SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Mood Fabrics
Mood Fabrics

Pattern Reviews> Burda> 8285 (Dress and jacket)

1 more reviews
Viewed 234 times 
Reviewed by:Margaret
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Margaretstarstarstarstar
BC Canada
Member since: 11/4/02
Reviews written: 298
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 50 people
patterns reviewed: 277
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/12/10 5:06 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 10 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coordinates    Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Margaret said... (3/14/10 10:29 AM) Reply
Thanks!!
persevering said... (3/13/10 4:50 PM) Reply
I totally agree with Flying Seamstress and with everyone else who commented. Well done!
Flying Seamstress said... (3/13/10 12:03 PM) Reply
Wow, your outfit is elegant, stylish, and oh so flattering! Thank you for such a detailed review too.
susiestitcher said... (3/13/10 9:41 AM) Reply
What a beautiful dress and jacket set. I love the lines and your topstitching makes it special. Very slimming effect.
Margaret said... (3/13/10 9:25 AM) Reply
Thanks!! Kay, the edgestitching is done with thread I'd bought in NY to topstitch a school project. It comes on a 300m spool -- says it's Gutermann Mara 30, 100% polyester. It's a bit heavier than the Gutermann or Coats topstitching thread I normally see in fabric stores, and maybe just a tiny bit thinner than Coats "button and craft" thread, but not by much. I used regular Gutermann thread in the bobbin except on the front belt-like piece where both sides show. My stitch length was about 3.5mm and I did the stitch very close to the seams, about 1-2mm away. Becca, yes, there's a short, self-fabric piece attached to the left front, to loop through the buckle on the right front. Thanks again, everyone!!
Em's Summer said... (3/13/10 9:04 AM) Reply
This is gorgeous!!!
becca a said... (3/13/10 8:28 AM) Reply
What a great dress and jacket! I particularly like your contrast stitching. Is that a self fabric "belt" on the dress front?
nicegirl said... (3/12/10 10:50 PM) Reply
What a fabulous set! Your topstitching really adds a designer touch here.
Christas said... (3/12/10 9:14 PM) Reply
Very pretty dress! It had such nice style lines! Looks like you got a very good fit. Thanks for your very helpful review!
Kay Y said... (3/12/10 8:50 PM) Reply
Your dress & jacket look great! I am intrigued by the edgestitching too - it is so prominent - I'd love to get more information about how you did it (thread, stitch, etc.).
Rhonda in Montreal said... (3/12/10 6:55 PM) Reply
Edgestitching!! Makes for a very interesting finish!! GREAT fitted ensemble, Margaret ;)
Kay Y said... (3/11/10 8:44 AM) Reply
Yes, photos please! I'm so happy you are blazing the trail & making the jacket...
Rhonda in Montreal said... (3/11/10 7:25 AM) Reply
'Looking forward to see your progress/photos!! ;)
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Class Details

Online Class
Leather 101
Leather 101

Class Details

StyleArc Ann T-Top

photo
by: mudcat

Review
SewBaby Quick and Comfy Dresses Pattern

SewBaby Quick and Comfy Dresses Pattern

Pattern Details
Sew Liberated Myla Tank Pattern

Sew Liberated Myla Tank Pattern

Pattern Details
Vogue Patterns 1138

photo
by: SilverBrum...

Review