SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 2796 (Issey Miyake)

15 more reviews
Viewed 538 times 
Reviewed by:Misafir
photo

 
 
About Misafir
TURKEY
Member since: 9/28/09
Reviews written: 2
Sewing skills:Intermediate
patterns reviewed: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/21/10 5:23 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
fryman said...
I am inspired to make this up after reading yur review. What are your feelings about making this skirt 10" shorter? I look forward to your reply. www.jogginslow@yahoo.com
3/10/10 4:02 PM
Misafir said...
I think that the skirt is designed to be "swingy" so as to make full use of the bias in the double knit that is recommended to make it. Most of the flare comes lower down towards the hem so you could make it shorter and it would be wearable but I think it might be nothing special. As I pointed out, I did really make an effort to put the bias strip hem on and it paid off because the extra weight really helped the drape of the skirt. In short, on balance, I wouldn't actually recommend making it too short but I don't know where 10 inches shorter would fall on you anyway! If you are very slim too, a short version might not cling so much and swing more.
4/21/10 5:29 PM
Izzie said...
Great review! I've made this skirt too and I love it. Thanks for reminding me to get it out and make it again.
4/21/10 7:23 PM
Rebecca D said...
Thanks for the great review. I can't see your picture though. Anyone else having that trouble?
4/22/10 6:35 AM
DorothyK said...
This is a great pattern. I love your skirt but would have loved to see a bigger picture. I made this pattern also and it's one of my favorites.
4/22/10 6:53 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

McCall's 3944

photo
by: KathleenS

Review
Vogue Patterns 2463

photo
by: nanneke

Review
Sew Liberated Gathering apron Pattern

Buy Now
Beginner Sewing Lab 104 - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Beginner Sewing Lab 104  - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Buy Now