Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 12-2008-121 (Faux Shirtdress w/ Bias Bodice) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 550 times 5 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 15 people   
Reviewed by:nicegirl
photo
About nicegirlstarstarstarstar
DC USA
Member since: 5/10/06
Reviews written: 319
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 308 people
patterns reviewed: 319
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/9/10 11:00 AM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
34 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Nancy K said...
This is a really great look on you. The dress is lovely and very flattering look.
3/9/10 11:05 AM
Riordan said...
Your dress is great--you've used the stripes so beautifully. You look lovely--perfect dress on you!
3/9/10 11:08 AM
nannykk said...
It is perfection!
3/9/10 11:20 AM
SewSho said...
Really suits u, fab work!
3/9/10 11:29 AM
Elona said...
I love the bias detailing! That is one cute little dress.
3/9/10 11:53 AM
Auntie Allyn said...
Looks fabulous!
3/9/10 12:11 PM
persevering said...
Congratulations, this dress is fabulous, the fit is perfect and you look great in it - and bonus, it is suitable for whatever need may come up.
3/9/10 12:29 PM
petro said...
Great dress, it fits perfectly. The stripes work brilliantly.
3/9/10 12:55 PM
annie11 said...
I really like this on you. Great fit and I'm really amazed at the chevroning perfection.
3/9/10 12:57 PM
Gelbean said...
Your dress fits you perfectly. It's very flattering. The way you worked the stripes on the bias and the chevroning is fabulous!
3/9/10 1:58 PM
nellc said...
Your dress is lovely, it looks great in your striped fabric.
3/9/10 2:00 PM
4u2cme said...
The dress looks great on you.
3/9/10 2:20 PM
Mufffet said...
Great stripe matching! I love your dress!
3/9/10 3:12 PM
FreyaStark said...
Fabulous! It's really smart and highly distinctive. Your pattern matching is especially impressive.
3/9/10 4:28 PM
carolynw said...
Really sharp looking - great work as usual
3/9/10 6:45 PM
katlew03 said...
This dress looks great on you. Perfect style.
3/9/10 8:45 PM
m1khaela said...
SOOO fabulous--love the stripes, love the way it fits you.
3/9/10 8:58 PM
leanmeansewingmachine said...
Love that dress! It looks so GOOD on you! Nice job.
3/9/10 9:08 PM
digs57 said...
Super, super, super dress, thank you for making & showing it to us. A must-do!
3/9/10 9:26 PM
Peter in NYC said...
Very, very cute. Nice details!
3/9/10 10:13 PM
Heidi Ho said...
Your dress turned out so very nice!! I love all the details with the stripes and the buttons are a great addition. That is a very flattering style on you as well!
3/9/10 10:44 PM
Sew tell me said...
This is lovely. I love the bodice.
3/10/10 0:34 AM
paulakiss said...
You did a beautiful job! That looks even better than RTW! Love the style on you too.
3/10/10 0:42 AM
Bernadette W said...
You should wear this every day-so, so flattering. You.Rock.This.Dress.
3/10/10 0:44 AM
becca a said...
What a lovely, flattering dress! You look lovely. The perfectly matched bias stripes on the bodice really make the dress.
3/10/10 7:52 AM
Sic said...
This is an amazing dress! The buttons really make something special!
3/10/10 8:41 AM
OP Gal said...
Cute dress. You did a great job matching the stripes.
3/10/10 9:05 AM
janet said...
You look absolutely fabulous! I agree with Cidell--this is one of your top ten looks.
3/10/10 3:44 PM
Karen6790 said...
That dress is still on my list of patterns I want to make, and now I really remember why. I love how you played with the stripes, and while it is a change-up colorwise for you, it looks good. It's striped, it's dark, but it's definitely not stodgy.
3/10/10 10:33 PM
cindyann said...
This dress really looks fantastic on you. It perfectly suits your figure.
3/11/10 11:13 AM
michou68 said...
Oh, I wish I could make Burda fit - this one is so pretty and one of the best dresses you ever made. You look fantastic in it!
3/13/10 1:37 AM
heapha said...
as usual your work is impecible as is your review, always helpful - I just love looking at your stuff.
3/15/10 9:32 AM
waltzqueen said...
This dress looks terrific on you. Cleverly designed and very flattering in both style and color! I'm adding this to my list of favorite nicegirl outfits. How you run these up so fast I have no idea!
3/15/10 4:42 PM
Dmd4106 said...
Great dress!
3/17/10 5:30 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Vogue Patterns 8742 Misses' Dress
photo
Review by GoodbyeVal... on 2/14/13
Read Review

You Sew Girl Carry All Pattern
You Sew Girl Carry All Pattern

Details
Price: $22.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things A Safe Place Pattern
Favorite Things A Safe Place Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Baby Toy Basics Digital Pattern ( Size one size )
Peek-A Boo Baby Toy Basics Digital Pattern ( Size one size )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Jump Rope Dress Digital Pattern( Size 4-8)
Oliver + S Jump Rope Dress Digital Pattern( Size 4-8)

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 4703
photo
Review by maryfrana on 1/3/09
Read Review

Burda 7134 Pattern
Burda 7134 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6598 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )
McCalls 6598 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us