SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Folkwear> 233 (Glamour Girl Dress)

4 more reviews
Viewed 430 times 
Reviewed by:Margaret
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Margaretstarstarstarstar
BC Canada
Member since: 11/4/02
Reviews written: 295
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 48 people
patterns reviewed: 274
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/5/10 5:21 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 14 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
dbsewer said...
Great review. I have always been intrigued with this dress but haven't made a Folkwear garment in a long time. Your dress is making me want to go back and work with them again. It looks pretty on you and the fabric is lovely.
3/5/10 5:34 PM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
Now THAT's a "Review" ;)!! I LOVE this look on you, Margaret!! Shows off your figure & femininity!!
3/5/10 8:48 PM
Athene said...
Fabulous dress.
3/5/10 9:24 PM
lamstu said...
I have admired this dress for ages, and am so happy to see your 'everyday' version that looks fantastic on you. You really put a lot of work into this pattern - all worth it and great that you like it so well too. Thanks for a thorough review too. I might just try the pattern now!
3/5/10 11:02 PM
Margaret said...
Thanks, everyone! I've been happy with most Folkwear patterns I've made, but I think this is one of the best!
3/6/10 8:48 AM
colorkitten said...
I would love to see it short - but this one is great! I've always been interested in folkwear patterns but have yet to buy any. thanks for the encouragement!
3/6/10 10:01 AM
fryman said...
an exceptional review on an exceptional pattern and constructed dress. Thank you. Have you ever made the Glamour Girl pattern by Folkwear? I would be interested in your remarks. Thanks again.
3/6/10 11:37 AM
FreyaStark said...
Wow! An outstanding effort, a gorgeous dress, and it looks great on you. I would love to see what you would make of the Folkwear Sporty Forties dress, which is more of a day dress. It goes up to size 16 (which rules me out!) and seems to be discontinued, but it shouldn't be too hard to find a copy somewhere on the net.
3/7/10 5:36 AM
Margaret said...
Thanks so much, you are all so kind! Freya, thanks for the pattern suggestion. So far I don't have that one in my Folkwear collection, but it looks nice.
3/7/10 7:57 AM
AnneM said...
Unfortunately your pictures are no longer working. Great, informative view. Thanks for all the tips and information.
10/23/10 5:43 PM
Margaret said...
Sorry about that... I just moved and there are now issues with the server that all the pictures are on... I'm not sure we'll be able to get it a static IP address any time soon. :( The pictures still exist, it's just I may have to edit every single older review to put them elsewhere. If that turns out to be the case, I can at least deal with this one first :/
11/8/10 4:39 AM
Margaret said...
OK, review now edited for different photo hosting. :)
11/15/10 5:29 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
The Technique of Underlining Garments
The Technique of Underlining Garments

Register

Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Sewing Workshop Quincy Top and Pants

Sewing Workshop Quincy Top and Pants

Buy Now
Sew Chic Southern Belle Dress Pattern (ln8503)

Sew Chic Southern Belle Dress Pattern (ln8503)

Buy Now
BurdaStyle Magazine 11-2011-114

photo
by: sewingsvet...

Review