Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Self Drafted Pattern: Akris Ai Bag Knockoff (Akris Ai Bag Knockoff) - Type:Accessories    printable version
Viewed 975 times
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 37 people   
Reviewed by:nancy2001
photo
Friend of PR
About nancy2001starstarstarstar
AL USA
Member since: 12/3/05
Reviews written: 110
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 130 people
patterns reviewed: 51
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/14/10 6:29 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
64 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Englebert said...
Wow! Beautiful Bag!!
3/14/10 6:43 PM
crazygrad said...
Gorgeous!
3/14/10 6:46 PM
Linda G said...
Love your bag. I am going to have to take the time to read your review carefully it is full of information.
3/14/10 7:00 PM
ElizabethDee said...
Bravissima! That is one knockout of a bag, and a wonderfully generous, helpful review, too.
3/14/10 7:53 PM
LisaRM said...
Amazing! Excellent work.
3/14/10 8:02 PM
AnneMarie60 said...
Impeccable results! Love your version of this stylish bag. Extraordinary work! Thanks for taking the time to add links to the products you used.
3/14/10 8:03 PM
Patti B said...
Nancy, this is spectacular. Wonderful job of replicating the ever-so-expensive original. I think the $$$ comes from the time spent chasing the Mongolian horses, don't you?
3/14/10 8:54 PM
Scheryka said...
Out freakin standing! Looks original. I'm jealous. I want one in black w paisley trim.
3/14/10 8:57 PM
fourkid said...
I have been looking forward to your finished product ~ great job. You and Elizabeth make a great team!
3/14/10 8:59 PM
Em's Summer said...
Fantastic, as usual! This bag is beautiful, Nancy! And so exquisitely made! You did a GREAT job!!!
3/14/10 9:26 PM
milwaukee_kelly said...
Wow, wow, WOW! Nancy, outstanding. It's so nice to follow your process.
3/14/10 9:46 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Totally gorgeous bag, but why wouldn't you have any Mongolian horsehair in your stash? Doesn't everyone have some of that lying around? LOL! I actually prefer your leather version.
3/14/10 10:50 PM
MaryDB said...
What a superb job you've done on this very fun knock-off bag. Bravo! (and Oy Oy Oy)
3/14/10 11:03 PM
Sewnsewmom said...
Wow! Your bag is gorgeous! Very impressive!!
3/14/10 11:38 PM
CynthiaSue said...
um.....flabbergasted, speechless, totally original and amazing.
3/14/10 11:51 PM
Sharonspils said...
Fantastic bag, well done.
3/15/10 0:37 AM
saskprairiegirl said...
Elegant and beautiful. I admire your tenacity and beautiful finishing work.
3/15/10 4:06 AM
Michele19 said...
O.M.G. I am in total LUST! GORGEOUS!
3/15/10 4:55 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Great looking bag. You did a fantastic job in copying the purse.
3/15/10 5:30 AM
senaSews said...
You did a fantastic job. I love tha Akris bag. And you managed to clone the bag perfectly!
3/15/10 6:45 AM
marjenann said...
Amazing accomplishment!! Thanks for the inspiration!!
3/15/10 8:11 AM
Beek said...
VERY clever. I spotted this bag in a mag and thought it was such an architectural accessory. You've done a magnificient job knocking it off. I would've never guessed it was not the real deal.
3/15/10 10:26 AM
DorothyK said...
Brilliant rendition of an expensive designer bag. Yours could have passed for an original. Thanks for the great review.
3/15/10 12:38 PM
Nancy K said...
Well done! It looks fabulous.
3/15/10 2:06 PM
Scheryka said...
I am sorry, I just to post another comment...This is fabulous! lol
3/15/10 4:38 PM
Kgrrl said...
Your attention to detail and workmanship are impeccable!
3/15/10 5:13 PM
arianamaniacs said...
I admire your handbag tenacity! Your bag turned out really wonderful
3/16/10 8:01 AM
nancy2001 said...
Thank you so much for all your generous comments.
3/16/10 4:25 PM
colorkitten said...
That is absolutely amazing - you did a fantastic job of sleuthing it out and the result is fantastic!
3/17/10 1:02 PM
fattyboomboom said...
Stunning bag! I love it!!! You did a great job both in creativity and workmanship. (Workwomanship?)
3/17/10 2:03 PM
Bambi Lynne said...
You are very clever and talented! What a great bag! Thank you for your excellent review. I will have to scope out designer bags myself as I don't have an "in" to check things out for me!
3/18/10 12:53 PM
Frogstitcher said...
Nancy, your bag is stunningly, gorgeous.
3/18/10 12:54 PM
marijka said...
QUESTION: Where did you buy the hardware - specifically the closure and grommets? Absolutely beautiful bag, and thanks!
3/19/10 8:46 AM
Sharp said...
The end result of all your trial and error is a very lovely bag!
3/19/10 11:25 AM
Deepika said...
Nancy, I am at a loss for words. I read the whole review with interest. I just love your bag and admire your perseverance. Also so nice of Elizabeth to go snoop shopping for you.
3/19/10 12:21 PM
Kellie R. said...
What an amazing bag Nancy! I'd rather have yours than the Akris Ai bag any day! GREAT job!
3/19/10 12:52 PM
halleyscomet said...
Your bag is magnificent! I am so jealous!
3/19/10 2:01 PM
nancy2001 said...
Marijka, I ordered the closure and grommets from PR's Melody at Fashionista Fabrics. You can find the links in my review.
3/19/10 2:40 PM
Elle D said...
Awesome bag! If you'd like some German horsehair for another version, my horse is shedding and he has a really bushy tail. Just let me know what part and how much you need.
3/19/10 5:18 PM
Leslie Bonner said...
Absolutely fantastic bag!
3/19/10 8:15 PM
SWEETSUEEMILY said...
Excellent review, you can't get any better than this. at least, in my humble opinion.
3/19/10 10:29 PM
kerrynw said...
Fantastic job! I absolutely love your bag!
3/20/10 11:22 AM
mamgear said...
What wonderful construction and techniques.
3/20/10 7:06 PM
AnneM said...
Wow. What a fantastic job you did. The results were worth your efforts. May not have the meticulous workmanship? It sure looks like it does. I love, love, love your butterfly zipper pull inside the bag.
3/20/10 7:38 PM
JDpenelope said...
Words fail me.
3/21/10 9:24 PM
sewtime said...
Beautiful!!!
3/21/10 11:14 PM
Imaan said...
this is so amazingly beautiful Nancy. Something to aspire to! And at a fraction of the 4,400 price tag too!
3/23/10 1:41 AM
ImListening said...
This looks just like the Akris. You're too modest to label your skills "intermediate".
3/23/10 5:11 PM
glenj said...
it's a nice knock off.
3/26/10 7:37 AM
MelissaB in WA said...
What a super cool and beautiful bag - congrats on your win!!! :-)
3/27/10 7:54 PM
JillyBe said...
Gorgeous results! And really a great review too, thanks. This is inspirational - if & when I get around to making a bag, I'll remember yours, for sure!
3/27/10 7:56 PM
Baja Susana said...
Nancy I know the contest is over and that you won. And you desrve the prize, what a beautiful bag, well-made and tasteful. It is gorgeous.
3/28/10 5:22 PM
Rhoda K said...
Congratulations on a job well done and a great looking purse.
3/29/10 3:55 PM
Barbara V said...
Congratulations! Your bag is beautiful, a wonderful result of your challenging quest!
3/29/10 4:32 PM
Barbara3 said...
Just beautiful. Congratulations.
3/29/10 4:34 PM
Annette1 said...
SOOOOOOOOOOOO very nice, Nancy! CONGRATULATIONS on completing this WONDERFUL bag. :o)
3/29/10 5:17 PM
nancy2001 said...
Thank you so much for your messages of congratulations. I have to say that the contest really inspired me. If anyone is looking to boost their sewing skills, PR's contests are a great way to do it.
3/30/10 10:54 AM
Monica Ann said...
Am amazed at your version!!! It looks just like the real thing. You'll never be caught for having a knock-off. It's better than the original.
3/30/10 11:28 AM
Jolet said...
What an effort you've put into this project Nancy!! Great job, tremendous bag!!
3/30/10 3:03 PM
Laura O said...
Fabulous bag!! I think I would be dizzy with excitement if I accomplished something like that!!! And I'd love to see you start posting on your blog (unless you have a new one??).
3/31/10 10:11 PM
Laura O said...
Fabulous bag!! I think I would be dizzy with excitement if I accomplished something like that!!! And I love to see you start posting on your blog (unless you have a new one??).
3/31/10 10:11 PM
Laura O said...
Fabulous bag!! I think I would be dizzy with excitement if I accomplished something like that!!! And I'd love to see you start posting on your blog (unless you have a new one??).
3/31/10 10:12 PM
Cultured Purl said...
THIS is the most gorgeous bag I have ever ever seen!!!!!!! congrats to you Nancy!!!!
4/3/10 12:26 PM
nancy2001 said...
Here's a photo of Angelina Jolie with her new Akris Ai bag. http://www.bagsnob.com/2010/03/update_angelina_jolie_in_akris.html
4/10/10 6:35 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $34.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

Chris W Designs Evelyn Evelyn
photo
Review by Lori V on 4/16/12
Read Review

McCalls 4400 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )
McCalls 4400 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )

Details
Price: $15.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7381 Pattern
Burda 7381 Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Magazine 07-2005-122
photo
Review by SandraB on 2/23/08
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Alex & Anna Summer PJs Digital Pattern ( Size 6 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Alex & Anna Summer PJs Digital Pattern ( Size 6 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Patricia Tunic Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Patricia Tunic Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Hudson Top & Pants Pattern
Sewing Workshop Hudson Top & Pants Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Baguette Pattern
You Sew Girl Baguette Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us