I am extremely frustrated since I can't open up a larger version of these 4 magnificent jackets/coats you've made. I would love to see the dying techniques up close on the fabic and weaving. You are such an artist; please let us see your results more clearly. Thank you.
3/4/10 3:19 PM
Rhoda K said...
Your jacket is beautiful and I, too, would like to see a clickable photo to enlarge.
3/4/10 6:23 PM
my horse said...
Thank you for this review! The pattern is a go-to for me so the treasure in the review is your technique for the fabric. I would love additional pics as well.
3/5/10 2:01 AM
Denise L Perry said...
What a talented artist you are! I love all your creations. So well done and unique!
3/5/10 7:40 AM
Auntie Allyn said...
Gorgeous!!! This pattern is in my "to do" stash, and your comments will give me inspiration to try things other than just plain'ol fabric when I make it up.
3/5/10 8:24 AM
carolynw said...
The pattern is a good one to show off fabric and I have to say I am impressed beyond belief at the beauitiful fabric you made. It's gorgeous and definitely one of a kind
3/5/10 8:38 AM
AuntieShel said...
OMG--absolutely fabulous!!!
3/5/10 8:59 AM
Nancy K said...
Stunning piece of wearable art that is actually wearable.
3/5/10 9:22 AM
Denise Kovnat said...
Thanks for the comments. I'm working on posting these photos to a blog, so that I can show more detail. More to come!
3/5/10 10:26 AM
marthamyers said...
Everyone else has already said it - WOW!
3/5/10 10:57 AM
Karendee said...
I reread my post and realize it sounded less than kind. I just wanted to stress how anxious I was to admire your work more "upclose and personal." And I know how difficult posting pics can be. Thanks for sharing what you could. You are a wonderful artist and I enjoyed your website. Also, I apologize for any strident sounding words on my part.
3/6/10 4:30 PM
nglalala said...
The colors are fabulous!! I can't believe you made the fabric!
3/27/10 10:26 AM
RLL said...
Yes, bigger better more detailed photo's please. Your work is very interesting.
6/6/10 3:29 PM
DorothyK said...
Looks fantastic. Would love to see more.
8/13/10 1:12 PM
JillyBe said...
How are people able to see the fabric? I would so like a better view of this.
10/24/10 1:14 PM
Rhoda K said...
The link to your photo isn't working :-( Would love to see a close-up.
8/27/11 12:43 PM
a life in stitches said...
Re. the pattern-yea the old ones are the best. Re. the photos- yes that would be nice, but honestly your description's good, and great to know you hae been working this way, a great interpretation, love the look.
8/27/11 2:10 PM
velosewer said...
This is stunning.
2/19/13 7:29 PM
annakeeton said...
I really like your fiber art techniques!
1/28/14 6:34 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Simplicity 4095
photo
Review by merrypatte... on 5/27/09
Read Review

Vogue 8953 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Vogue 8953 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3964 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3964 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 6035 MISSES' SHIRTS
photo
Review by relliotts on 11/8/11
Read Review

Grainline Studio Lakeside Pajamas
Grainline Studio Lakeside Pajamas

Details
Price: $10.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Dixie DIY Ballet Dress
Dixie DIY Ballet Dress

Details
Price: $4.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Paradiso Designs Tiny Handbag Pattern
Paradiso Designs Tiny Handbag Pattern

Details
Price: $11.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Islander Sewing Systems The Ultimate Kinsale Cloak Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems The Ultimate Kinsale Cloak Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us