Online Sewing Class: More Knits
SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 2796 (Issey Miyake)

15 more reviews
Viewed 541 times 
Reviewed by:Misafir
photo

 
 
About Misafir
TURKEY
Member since: 9/28/09
Reviews: 2 (patterns: 1)
Skill level:Intermediate
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/21/10 5:23 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
DorothyK said... (4/22/10 6:53 PM) Reply
This is a great pattern. I love your skirt but would have loved to see a bigger picture. I made this pattern also and it's one of my favorites.
Rebecca D said... (4/22/10 6:35 AM) Reply
Thanks for the great review. I can't see your picture though. Anyone else having that trouble?
Izzie said... (4/21/10 7:23 PM) Reply
Great review! I've made this skirt too and I love it. Thanks for reminding me to get it out and make it again.
Misafir said... (4/21/10 5:29 PM) Reply
I think that the skirt is designed to be "swingy" so as to make full use of the bias in the double knit that is recommended to make it. Most of the flare comes lower down towards the hem so you could make it shorter and it would be wearable but I think it might be nothing special. As I pointed out, I did really make an effort to put the bias strip hem on and it paid off because the extra weight really helped the drape of the skirt. In short, on balance, I wouldn't actually recommend making it too short but I don't know where 10 inches shorter would fall on you anyway! If you are very slim too, a short version might not cling so much and swing more.
fryman said... (3/10/10 4:02 PM) Reply
I am inspired to make this up after reading yur review. What are your feelings about making this skirt 10" shorter? I look forward to your reply. www.jogginslow@yahoo.com
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Class Details

Online Class
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Class Details

Simplicity 2222

photo
by: WinterQuee...

Review
Christine Jonson Swirl Skirt & Ruffle Top

Christine Jonson Swirl Skirt & Ruffle Top

Pattern Details
Sewing Workshop Siena & Cortona Shirts

Sewing Workshop Siena & Cortona Shirts

Pattern Details