SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Burda> 8285 (Dress and jacket)

1 more reviews
Viewed 234 times 
Reviewed by:Margaret
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Margaretstarstarstarstar
BC Canada
Member since: 11/4/02
Reviews written: 296
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 48 people
patterns reviewed: 275
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/12/10 5:06 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 10 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coordinates    Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Margaret said...
Thanks!!
3/14/10 10:29 AM
persevering said...
I totally agree with Flying Seamstress and with everyone else who commented. Well done!
3/13/10 4:50 PM
Flying Seamstress said...
Wow, your outfit is elegant, stylish, and oh so flattering! Thank you for such a detailed review too.
3/13/10 12:03 PM
susiestitcher said...
What a beautiful dress and jacket set. I love the lines and your topstitching makes it special. Very slimming effect.
3/13/10 9:41 AM
Margaret said...
Thanks!! Kay, the edgestitching is done with thread I'd bought in NY to topstitch a school project. It comes on a 300m spool -- says it's Gutermann Mara 30, 100% polyester. It's a bit heavier than the Gutermann or Coats topstitching thread I normally see in fabric stores, and maybe just a tiny bit thinner than Coats "button and craft" thread, but not by much. I used regular Gutermann thread in the bobbin except on the front belt-like piece where both sides show. My stitch length was about 3.5mm and I did the stitch very close to the seams, about 1-2mm away. Becca, yes, there's a short, self-fabric piece attached to the left front, to loop through the buckle on the right front. Thanks again, everyone!!
3/13/10 9:25 AM
Em's Summer said...
This is gorgeous!!!
3/13/10 9:04 AM
becca a said...
What a great dress and jacket! I particularly like your contrast stitching. Is that a self fabric "belt" on the dress front?
3/13/10 8:28 AM
nicegirl said...
What a fabulous set! Your topstitching really adds a designer touch here.
3/12/10 10:50 PM
Christas said...
Very pretty dress! It had such nice style lines! Looks like you got a very good fit. Thanks for your very helpful review!
3/12/10 9:14 PM
Kay Y said...
Your dress & jacket look great! I am intrigued by the edgestitching too - it is so prominent - I'd love to get more information about how you did it (thread, stitch, etc.).
3/12/10 8:50 PM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
Edgestitching!! Makes for a very interesting finish!! GREAT fitted ensemble, Margaret ;)
3/12/10 6:55 PM
Kay Y said...
Yes, photos please! I'm so happy you are blazing the trail & making the jacket...
3/11/10 8:44 AM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
'Looking forward to see your progress/photos!! ;)
3/11/10 7:25 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Runaround Bag

Runaround Bag

Buy Now
SewBaby Casserole Carrier Pattern

SewBaby Casserole Carrier Pattern

Buy Now
McCall's 6348

photo
by: margy.64

Review