SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Burda> 8285 (Dress and jacket)

1 more reviews
Viewed 234 times 
Reviewed by:Margaret
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Margaretstarstarstarstar
BC Canada
Member since: 11/4/02
Reviews written: 298
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 50 people
patterns reviewed: 277
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/12/10 5:06 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 10 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coordinates    Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Margaret said...
Thanks!!
3/14/10 10:29 AM
persevering said...
I totally agree with Flying Seamstress and with everyone else who commented. Well done!
3/13/10 4:50 PM
Flying Seamstress said...
Wow, your outfit is elegant, stylish, and oh so flattering! Thank you for such a detailed review too.
3/13/10 12:03 PM
susiestitcher said...
What a beautiful dress and jacket set. I love the lines and your topstitching makes it special. Very slimming effect.
3/13/10 9:41 AM
Margaret said...
Thanks!! Kay, the edgestitching is done with thread I'd bought in NY to topstitch a school project. It comes on a 300m spool -- says it's Gutermann Mara 30, 100% polyester. It's a bit heavier than the Gutermann or Coats topstitching thread I normally see in fabric stores, and maybe just a tiny bit thinner than Coats "button and craft" thread, but not by much. I used regular Gutermann thread in the bobbin except on the front belt-like piece where both sides show. My stitch length was about 3.5mm and I did the stitch very close to the seams, about 1-2mm away. Becca, yes, there's a short, self-fabric piece attached to the left front, to loop through the buckle on the right front. Thanks again, everyone!!
3/13/10 9:25 AM
Em's Summer said...
This is gorgeous!!!
3/13/10 9:04 AM
becca a said...
What a great dress and jacket! I particularly like your contrast stitching. Is that a self fabric "belt" on the dress front?
3/13/10 8:28 AM
nicegirl said...
What a fabulous set! Your topstitching really adds a designer touch here.
3/12/10 10:50 PM
Christas said...
Very pretty dress! It had such nice style lines! Looks like you got a very good fit. Thanks for your very helpful review!
3/12/10 9:14 PM
Kay Y said...
Your dress & jacket look great! I am intrigued by the edgestitching too - it is so prominent - I'd love to get more information about how you did it (thread, stitch, etc.).
3/12/10 8:50 PM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
Edgestitching!! Makes for a very interesting finish!! GREAT fitted ensemble, Margaret ;)
3/12/10 6:55 PM
Kay Y said...
Yes, photos please! I'm so happy you are blazing the trail & making the jacket...
3/11/10 8:44 AM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
'Looking forward to see your progress/photos!! ;)
3/11/10 7:25 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Kwik Sew 3343

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
Vogue Patterns 8663

photo
by: lydianmode

Review
Sewn Square One Go Anywhere Dress Pattern

Sewn Square One Go Anywhere Dress Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby Wearable baby blanket Pattern

SewBaby Wearable baby blanket Pattern

Buy Now