SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 2883 

8 more reviews
Viewed 342 times 
Reviewed by:arianamaniacs
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About arianamaniacsstarstarstarstar
NA AUSTRIA
Member since: 6/11/04
Reviews written: 181
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 49 people
patterns reviewed: 174
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/7/10 8:07 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 6 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
no7262 said...
It's not a total loss! I really like it with the belt! It helps to brake up the pattern in the print. The bolero can be worn with another cute top. Don't be so hard on yourself. You have made some really nice things. And I love your adventurous nature with sewing! Nora :)
3/7/10 8:24 AM
FreyaStark said...
It looks all right to me. Keep it; you might get used to it, which would be better than wasting the fabric and the effort you put it.
3/7/10 9:16 AM
Renren said...
I think it looks pretty good, actually, especially the one with the wide belt. I can also see it as a tunic/top over a pair of black pants. I think the key is calming down that print, which you have done nicely with the wide black belt (wondering if it could it be called an obi?). Congratulations on your 2nd star!
3/7/10 9:18 AM
carolynw said...
Another one saying keep it - with the belt it looks really, really nice. I am currently going through stuff I made and left to hang and am finding I like much of what I had thought was a wadder - this includes a top which I felt was way too wild (print) DH liked it but I thought ' "rather be caught dead" - tried it on yesterday and now think it's pretty sharp so don't do anything drastic yet - it really does look nice with the belt!!
3/7/10 9:31 AM
Patti B said...
I like it but sometimes our garments need some time in the closet to think about their future (joke!). The wide belt really finishes the dress.
3/7/10 12:53 PM
sewnsew43 said...
The wide belt definately makes the pattern calm down. Put that cute bolero on a black dress.
3/7/10 2:03 PM
fourkid said...
I totally echo all that has been said here already. I love this with the obi-type belt - and the bolero would look so nice on a black dress. So really you got 2 outfits instead of just one
3/7/10 3:25 PM
Danvillegirl said...
The contrasting black belt does improve the look of this dress. Thanks for your review.
3/8/10 6:42 AM
becca a said...
It is so frustrating to work hard on a project only to discover that you don't like it. It is much cuter with the belt.
3/8/10 7:45 AM
marvelous said...
I just finished this pattern and have the same feelings. I chose a pattern and it is just not flattering at all on my figure. I too feel like it would have been great to wear when I was pregnant. I'm going to try shortening the bodice and reattaching the skirt to see if that helps. I like yours with the wide belt.
3/27/10 10:58 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Simplicity 5366

photo
by: Mauude

Review
McCall's 6278

photo
by: Sixtiesgir...

Review
Fit For Art Sleeve & Cuff Variations for Tabula Rasa Jacket Pattern

Fit For Art Sleeve & Cuff Variations for Tabula Rasa Jacket Pattern

Buy Now
Sew Liberated Flora Tunic and Twirly Skirt

Sew Liberated Flora Tunic and Twirly Skirt

Buy Now