SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Self Drafted Pattern> Akris Ai Bag Knockoff (Akris Ai Bag Knockoff)

Viewed 975 times 
Reviewed by:nancy2001
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About nancy2001starstarstarstar
AL USA
Member since: 12/3/05
Reviews written: 110
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 131 people
patterns reviewed: 51
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/14/10 6:29 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 37 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
64 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Englebert said...
Wow! Beautiful Bag!!
3/14/10 6:43 PM
crazygrad said...
Gorgeous!
3/14/10 6:46 PM
Linda G said...
Love your bag. I am going to have to take the time to read your review carefully it is full of information.
3/14/10 7:00 PM
ElizabethDee said...
Bravissima! That is one knockout of a bag, and a wonderfully generous, helpful review, too.
3/14/10 7:53 PM
LisaRM said...
Amazing! Excellent work.
3/14/10 8:02 PM
AnneMarie60 said...
Impeccable results! Love your version of this stylish bag. Extraordinary work! Thanks for taking the time to add links to the products you used.
3/14/10 8:03 PM
Patti B said...
Nancy, this is spectacular. Wonderful job of replicating the ever-so-expensive original. I think the $$$ comes from the time spent chasing the Mongolian horses, don't you?
3/14/10 8:54 PM
Scheryka said...
Out freakin standing! Looks original. I'm jealous. I want one in black w paisley trim.
3/14/10 8:57 PM
fourkid said...
I have been looking forward to your finished product ~ great job. You and Elizabeth make a great team!
3/14/10 8:59 PM
Em's Summer said...
Fantastic, as usual! This bag is beautiful, Nancy! And so exquisitely made! You did a GREAT job!!!
3/14/10 9:26 PM
milwaukee_kelly said...
Wow, wow, WOW! Nancy, outstanding. It's so nice to follow your process.
3/14/10 9:46 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Totally gorgeous bag, but why wouldn't you have any Mongolian horsehair in your stash? Doesn't everyone have some of that lying around? LOL! I actually prefer your leather version.
3/14/10 10:50 PM
MaryDB said...
What a superb job you've done on this very fun knock-off bag. Bravo! (and Oy Oy Oy)
3/14/10 11:03 PM
Sewnsewmom said...
Wow! Your bag is gorgeous! Very impressive!!
3/14/10 11:38 PM
CynthiaSue said...
um.....flabbergasted, speechless, totally original and amazing.
3/14/10 11:51 PM
Sharonspils said...
Fantastic bag, well done.
3/15/10 0:37 AM
saskprairiegirl said...
Elegant and beautiful. I admire your tenacity and beautiful finishing work.
3/15/10 4:06 AM
Michele19 said...
O.M.G. I am in total LUST! GORGEOUS!
3/15/10 4:55 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Great looking bag. You did a fantastic job in copying the purse.
3/15/10 5:30 AM
senaSews said...
You did a fantastic job. I love tha Akris bag. And you managed to clone the bag perfectly!
3/15/10 6:45 AM
marjenann said...
Amazing accomplishment!! Thanks for the inspiration!!
3/15/10 8:11 AM
Beek said...
VERY clever. I spotted this bag in a mag and thought it was such an architectural accessory. You've done a magnificient job knocking it off. I would've never guessed it was not the real deal.
3/15/10 10:26 AM
DorothyK said...
Brilliant rendition of an expensive designer bag. Yours could have passed for an original. Thanks for the great review.
3/15/10 12:38 PM
Nancy K said...
Well done! It looks fabulous.
3/15/10 2:06 PM
Scheryka said...
I am sorry, I just to post another comment...This is fabulous! lol
3/15/10 4:38 PM
Kgrrl said...
Your attention to detail and workmanship are impeccable!
3/15/10 5:13 PM
arianamaniacs said...
I admire your handbag tenacity! Your bag turned out really wonderful
3/16/10 8:01 AM
nancy2001 said...
Thank you so much for all your generous comments.
3/16/10 4:25 PM
colorkitten said...
That is absolutely amazing - you did a fantastic job of sleuthing it out and the result is fantastic!
3/17/10 1:02 PM
fattyboomboom said...
Stunning bag! I love it!!! You did a great job both in creativity and workmanship. (Workwomanship?)
3/17/10 2:03 PM
Bambi Lynne said...
You are very clever and talented! What a great bag! Thank you for your excellent review. I will have to scope out designer bags myself as I don't have an "in" to check things out for me!
3/18/10 12:53 PM
Frogstitcher said...
Nancy, your bag is stunningly, gorgeous.
3/18/10 12:54 PM
marijka said...
QUESTION: Where did you buy the hardware - specifically the closure and grommets? Absolutely beautiful bag, and thanks!
3/19/10 8:46 AM
Sharp said...
The end result of all your trial and error is a very lovely bag!
3/19/10 11:25 AM
Deepika said...
Nancy, I am at a loss for words. I read the whole review with interest. I just love your bag and admire your perseverance. Also so nice of Elizabeth to go snoop shopping for you.
3/19/10 12:21 PM
Kellie R. said...
What an amazing bag Nancy! I'd rather have yours than the Akris Ai bag any day! GREAT job!
3/19/10 12:52 PM
halleyscomet said...
Your bag is magnificent! I am so jealous!
3/19/10 2:01 PM
nancy2001 said...
Marijka, I ordered the closure and grommets from PR's Melody at Fashionista Fabrics. You can find the links in my review.
3/19/10 2:40 PM
Elle D said...
Awesome bag! If you'd like some German horsehair for another version, my horse is shedding and he has a really bushy tail. Just let me know what part and how much you need.
3/19/10 5:18 PM
Leslie Bonner said...
Absolutely fantastic bag!
3/19/10 8:15 PM
SWEETSUEEMILY said...
Excellent review, you can't get any better than this. at least, in my humble opinion.
3/19/10 10:29 PM
kerrynw said...
Fantastic job! I absolutely love your bag!
3/20/10 11:22 AM
mamgear said...
What wonderful construction and techniques.
3/20/10 7:06 PM
AnneM said...
Wow. What a fantastic job you did. The results were worth your efforts. May not have the meticulous workmanship? It sure looks like it does. I love, love, love your butterfly zipper pull inside the bag.
3/20/10 7:38 PM
JDpenelope said...
Words fail me.
3/21/10 9:24 PM
sewtime said...
Beautiful!!!
3/21/10 11:14 PM
Imaan said...
this is so amazingly beautiful Nancy. Something to aspire to! And at a fraction of the 4,400 price tag too!
3/23/10 1:41 AM
ImListening said...
This looks just like the Akris. You're too modest to label your skills "intermediate".
3/23/10 5:11 PM
glenj said...
it's a nice knock off.
3/26/10 7:37 AM
MelissaB in WA said...
What a super cool and beautiful bag - congrats on your win!!! :-)
3/27/10 7:54 PM
JillyBe said...
Gorgeous results! And really a great review too, thanks. This is inspirational - if & when I get around to making a bag, I'll remember yours, for sure!
3/27/10 7:56 PM
Baja Susana said...
Nancy I know the contest is over and that you won. And you desrve the prize, what a beautiful bag, well-made and tasteful. It is gorgeous.
3/28/10 5:22 PM
Rhoda K said...
Congratulations on a job well done and a great looking purse.
3/29/10 3:55 PM
Barbara V said...
Congratulations! Your bag is beautiful, a wonderful result of your challenging quest!
3/29/10 4:32 PM
Barbara3 said...
Just beautiful. Congratulations.
3/29/10 4:34 PM
Annette1 said...
SOOOOOOOOOOOO very nice, Nancy! CONGRATULATIONS on completing this WONDERFUL bag. :o)
3/29/10 5:17 PM
nancy2001 said...
Thank you so much for your messages of congratulations. I have to say that the contest really inspired me. If anyone is looking to boost their sewing skills, PR's contests are a great way to do it.
3/30/10 10:54 AM
Monica Ann said...
Am amazed at your version!!! It looks just like the real thing. You'll never be caught for having a knock-off. It's better than the original.
3/30/10 11:28 AM
Jolet said...
What an effort you've put into this project Nancy!! Great job, tremendous bag!!
3/30/10 3:03 PM
Laura O said...
Fabulous bag!! I think I would be dizzy with excitement if I accomplished something like that!!! And I'd love to see you start posting on your blog (unless you have a new one??).
3/31/10 10:11 PM
Laura O said...
Fabulous bag!! I think I would be dizzy with excitement if I accomplished something like that!!! And I love to see you start posting on your blog (unless you have a new one??).
3/31/10 10:11 PM
Laura O said...
Fabulous bag!! I think I would be dizzy with excitement if I accomplished something like that!!! And I'd love to see you start posting on your blog (unless you have a new one??).
3/31/10 10:12 PM
Cultured Purl said...
THIS is the most gorgeous bag I have ever ever seen!!!!!!! congrats to you Nancy!!!!
4/3/10 12:26 PM
nancy2001 said...
Here's a photo of Angelina Jolie with her new Akris Ai bag. http://www.bagsnob.com/2010/03/update_angelina_jolie_in_akris.html
4/10/10 6:35 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Contest 187297-1015

photo
by: Aroura

Review
Sew Chic Spin Skirt Pattern (ln1209)

Sew Chic Spin Skirt Pattern (ln1209)

Buy Now
Paradiso Designs Lolita Simple Skirt Formula Pattern

Paradiso Designs Lolita Simple Skirt Formula Pattern

Buy Now
Contest Mini Wardrobe Contest

photo
by: nicegirl

Review