Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 2883 thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 342 times 8 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 6 people   
Reviewed by:arianamaniacs
photo
Friend of PR
About arianamaniacsstarstarstarstar
NA AUSTRIA
Member since: 6/11/04
Reviews written: 176
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 46 people
patterns reviewed: 169
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/7/10 8:07 AM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
no7262 said...
It's not a total loss! I really like it with the belt! It helps to brake up the pattern in the print. The bolero can be worn with another cute top. Don't be so hard on yourself. You have made some really nice things. And I love your adventurous nature with sewing! Nora :)
3/7/10 8:24 AM
FreyaStark said...
It looks all right to me. Keep it; you might get used to it, which would be better than wasting the fabric and the effort you put it.
3/7/10 9:16 AM
Renren said...
I think it looks pretty good, actually, especially the one with the wide belt. I can also see it as a tunic/top over a pair of black pants. I think the key is calming down that print, which you have done nicely with the wide black belt (wondering if it could it be called an obi?). Congratulations on your 2nd star!
3/7/10 9:18 AM
carolynw said...
Another one saying keep it - with the belt it looks really, really nice. I am currently going through stuff I made and left to hang and am finding I like much of what I had thought was a wadder - this includes a top which I felt was way too wild (print) DH liked it but I thought ' "rather be caught dead" - tried it on yesterday and now think it's pretty sharp so don't do anything drastic yet - it really does look nice with the belt!!
3/7/10 9:31 AM
Patti B said...
I like it but sometimes our garments need some time in the closet to think about their future (joke!). The wide belt really finishes the dress.
3/7/10 12:53 PM
sewnsew43 said...
The wide belt definately makes the pattern calm down. Put that cute bolero on a black dress.
3/7/10 2:03 PM
fourkid said...
I totally echo all that has been said here already. I love this with the obi-type belt - and the bolero would look so nice on a black dress. So really you got 2 outfits instead of just one
3/7/10 3:25 PM
Danvillegirl said...
The contrasting black belt does improve the look of this dress. Thanks for your review.
3/8/10 6:42 AM
becca a said...
It is so frustrating to work hard on a project only to discover that you don't like it. It is much cuter with the belt.
3/8/10 7:45 AM
marvelous said...
I just finished this pattern and have the same feelings. I chose a pattern and it is just not flattering at all on my figure. I too feel like it would have been great to wear when I was pregnant. I'm going to try shortening the bodice and reattaching the skirt to see if that helps. I like yours with the wide belt.
3/27/10 10:58 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Patrones Magazine Jan 2003 #57 Princess Dress
photo
Review by lyra on 10/26/08
Read Review

Pattern Runway Coffee Date Dress Digital Pattern
Pattern Runway Coffee Date Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $11.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Bucket Hat Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Bucket Hat Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $4.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2006
photo
Review by Pippi Long... on 4/14/12
Read Review

Sewn Square One Small Change Pattern
Sewn Square One Small Change Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

9 inch Bent Handle Scissors
9 inch Bent Handle Scissors

Details
Price: $24.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6466 Pattern ( Size 10-12-14-16-18 )
McCalls 6466 Pattern ( Size 10-12-14-16-18 )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2416 Pattern ( Size 10-12-14-16-18 )
Simplicity 2416 Pattern ( Size 10-12-14-16-18 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us