Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Burda: 8285 (Dress and jacket) - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 234 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 10 people   
Reviewed by:Margaret
photo
Friend of PR
About Margaretstarstarstarstar
NA GERMANY
Member since: 11/4/02
Reviews written: 290
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 46 people
patterns reviewed: 270
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/12/10 5:06 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


See other patterns in this category: Coordinates    Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Rhonda in Montreal said...
'Looking forward to see your progress/photos!! ;)
3/11/10 7:25 AM
Kay Y said...
Yes, photos please! I'm so happy you are blazing the trail & making the jacket...
3/11/10 8:44 AM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
Edgestitching!! Makes for a very interesting finish!! GREAT fitted ensemble, Margaret ;)
3/12/10 6:55 PM
Kay Y said...
Your dress & jacket look great! I am intrigued by the edgestitching too - it is so prominent - I'd love to get more information about how you did it (thread, stitch, etc.).
3/12/10 8:50 PM
Christas said...
Very pretty dress! It had such nice style lines! Looks like you got a very good fit. Thanks for your very helpful review!
3/12/10 9:14 PM
nicegirl said...
What a fabulous set! Your topstitching really adds a designer touch here.
3/12/10 10:50 PM
becca a said...
What a great dress and jacket! I particularly like your contrast stitching. Is that a self fabric "belt" on the dress front?
3/13/10 8:28 AM
Em's Summer said...
This is gorgeous!!!
3/13/10 9:04 AM
Margaret said...
Thanks!! Kay, the edgestitching is done with thread I'd bought in NY to topstitch a school project. It comes on a 300m spool -- says it's Gutermann Mara 30, 100% polyester. It's a bit heavier than the Gutermann or Coats topstitching thread I normally see in fabric stores, and maybe just a tiny bit thinner than Coats "button and craft" thread, but not by much. I used regular Gutermann thread in the bobbin except on the front belt-like piece where both sides show. My stitch length was about 3.5mm and I did the stitch very close to the seams, about 1-2mm away. Becca, yes, there's a short, self-fabric piece attached to the left front, to loop through the buckle on the right front. Thanks again, everyone!!
3/13/10 9:25 AM
susiestitcher said...
What a beautiful dress and jacket set. I love the lines and your topstitching makes it special. Very slimming effect.
3/13/10 9:41 AM
Flying Seamstress said...
Wow, your outfit is elegant, stylish, and oh so flattering! Thank you for such a detailed review too.
3/13/10 12:03 PM
persevering said...
I totally agree with Flying Seamstress and with everyone else who commented. Well done!
3/13/10 4:50 PM
Margaret said...
Thanks!!
3/14/10 10:29 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Folkwear 258
photo
Review by Annika on 6/28/08
Read Review

Burda 9491 Pattern
Burda 9491 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6084 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )
McCalls 6084 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Self Drafted Pattern 63953-1000 Judy Jetson
photo
Review by Pinkytoo on 10/30/06
Read Review

Sis Boom Marco Shirt for Men Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Marco Shirt for Men Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Clean Slate Pants/Shorts/Capris
Blank Slate Clean Slate Pants/Shorts/Capris

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Tulip Dress Pattern
You Sew Girl Tulip Dress Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Liberated Huck Finn Cap
Sew Liberated Huck Finn Cap

Details
Price: $11.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us