SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 4491 - Vintage dress (Vintage cocktail dress)

Viewed 390 times 
Reviewed by:jorth
photo

 
 
About jorthstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 3/27/06
Reviews written: 69
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 30 people
patterns reviewed: 69
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/9/10 1:52 AM
Last Updated:3/9/10 3:18 PM
Pattern Size:Petite 


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 6 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
becca a said...
Very cute dress! It fits perfectly and looks like lots of fun. Great paint job!
3/10/10 7:48 AM
Gelbean said...
Great looking dress. The photo shoot looks like it was a fun time. Thanks for the entertaining review!
3/10/10 7:30 AM
TalyQ said...
Looks great!!! I am glad you could save it.
3/10/10 1:51 AM
jorth said...
Awwww thanks everybody! These comments have made my morning! ElizabethDee, I used a paint from my local fabric store called "Jones Tones". They come in little tubes, and I just diluted them with 15 ml of water before applying to the dress. It really was waaaay to much fun!
3/9/10 3:15 PM
nellc said...
I love your dress and your photo shoot!
3/9/10 3:09 PM
kwpanthermom said...
I love this dress, and I would never have believed it was from a vintage pattern because it looks so modern! I didn't know what I was looking at when I first opened your pictures..."how did she get the print design to be so shaded like that?? What a COOL dress!" and then I was flabbergasted to read you had taken a vintage design and then painted it! absolutely brilliant.
3/9/10 1:42 PM
colorkitten said...
Love it!
3/9/10 11:33 AM
carolynw said...
Love the dress but even more love your photo shoot - you seem to be having a ball in this dress and that's a good thing!! So glad to know I am not th eonly one to drop the F bomb when things go not as planned in the sewing room - no children around!!
3/9/10 9:37 AM
ElizabethDee said...
marvelous in every way. i feel as if you brought the party to me! thanks! (p.s. would love to know what kind of paint you used and how you applied it.)
3/9/10 8:57 AM
AuntieShel said...
If I make this dress, will I have as much fun as it looks like you are having in the photos? Couldn't even believe you painted it--inspiring. And your review was hysterical.
3/9/10 8:25 AM
no7262 said...
I LOVE IT! You did a awesome job! Nora :)
3/9/10 6:46 AM
ClaireEmily said...
Hilarious review! Great dress!!!
3/9/10 2:07 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Class Details

Online Class
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Class Details

Petite Plus 302 Pattern

Petite Plus 302 Pattern

More Info
Paradiso Designs Be Green Market Bag Pattern

Paradiso Designs Be Green Market Bag Pattern

More Info